We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Tourist Hotel”
Review of Ani Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ani Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Real Tourist Hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you like a big tourist hotel where you have to wait for a table or an elevator- this is your hotel. However, it IS in a good location. The rooms are average; it has wi-if, and the breakfast buffet has a wide enough selection to satisfy our three nights here.

Room Tip: We had to change rooms when we got here. Several things were wrong with the original. The desk perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    173
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
43
70
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Rooms are qyite spacious. Most of the rooms can be interconnected (in pairs), so, it's very useful for travelling families.
Large variety of courses for breakfast. Pay attention that there are 2 types of coffee: filtered one in a dispenser and oriental one in a pot. The latter one is OK.
Tables cleaning does not catch up with the customers flow, so, if there are no set tables available pay attention to those with dirty dishes as they can also be available - just not set. There is always a lack of table spoons - each time ask waiters for help.
Almost sporting size swimming pool. Clean. Do not forget swimming caps (sporting), otherwise you'll be requested to purchase one (Turkish trick).
Pillows are extremely uncomfortable - I sincerely do not know what to advise under the circumstances. Just be prepared.
Bathrooms are fully equipped: starting with toiletteries and finishing with slippers. No robes.

Room Tip: Take swimming caps along if you are planning to use the swimming pool. Drink only oriental coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumirago, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The rooms are old in soviet style, long and narrow with single bed.
It need a refurbishment, you get what you pay for. Prices are low.
The hotel is located in the central street. Very accessible.
Place to stay only for few nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Great location in the centre and easy to walk around from hotel. Easy walk to plenty of restaurants, caffes, shops and sights. Hotel clean but service average. Surprisingly warm for time of year and air conditioning in room not working. Asked several times for air conditioning and non-functioning tv to be fixed to no avail! In summer months would have been really uncomfortable. Good wifi in room and other parts if the hotel. Average gym and pool.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

All considered this is a very nice place to stay. Of course, as one contributor pointed out, Marriott it's not.

The first time we stayed here, there were two adults and one child. Our room was spacious, but, I saw others that were quite small. Our travel agent assured us that Ani had done some remodeling and now that we numbered four, we would have a large room - and we did! The king bed with nightstand, lamp and telephone was practically isolated from the "living" or "social" space, there were two twin (one may have been a 3/4) beds for our children. We had two closets (one had a full length mirror), table, 2 chairs, TV on a 3-drawer chest and built in desk with its own chair and a small refrigerator stocked with conveniences. Extra blankets were in each closet. Only one closet had hangers (the kind you can't remove). The room was clean, as were the beds. They weren't the most comfortable, but, we never had a problem sleeping and we never woke up with a back-ache.

The bathroom was a little small, but, sufficient. Tub/shower combo with hand-held shower head. We brought our own toiletries, but, were supplied with 4 hotel shampoos and a stack of small soaps. By the end of our trip we had 8 shampoo, 4 body wash, 4 lotion and the stack of soap. There was conditioner on the maids' cart, but, they never left any in our room. We had plenty of paper products, also. The bath towels and hand towels were a good size and weight. There were no wash cloths. A wall mount blow dryer was in the bathroom.

We were able to get the free WiFi in our room, but, ONLY by the door. Sometimes, I would have to step into the hallway, connect and then come back in our room. If I wandered more than a few inches from the door, I would lose connection.

On the last day of our stay we needed to use the air conditioner. We turned it on only to find out that it was blowing hot air. It was the end of March and I'm sure the hotel never expected anyone to want the A/C. We didn't even mention it when we check out. We opened the windows for a while and the room cooled off quickly.

The staff at Ani Plaza is very friendly, service oriented and very helpful. The only people that didn't speak English were the cleaning ladies on our floor and the man at the exchange window. My Armenian is limited, but we still managed to communicate.

The buffet breakfast is amazing. I wish I had taken pictures! We are so used to "Continental" breakfasts in the U.S. Throw THAT out the window and dine at the Ani! Eggs prepared three ways, two breakfast meats, potatoes, filled crepes, egg (french) toast, oatmeal, dry cereals, fresh fruits- oranges, grapefruit, apples, kiwi and bananas, dried fruit, pastries, breads of all kinds, cucumber, tomatoes, yogurt, milk, tea, different coffees, a variety of juices, oh my goodness, I can't even name it all! It was fabulous!

The lobby is HUGE. There is a seating area with a few chairs and a couple of small sofas and two large round coffee tables, both bar areas have several tables and chairs. The menu seem to offer a nice variety of items, although, we only ordered pizza for the kids. Prices are actually quite reasonable. My only issue is the cigarette smoke. There is so much space that it might be a good idea for them to create a non-smoking area. There were also tables and chairs in front of the hotel.

There are three small elevators. And stairs, of course. One must use their room "card" key to operate the elevator if going up. If going down the elevator, it is not necessary.

The pool indoor heated pool offers a lifeguard. Anyone going in has to have a swim cap. The gym is small and some of the equipment was out of order.

The business center houses computers and a printer. There is a small gift shop and spa on site, also.

The hotel is conveniently located. We walked to the stadium, Grand Candy, the Opera House, the Vernisage, many restaurants, the Square and several other places. There is a nice sized grocery store right around the corner. Shopping opportunities are EVERYWHERE.

Room Tip: If you need a large room, ask for it. I belive there are several choices now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi, MD
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very nice hotel with courteous and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, large, but poorly designed -two night table lamps, but only one has access to outlet. You have to unplug the lamp or the TV if you want to use your computer. Bathroom clean and well stocked with everything except TP.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizaMshetsyan, Guest Relations Manager at Ani Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for the time You have spent to share Your experience in our hotel. We are glad that we were Your hotel of choice.

We would like to thank You for the positive review and apologize for the problems with outlets.
We are doing our best to satisfy our guests and be sure we will take under consideration Your relevant comments.

We look forward to welcoming You back in Ani Plaza Hotel. This time You will receive the best of our service.

Best regards,

Ani Plaza Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel. The standard of the rooms is good no matter whether you book a standard or business. I've stayed in both on my visits to Yerevan
The hotel is ideally situated within several minutes walk to nearly all the places that are worth visiting. The lobby is huge- with a café, bar, sitting areas, tour desk, a bank and currency exchange with good rates. The small bar to one side and the cafe to the other offer a very stylish and relaxing atmosphere.
The staff is courteous and efficient and clearly wants to make all visitors feel welcome.
The breakfast was full with food. One can always find something of his taste. They had vegan dishes as well.
There is a small gym, pool and sauna area in the hotel. I used it once to chill out and it was okay.
Business center was open till the late evening equipped with computers webcams and all. Free high speed Wi-Fi is available everywhere in the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel over any other in Yerevan.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.6 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 70 in Yerevan
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
0.5 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 70 in Yerevan
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#3 of 70 in Yerevan
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Congress Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ani Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ani Plaza Hotel

Property: Ani Plaza Hotel
Address: Sayat Novy str. 19, Yerevan 0001, Armenia (Formerly Best Eastern)
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ani Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ani Plaza Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city, within only 15 minutes' drive from the Zvartnots International Airport, in the Business, Entertainment and Shopping center. The Hotel has 247 spacious comfortable rooms including Deluxe, Junior and Executive Suites offering a magnificent view of the Biblical Mount Ararat and a gorgeous panorama of the state of the art building of the National Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ani Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing