We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a 4* hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hrazdan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hrazdan Hotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Yerevan
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“More like a 4* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Spent my 1.5 free days in Yerevan at Hrazdan and I recommend this hotel. Price/quality ratio is excellent. Position is good, just few mins by taxi from the city centre. Building and rooms are not new but well manteined and everything is clean, breakfast was ok and complete and wifi always working fast.
Lovely and helpful desk girl.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilot_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
13
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked a deluxe room and asked for seperate beds and a room with view of the city and Mount Ararat. When we saw the room there was only one queen bed and it was on the first floor with no view at all!. They downgraded us to a standard room, because they didn't had a deluxe room with seperate beds. But still to the same price as the deluxe room!. We got no compensation for the downgrade!

+ Service in the reception was good. Very helpful and smiling
+ The reception, english skills was good
+ Clean and big rooms
+ Okay view of the City

- The food in the hotel restaurant unacceptable
- Constant disconnect and unstable internet
- The standard room is old and poor. Tip: Remember to order a deluxe room for the few extra dollars. It's worth it
- Couldn't control the heat in the room. There was way to hot!
- The location is not very central. But taxa is cheap and easy to get

Room Tip: Insist on a high room with a Mount Ararat view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yerevan hotels

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

A good hotel in a very beautiful place. Excellent wifi. Very bad breakfast. Very good reception manager (madam who knows everything in English). Good service. Clean rooms. Excellent view. Good restaurant. Near president house. Angry chef.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrfn2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel itself is splendid. Rooms are biggest I've met. Not even Lebua hotel in Thailand can compare, yet it shows that it was in it's peak in the Soviet times.
You'll be greeted with ever-smiling receptionist who has already prepared everything for you and all you need to do is give a signature and show your passport. The bellhop will get your things up to your room and then...Then the service-part will be over.
The room is spacious and big. Standard room will boast wardrobe, working desk, make-up table, sofa, armchairs and a big 32" inch TV.
Ask for a river view! Although, you'll never see the river itself you'll still get a better view facing a little hill and some villas. Beats the city view or pool view.

The hotel has outside pool that is quite adequate. Sometimes too packed so you'll have a hard time finding a pool chair, but otherwise quite nice. There's also a bar/restaurant so you can enjoy a meal while lounging by the pool or enjoy some cocktails.
Tho, don't expect a decent service. Only the receptionist have a keep-smiling command and the rest of the workers will be either disinterested or plain rude.
Also, always check that what you ordered matches the check. I had an incident where they had listed my cocktails as watermelons and I got overcharged by 600 drams+service charge.
Then I had to go to the inside "bar" area which is actually only for staff - they pick up drinks and food from there and showed the menu prices and the check to the staff. They all gathered up and mumbled something. Then the lady who handles the checks and booking gruntled and fixed the check. I never received the new check, but I ended paying the price i was supposed to.

Also! A tip - if you don't like paying the 10% service charge, simply pay by credit/debit card. The 10% extra is only asked when paying with cash. It doesn't really matter for small amounts, but after spending hours and hours in the pool with company and eating/drinking your way through the day the 10% extra will be a quite the hefty sum ;)
Since the service is slow and your empty bottles/dishes are rarely removed you'll feel like you are a burden on the staff who is there to for catering you!

Hotel is rather close to everything you'll want to see in Yerevan and the two main places to visit have a fixed taxi charge in place. Simply ask the receptionist to call a taxi for you and expect to pay 600 drams (1.02 euros) for Opera House or Republic square. Also, when you are in Yerevan then don't let the ruthless taxi drivers fool you. You rarely have to pay over 800 drams, but the taxis without meter will mostly ask for a 1000 drams. Although, the price doesn't matter much (1 euro vs. 1.95 euros) it's the principle that matters. I just don't like feeling like I got ripped off because I'm from Europe.
Trip to the airport will be a fixed price of 2000 drams (less than 4 euros). Receptionist will handle calling a company taxi.

The breakfast is adequate, yet the lack of juices or decent coffee is disgruntling. Your only option is soluble-coffee. Think 3-in-1 Nescafe without the sugar!
They offer some fruits, local armenian pancakes, seasonal fruits, stewed vegetables etc.

All in all - it's really budget friendly while giving you a lot for your money.
Oh yeah - the hotel has in-house ATM if you don't find one and have problems paying the cab driver.
There's always a security guard and bell-hop/staff member outside the hotel so just have them explain the driver that you need to use the ATM inside to pay him.
Also - if you arrive at the hotel and the taxi driver tries to ask for more money suddenly then simply pay what you originally agreed upon and walk out.
I had this experience. After a night out I came back to the hotel at 4 am in the morning and the original 600 drams suddenly turned to 1000 drams. Taxi driver demanded we pay more, but we simply walked out and that was that.
In another episode the taxi driver asked for a 1000 drams, but I said we know the local prices and said we'll not pay more than 600 drams. Which is the local normal tariff. I also demanded that the taxi meter to be turned on, but the driver said in russian that it's not working.
Taxi driver took us to the hotel, my partner got out of the taxi while I settled the bill. I handed him a 1000. Driver started to count the cents slowly and after a while he stopped and just waited for something. Then the security guard asked him to pull over to the side since he was blocking the drive way. I was still inside the taxi. Driver pulled up to the road side and just watched me from the rear-view mirror. After 2 minutes of this it was getting absurd, yet funny that he didn't say anything. You have a client in your taxi who refuses to leave and you won't say anything.
So, I asked "What's the problem?". He replied softly "There's no problem." I asked for my money back and he said that the price was thousand. I said calmly:"I said 600 hundred in the start, šest-sot (600 in russian with a broken grammar) and the taxi meter DOES work."
After that he just gave me the missing 400 drams, I walked out, he raced off. Simply wierd.
Yet, the security guard nor the bellhop?/staff member who is always outside didn't come asking what's the problem nor made any effort to even bother themselves with the taxi driver and hotel guest inside.

Room Tip: If possible - ask to be situated on the top floors with a river view. The view is really excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tõnu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Less than the average. Old, poor. Good internet but it is all until now. Arrived at 5 o'clock with a taxi and no money to pay it. The receptionist was useless, not changing euros, not having euros, not borrowing the amount required to compensate the taxi driver. I was obliged to extra pay. Second no room service. Nothing until 7:00. All closes at 24:00. The minibar in the room: perfectly empty. Beds really miserable. Wide room, old furnitures, not clean. Astonishing. Soviet style. Internet works. Looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luciano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

It is really conveniently located. It is at a walking distance from major attractions of Yerevan, at the same time it is in a very quiet place away from noise and traffic jams of the centre.
You can be lucky to get a view on the river Hrazdan after which it is named. The river is hidden in a picturesque canyon, with a shady park right beneath the hotel. This view makes you forget you are in the heart of the capital city. There is also a children's railway in that park, you can get a 15-minute fun trip on a tiny but real train.
As for the hotel itself, in order to understand its value you have to know that in soviet times it used to be the one servicing the top soviet officials and polititians. Hence you have that touch of good soviet quality. It's like a museum, but renovated a bit. For instance, the rooms are very spacious, which is not typical for the hotels of such an age. The furniture and roomstyle is too simple, and again a bit sovietish, but still everything is in good state.
The room was usually quiet, but sometimes we could hear well the neighbours above.
It was possible to open the window for some fresh air, which is very important personally for me.
The selection of TV channels could be better, but it was still decent.
What was absolutely unbeatable - the ladies on reception: very friendly, always sincerely smiling, quick and helpful.

All in all, if you get a special price, the hotel gives you more than you give it. For a full price it is just ok.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Despite the mainly negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised by some of the advantages of this hotel. Firstly I had a fantastic view of Mr Ararat from the 11th floor. Secondly there was free wi-fi in the bedroom. Thirdly although it is not in the centre of Yerevan it costs only 1.5 dollars for a taxi for 4 to reach Republic Square. The pool opened on the 1st of JUne and looked good. The breakfast was adequate with plenty of wonderful cherries!!!.The restaurant service and menu at night was not good. The waiters spoke no English and forgot the orders!. My single room was small and needed renovating- old carpet. burnt table etc., but there was a fridge and the tv showed BBC and CNN. The reception staff did not fulfil the most basic requests- a mat in the bathroom; a kettle for coffee(I found you could buy an electric jug in the supermarket) and I also asked them about a ticket for the philharmonic concert the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
3.9 mi away
Latar Hotel
Latar Hotel
#38 of 63 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Regineh
Hotel Regineh
#40 of 63 in Yerevan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.8 mi away
Caucasus Hotel
Caucasus Hotel
#35 of 63 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bass Boutique Hotel
Bass Boutique Hotel
#26 of 63 in Yerevan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armenian Royal Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Congress Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hrazdan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hrazdan Hotel

Property: Hrazdan Hotel
Address: Dzorapi ili Dzoragyukh str. 72, Yerevan 0015, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hrazdan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hrazdan is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Yerevan. Situated in extended center of the city far from noisy and fussy part, it is at the same time 5 minutes walk far from the most active parts of the city. Newly renovated Hotel offers different types of rooms with air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bars, and telephones. High speed Wi-Fi Internet is available both in rooms, and in public areas. Most of the rooms have amazing Ararat mountain view.The Hotel restaurant offers the guests Armenian and European cuisines, a bar and a café are also available. There are a fully equipped conference hall and meeting rooms for any kind of business events.Hotel Hrazdan fits perfectly for a family rest. The arrangement of hotel rooms, the quiet location and surrounding greenery provide utmost atmosphere for families and guests with kids.A big out-door pool provides a very comfortable place to relax and escape hot weather. There is an open-air cafe that offers a la carte menu. A playing ground suggests entertaining for kids. It is a perfect place to stay all day long with family and friends.Highly qualified staff and a perfect service system will ensure yourpleasant stay at the hotel Hrazdan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hrazdan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing