We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Shirak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirak Hotel
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Yerevan
Yerevan
1 review
“Very poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Where do I begin with this hotel?
1. Stuff was very unprofessional and unfriendly, especially the receptionist.
2. You're allowed to have guests by only for one hour a day.
3. There were ants in the room, running around and ruining any food one kept in the room
4. The building was very old and ugly
5. There was construction going on, so one could hear very loud noise from morning till late evening even by closed windows
6. They didn't change the towels or clean up the room for ages.
Overall a terrible experience with the hotel, these were just the key points.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystaldiamond21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    44
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
15
24
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at Shirak Hotel from 23 March to 7 April for a business trip. Although it's very close to the city's epicentre -Republic Square-, it's not located in the nicest area of the neighbourhood.
The building is really not nice, but you can manage the lack of beauty by not looking at the hotel when you're approaching it...
The staff is friendly and some of them can speak some English.
The lift is a Pandora Box, and I recommend not to take it even if you're on the sixth floor, as I am now. Every time I press the number six to go to the sixth floor, it stops in the third floor. To get the sixth floor you've to keep pressing the button until you've arrived there... Yesterday I saw that it got stocked between two floors. I hope no one was in, because it's the kind of lift which is as hermetic as a coffin...
Breakfast time is from 8 to 10 hours. I've arrived a couple of times at 9 and found no coffee (they only have instant coffee, by the way). When I asked the lady in charge of the breakfast about having a coffee, she simply replied 'finished'...
My impression is that 70/75 euro per night for this hotel is expensive. Next time I'll look for another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed in Shirak for 3 nights on a business trip to Yerevan. The hotel is located within a 5-7 minute walking distance from the city's central square. It is a Soviet era hotel, but it is undergoing renovations, which do not disturb you at all. My local friend was able to book the room for me at a price significantly cheaper than advertized on the web. Even though the hotel is being renovated from the outside, the inside is clean and nice. The lobby was not large but clean. Wi-fi is complimentary with good speed, but it's only in the lobby. No wi-fi in your room. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was newly refurbished and clean. Most of the furniture and the carpet were new. The room has a small fridge, an AC, a flat-screen TV. All sheets were brand new, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The restroom looked new, and the used towels were replaced daily. Breakfast buffet was included in the price. It was served in a large clean restaurant on the 2nd floor of the hotel. The buffet consisted of a selection of ham, sausage, cheese, several salads, boiled eggs, fruit, fried eggs and some other hot dishes which were new every morning, cereals, jam, selection of tea and instant coffee. My overall impression is GOOD. It is a good hotel for a business trip, downtown Yerevan, which offers necessary conveniences. I had a comfortable, pleasant and affordable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitaliyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

,because its low season, so i paid only $25 and got a big room with snow mountain view . its clean, bed is comfy. heater is not super warm but its ok. Service is good,people is friendly. and breakfast is very lovely for the price!

like it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomoo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

But this hotel is big and, by Western standards, cheap. I paid $60 including a standard, wide-ranging breakfast. I found nothing to complain about the interiors. Staff were helpful, except for the apparent Queen Bee, an engaging relic of Soviet times perhaps.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnodar, Russia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

High-rise building in the old Soviet style in the center of Yerevan. Walking distance to many attractions. Spacious rooms, but the furniture and textiles (carpets, curtains, coverlrts) inside are a little old and shabby. Beautiful views on Mount Ararat. Very good (copious and varied) breakfast.
But undoubtedly main and very pleasant thing about the hotel is cheap rates for the rooms

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitman
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a very convenient hotel to center of Yerevan. We had a junior suite that was very spacious with more than adequate furniture. The only glitch was the shower broke twice and I am sure was on its way to number 3 as we left. Right around the corner toward the Marriott were outside places to eat and drink very reasonably. There were always taxis going by out front and for 1000 amd you could pretty much go anywhere in Yerevan center. The front desk staff can be frustrating but in the end they are fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.0 mi away
Areg Hotel
Areg Hotel
#20 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silachi Hotel
Silachi Hotel
#34 of 65 in Yerevan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Yerevan Center
Ibis Yerevan Center
#22 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
14th Floor Hotel
14th Floor Hotel
#23 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#27 of 65 in Yerevan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#24 of 65 in Yerevan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirak Hotel

Property: Shirak Hotel
Address: Khoryenatsi M. str. 13a, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shirak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shirak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing