We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, cheerful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #18 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Yerevan
Reviewed 27 May 2014

When you consider the reasonable rate charged for a single room, Penthouse offers a nice option for budget travelers in Yerevan. The city center is only a 10 minute walk away and the receptionists were very sweet and helpful. The bedroom and shared bathroom were quite basic, while clean. It seems the owners are genuinely interested in providing a quality experience. With a bit of investment, this venue could expand its appeal to travelers with higher expectations. For a couple nights, I was happy with this choice. I liked walking the 6 story steps for the exercise, but those who aren't into climbing stairs should be aware.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Unlike many others, this hostel was not hard to find (even when coming home from a loooong night out :D). The atmosphere is really cosy, rooms are clean and spacious enough.
It's very nice of them to provide (varied!) breakfast. There's a small balcony near the kitchen, where you can enjoy your morning coffee with a pleasant summer breeze and a picturesque view to Mount Ararat. The staff is very well chosen - all the people I met were incredibly friendly, helpful and sociable. The initial plan was to book one night, but after such a warm welcome there, we decided to stay for 2 more. It happened so that the time of our stay also featured my birthday. When the owner of the hostel heard about it, he was kind enough to let us choose either a discount of the bill or 2 gifts from the shelf of Armenian hand-made souvenirs. Of course I went for the handicraft! That way I can always think back at lovely times in Armenia, when lifting hot pots with my mustache-man oven glove :) ..and that was not all! The lovely owners also threw us a traditional beer&crayfish party. The table was covered in crayfish, beer, brandy and traditional Armenian dishes. It was an amazing experience as I had never eaten any of those things before. Luckily we got good instructions from the staff :D It was such a fun night. I had the feeling that all of the hostel staff belonged into one family and at the time of our stay - also we were a part of this family :) I want to give my special thanks to Johanna, one of the members of this family, who did a great job organizing us the opportunity to go horse riding on my birthday.
Ah.. there's so much more positive things to say about this place. Therefore you should rather go and check it out yourself! An amazing experience is guaranteed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaikeNiiduviir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a great hostel, with a staff that will go out of their way to make your stay the best possible in Yerevan. I stayed in this hostel for two nights and during my first evening was treated to a feast by the friendly owners of the hostel. The hostel itself is in a good location with breathtaking views of Mount Ararat. Also breakfast is included, which is extremely seldom in hostels these days. The staff will also advice you on good restaurants around time, and can even arrange day trips to the many breathtaking sights around Armenia. Another bonus is that the staff is well versed in many different languages, also look out for Johanna Davtyan who knows many good restaurants around town and gave me some great suggestions on where to eat. I can only highly recommend this hostel, which made my stay in Yerevan amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manuveth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I've travelled a lot in South Caucasus region and there's no other place like Penthouse Hostel. Service is very helpful (speaking either English or Russian; both fluent), always willing to give you information about buses, trains, trips, places worth seeing in Yerevan and outside the city. Many backpackers (and not only) are staying here, so you can find travelmates and make many new friends. There is cozy common room with good wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lszoszk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Your either coming back from a long hike around the maze that is Yerevan's city center, with it's long, sometimes confusing (and often 1-way) streets, or just arriving to Yerevan. Either way, your met with a smile, in a warm and pretty cozy establishment, that is Penthouse Hostel.
Clean rooms, linens, sheets, and an overall bright, and warm environment.

There is the somewhat menacing flight of stairs that lead to the hostel, but it's doable, and the site of Mt Ararat in the morning is worth a few more sets of stairs to climb--gimme 10 more, and I'll climb them for the stellar view! (Have a coffee in the morning on a clear day, and behold the wonder of the great peak, staring at you, like a glorified Hallmark card--it'll make your day).

The staff does a great job, from the smiling Ida who handles the cleaning (it's a very clean place; and I'm picky), and helps with breakfasts, to the helpful morning and night receptionists and the wealth of information, maps (with photos), tour booking/info and their helpful knowledge of local diners, bars and the ins and outs of how to get around the city.

The breakfasts are ok if your a light eater, and you can't go wrong with access to tea and coffee all day (and night), which is included (along with breakfast) in the affordable price.

The hostel itself is in a good location, one feels safe, and it's right in the center of things; literally, and it's minutes from everything you'd need from cafe's, grocery stores, an underground shopping mall of sorts (stalls, repair stations for phones, gifts etc), and it takes minutes to walk to some of Yerevan's most beautiful sites.

Easily the best hostel I've been to in some time, and I travel often for business and leisure.
I have a sense of warmth here, met many great fellow-travelers, and had some long talks with them, but it's always quiet enough to get the sleep I need (Oh how I dread the alarm at 3 am, alerting me to catch my flight)...

I recommend this place if you want comfort, affordability and convenience. They'll even arrange the tours and taxi's you may need.

Great place.

Thanks Penthouse team.

Syd

Room Tip: For longer stays, get a private room. Totally worth it. If not, the dorms are not HUGE, but cozy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

hello ladies form penthouse Hotel & Hostel,
thanx again for the hospitality in your lovely place. we had a good time in yerevan, also because you helped ous with good infromations. it was like being home. best regards from switzerland

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal_Mueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It is an excellent place to stay. When i visited, it was really cold outside but we had a great time at the hostel. The hostel price included free tea and coffee whole day and breakfast, the location is great but it is a little difficult to find at night. The staff is wonderful and they really helped me with a lot of info.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.7 mi away
Center Hostel
Center Hostel
#12 of 184 in Yerevan
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yerevan Hostel
Yerevan Hostel
#3 of 125 in Yerevan
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princ Plaza Hotel
Princ Plaza Hotel
#32 of 125 in Yerevan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#12 of 70 in Yerevan
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
JR's House
JR's House
#11 of 184 in Yerevan
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse Hotel & Hostel

Address: Ap. 33a Koryun str., Yerevan 0025, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range: £6 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant duplex Penthouse, located in the prestigious centre of Yerevan city, has all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay. Our original and attractive mini-hotel is a short stroll from the very heart of the capital of Armenia, where you will find the famous Museum of manuscripts - Matenadaran, the Cascade, the Opera and the Republic square. From here you can start your adventure around the city, exploring all its sightseeing. The biggest supermarkets and open cafes are on short walking distance from us. One can easily travel using a subway which is the most convenient transport in Yerevan for tourists (the names of stations are done in English and Russian) and is located close to Penthouse H&H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Penthouse Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing