We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limit Expectations”
Review of Shirak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirak Hotel
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you diminish your expectations, the Shirak will meet them. It's important to remember that the country has been suffering an embargo and closed borders with its 2 major neighbors for some 20 years. I still remember not that long ago turning on the water in a Yerevan hotel and having only bird feathers come out. So keeping it in perspective when staying at the Shirak is important.
The hotel is conveniently located a block and a half from Republic Square. At the time of my visit (I stayed there for 4 nights) there was construction going on, with the 2nd floor dining area being extended into the street. The elevator is indeed an adventure -- it's got these crazy push buttons floor calls that pop out and startle when the floor is reached -- but it gets you there. The staff is lingering in Soviet era visitor services: glum, indifferent and at times rude. For instance, the hotel offered laundry services through their housekeepers. I had a small pile of laundry done and when it was returned was asked by the housekeeper for $50, an enormous sum relative to other places. With a threat to go to the manager the price dropped to a more reasonable $10. In another instance, the building water was turned off, I assume due to the construction, without notice to the patrons. When asked about when services would be restored, the staff replied "when it is convenient."
The rooms are comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and in working order. The beds, sleepable. Did not experience ants as other reviewers have mentioned. The breakfasts were substantial and of good quality. The bar/cafe, a nice place to meet and visit. All-in-all I would stay there again, and limit expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMucgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Shirak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I arrived at hotel Shirak in the middle of the night, expecting a nice hotel with lots of green around it, a majestic building and was looking forward to spend my time there.
Then the taxi driver stopped the car on a street that wasn't finished, yet, in an area where the buildings looked ramshackle. I saw a hotel that wasn't quite majestic as pictured in the material provided at their website and there was no green at all. The taxi driver said: "Hotel Shirak."
My first impression was therefore not a good one. I was at least able to communicate with the receptionist (although english doesn't seem to be a class in school) and get my room. The journey to said room was exciting, since the elevator is so tiny, that there is no place for more than 2 persons. And it rattles so that you think it will just stop working.
Arrived in my new home for the next days I first discovered some ants, happily exploring my domicile. Also i was greeted by the sound of the fridge that was extraordinary loud. So loud that I had trouble to sleep properly. Good thing that humans are so flexible, right?
Not flexible is the phone in the room. It can only call the receptionist (if you are lucky), outgoing calls are not possible, although receptionist told me it would be possible.
Next thing, shower. For you, reader and maybe future hotel Shirak inhabitant, be careful with the water. The shower overflows and might kill the ants that are in the bathroom as well!
Also leave some food in the room, the ants will appreciate and come with thousands of their companions. They clearly like food partys!
Speaking of food, if you want to get the free breakfast that is included in the price, don't you dare come a single minute late. You won't get food.
Also these people there don't allow visitors to stay longer than one hour, till 21 o'clock, till 23 o'clock or don't mind visitors at all, depends on the day you ask.
What you should ask, too, is if the cleaning lady can exchange your toilet paper and towels and stuff. Because she won't do it on herself.
See this as a bunch of tipps how to survive in hotel Shirak and make the stay there as pleasent as possible :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yannickinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Where do I begin with this hotel?
1. Stuff was very unprofessional and unfriendly, especially the receptionist.
2. You're allowed to have guests by only for one hour a day.
3. There were ants in the room, running around and ruining any food one kept in the room
4. The building was very old and ugly
5. There was construction going on, so one could hear very loud noise from morning till late evening even by closed windows
6. They didn't change the towels or clean up the room for ages.
Overall a terrible experience with the hotel, these were just the key points.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystaldiamond21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at Shirak Hotel from 23 March to 7 April for a business trip. Although it's very close to the city's epicentre -Republic Square-, it's not located in the nicest area of the neighbourhood.
The building is really not nice, but you can manage the lack of beauty by not looking at the hotel when you're approaching it...
The staff is friendly and some of them can speak some English.
The lift is a Pandora Box, and I recommend not to take it even if you're on the sixth floor, as I am now. Every time I press the number six to go to the sixth floor, it stops in the third floor. To get the sixth floor you've to keep pressing the button until you've arrived there... Yesterday I saw that it got stocked between two floors. I hope no one was in, because it's the kind of lift which is as hermetic as a coffin...
Breakfast time is from 8 to 10 hours. I've arrived a couple of times at 9 and found no coffee (they only have instant coffee, by the way). When I asked the lady in charge of the breakfast about having a coffee, she simply replied 'finished'...
My impression is that 70/75 euro per night for this hotel is expensive. Next time I'll look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed in Shirak for 3 nights on a business trip to Yerevan. The hotel is located within a 5-7 minute walking distance from the city's central square. It is a Soviet era hotel, but it is undergoing renovations, which do not disturb you at all. My local friend was able to book the room for me at a price significantly cheaper than advertized on the web. Even though the hotel is being renovated from the outside, the inside is clean and nice. The lobby was not large but clean. Wi-fi is complimentary with good speed, but it's only in the lobby. No wi-fi in your room. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was newly refurbished and clean. Most of the furniture and the carpet were new. The room has a small fridge, an AC, a flat-screen TV. All sheets were brand new, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The restroom looked new, and the used towels were replaced daily. Breakfast buffet was included in the price. It was served in a large clean restaurant on the 2nd floor of the hotel. The buffet consisted of a selection of ham, sausage, cheese, several salads, boiled eggs, fruit, fried eggs and some other hot dishes which were new every morning, cereals, jam, selection of tea and instant coffee. My overall impression is GOOD. It is a good hotel for a business trip, downtown Yerevan, which offers necessary conveniences. I had a comfortable, pleasant and affordable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VitaliyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

,because its low season, so i paid only $25 and got a big room with snow mountain view . its clean, bed is comfy. heater is not super warm but its ok. Service is good,people is friendly. and breakfast is very lovely for the price!

like it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomoo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

But this hotel is big and, by Western standards, cheap. I paid $60 including a standard, wide-ranging breakfast. I found nothing to complain about the interiors. Staff were helpful, except for the apparent Queen Bee, an engaging relic of Soviet times perhaps.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.7 mi away
Silachi Hotel
Silachi Hotel
#32 of 70 in Yerevan
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ararat hotel
Ararat hotel
#53 of 70 in Yerevan
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#42 of 70 in Yerevan
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Regineh
Hotel Regineh
#40 of 70 in Yerevan
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
14th Floor Hotel
14th Floor Hotel
#21 of 70 in Yerevan
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Yerevan Center
Ibis Yerevan Center
#14 of 70 in Yerevan
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirak Hotel

Address: Khoryenatsi M. str. 13a, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shirak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shirak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing