We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel, service and breakfast were very good. The location is excellent, near the Republic Square, a big market and more. We enjoyed the breakfast with lots of fruit, yogurt, cakes etc. There is a very nice shop for Armenian carpets.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank lilushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was all excited to visit Armenia... An American born son returning to the home of his ancestors... While it sure was an experience... I was disappointed to find Armenia to be a dusty relic of the Soviet Union... Less than friendly to Americans. The hotel was nice, newly refurbished, but missing some finishing touches. The folks who worked there acted as of I was some sort of suspect, out of place in this nation... People seemed to have a deep sadness and were reluctant, almost angry to speak English. This nation and the people in it are closely aligned with Russia, not America. Nobody struck up small talk nor smiled, they seemed upset at the front desk that I did not have a reservation... I was winging it... The bellhop carried my bag to the room, dropped it, then walked out, didn't bother trying to get a tip despite the fact I had one handy.

The Hotel was nice, rather fine and in a good location. I would recommend it if you travel here and can afford the price... People just were less than friendly that's for sure... Coming from Dubai where service is Paramount... Well... Armenia just fell short in many ways, but I'm glad I experienced it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Booogiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed only one night in this hotel but were happy with our choice. The hotel location is excellent close to the Republic square, restaurants, shops, Vernissage and fountain water show. A taxi to the Dalma shopping mall will cost about 600 AMD and takes 10 minutes.

The hotel is modern with a stylish interior. They have incorporated old Armenian style with a modern look. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and of a decent size. Wifi works well. Unfortunately, we didn't have a possibility to try out the breakfast.

There are a couple of things that we weren't impressed about. The first thing was the slow and at times unfriendly service. The other thing was that housekeeping kept the doors open to their own room (at least on the 7th floor) and were making a lot of noise also during the day and night. We woke up at 1.30 am, when one of the housekeepers was washing dishes... The housekeepers should not be disturbing guests in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevators and the housekeepers, if you value sleep quality.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear alo6,
Thank you for the review.
The comfort of our guests is our priority and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We will monitor the housekeeping workflow more closely and will make sure the issue is fixed.

Hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I loved this hotel and have nothing at all to complain. In fact, when leaving Yerevan I booked the other hotels of the Tufenkian chain as well.I love the mixture of modern elegance and Armenian tradition.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank sylviaFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear sylviaFlorence,

Thank you for the review.
We very much appreciate your opinion and do our best to meet and exceed your expectations.

Hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My first impression was very good, Lobby area was beautiful,the service was perfect, room were clean, beautiful, the bar was fully equipped..., breakfast was healthy, Location was perfect, near to Vernisaj market, very near to Republic Square, IP TV, and much more...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Armen A,
Thank for your review.
It is our pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay.

We truly value your opinion and hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Tufenkian based on its superb reviews. But it turns out the rave reviews were slightly overexaggerated. Yes, it is a decent hotel with EXCELLENT breakfast. However, I was traveling alone, which meant I spent more time at the hotel and expected more. Here are the drawbacks:

1. No mini bar.
2. The staff disappointed me. Whenever I asked them to help me arrange a tour, they looked at me like I was slightly insane. I asked them to help me arrange a tour to Lake Sevan, which I assumed meant I would join a group of tourists on a tour bus, led by a professional tour guide. Instead, I was stuffed into an unmarked car with a lone driver who didn't speak a word of English and only broken Russian. He wasn't a tour guide by any stretch of the imagination. I think he was one of the hotel staff's cousin who just needed an extra $100. It was so awkward (I am a young, female solo traveler, and the driver was a young local, so I didn't feel entirely safe). I cut the tour off halfway through and asked him to take me back to the hotel. Major fail.
3. The WiFi wasn't reliable.

That said, the hotel bar was open 24/7 and always offered good Armenian coffee. I had a nice, spacious bathroom (although the faucets were squeaky) and air conditioning. Plus, the hotel is right in the center of town, just a stone's throw from Republic Square and across the street from a colorful outdoor market with lots of souvenirs.

All in all, though, the Tufenkian just didnt "wow" me like I expected it to. The Marriot is leaps and bounds nicer, but that's at the price of $300 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear ebagot,

Thank you very much for your review. We value guest comments and your opinion is vital for us. The issue you mentioned came to us as a surprise, since our Front Desk employees, are very well aware of whom to contact in case of tour request, since we do not provide tour services, but we work with qualified partners. We would like to inform you that we made an investigation, and would like to apologize for inconvenience. It was a misunderstanding, and we want to assure you that it will never happen again. Comfort and safety of our guests is of highest priority for us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and hope to host you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've stayed at other Tufenkian's before, and this is the best of the bunch. A block off the main square on a side street. Newly refurbished. Double glazed quiet windows, perfect air-conditioning, in room refrigerator, elevator, courtesy coffee and tea in the room, two bottles of water each day, in room safe. Our room had 4 bar WiFi even though the password said "in lobby only". The king bed is the best feature and the most comfortable bed we've had in 4 weeks' travel in the Caucasus. Breakfast was superb--with made-to-order cappuccino and eggs your way. Fruit, juices, and the usual meats. Staff is pleasant and speaks excellent English. The kitchen even loaned me a big clay vase for the freesias I bought on the street for my wife! Don't miss this hotel. We stayed 9 nights here

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor with a view of the new Yerevan church.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear garlec,
Thank you for the review.

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Historic Yerevan Hotel.

We hope to see you again in our hotels next time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.4 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 70 in Yerevan
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#4 of 70 in Yerevan
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 70 in Yerevan
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Yerevan City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Yerevan
Hyatt Place Yerevan
#6 of 70 in Yerevan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel

Address: Anrapyetutsyan str. 48, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range: £47 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel is a boutique hotel in the heart of Yerevan city. It has a perfect location, near the Republic Square and Vernissaj, close to the main attractions of the city.Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel offers 82 exquisite rooms with hand crafted decor and finest amenities; bar and lounge areas, conference center, outdoor swimming pool, as well as features a traditional Kharpert Restaurant, which offers age-old Western and eastern Armenian cuisine. The warm and inviting atmosphere of Kharpert restaurant will make your evening special after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing