We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Service, Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service, Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am an American living overseas with lots of experience in hotels of all categories and price ranges. My wife and I spent a 3-day weekend at the Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel. We were looking for a clean and comfortable hotel with some Armenian character. All-in-all we found what we were looking for, but would note that the hotel could use a touch more authentic character instead of the sleek, modern (made-in-China plastic) finishes such as faucets and so on.

The best feature of the hotel was definitely the staff. They answered tons of questions for us, enabling us to make the most of a short stay in Armenia. They were very friendly, spoke English perfectly, and smiled while doing it.

Another great feature was the breakfast. We had eggs, bacon, potatoes, grilled eggplant, "lentil pancakes", all kind of cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. It also had great hours 7-11am, which let's you get an early start or sleep in depending on what you feel like doing.

Our room was on the 7th floor. The hallway was not air conditioned, but it wasn't a long walk to the room where the a/c managed to keep up with the 100+ degree (F) temps during our weekend. The bathroom came with tons of shampoo, shower gel, bar soap, lotion, mouth wash, and little vanity kits. Ladies - no conditioner. We had a decent selection of international channels in the room, but didn't watch much TV. The free wi-fi was fast and reliable.

The location was great - short walks to anywhere you'd want to go in Yerevan including only 5 min or less to the Republic Square fountain show.

We spent one day renting a car and driving to Haghpat and Sanahin monasteries in Northern Armenia. It was an awesome trip but I only mention it here to say that we stopped for lunch at the Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel/Restaurant. If you come to Armenia I would strongly recommend a night or two here - amazing location, beautiful construction, and very kind staff.

All in all I would recommend the Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel as a more character-rich alternative to the Marriott (we stopped there for lunch one day as well - felt like any other hotel).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senegeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Senegeser,

Thank you for the review and all the comments. Our staff is always dedicated to make your stay utmost pleasant and enjoyable.
We have now enriched our breakfast even more and hopefully you will like it just as much when you visit our hotel next time.

As for the faucets, we would like to clearly mention that all our sanitary objects in the bathrooms are German Villeroy & Boch, all faucets are Italian Fiore and all the bed linen is Egyptian Frette. We do not use any Chinese plastic faucets in the bathrooms, so this must be some kind of misunderstanding.

We hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    87
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
44
74
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kfar-saba
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel, service and breakfast were very good. The location is excellent, near the Republic Square, a big market and more. We enjoyed the breakfast with lots of fruit, yogurt, cakes etc. There is a very nice shop for Armenian carpets.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lilushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was all excited to visit Armenia... An American born son returning to the home of his ancestors... While it sure was an experience... I was disappointed to find Armenia to be a dusty relic of the Soviet Union... Less than friendly to Americans. The hotel was nice, newly refurbished, but missing some finishing touches. The folks who worked there acted as of I was some sort of suspect, out of place in this nation... People seemed to have a deep sadness and were reluctant, almost angry to speak English. This nation and the people in it are closely aligned with Russia, not America. Nobody struck up small talk nor smiled, they seemed upset at the front desk that I did not have a reservation... I was winging it... The bellhop carried my bag to the room, dropped it, then walked out, didn't bother trying to get a tip despite the fact I had one handy.

The Hotel was nice, rather fine and in a good location. I would recommend it if you travel here and can afford the price... People just were less than friendly that's for sure... Coming from Dubai where service is Paramount... Well... Armenia just fell short in many ways, but I'm glad I experienced it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booogiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed only one night in this hotel but were happy with our choice. The hotel location is excellent close to the Republic square, restaurants, shops, Vernissage and fountain water show. A taxi to the Dalma shopping mall will cost about 600 AMD and takes 10 minutes.

The hotel is modern with a stylish interior. They have incorporated old Armenian style with a modern look. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and of a decent size. Wifi works well. Unfortunately, we didn't have a possibility to try out the breakfast.

There are a couple of things that we weren't impressed about. The first thing was the slow and at times unfriendly service. The other thing was that housekeeping kept the doors open to their own room (at least on the 7th floor) and were making a lot of noise also during the day and night. We woke up at 1.30 am, when one of the housekeepers was washing dishes... The housekeepers should not be disturbing guests in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevators and the housekeepers, if you value sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear alo6,
Thank you for the review.
The comfort of our guests is our priority and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We will monitor the housekeeping workflow more closely and will make sure the issue is fixed.

Hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I loved this hotel and have nothing at all to complain. In fact, when leaving Yerevan I booked the other hotels of the Tufenkian chain as well.I love the mixture of modern elegance and Armenian tradition.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sylviaFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear sylviaFlorence,

Thank you for the review.
We very much appreciate your opinion and do our best to meet and exceed your expectations.

Hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My first impression was very good, Lobby area was beautiful,the service was perfect, room were clean, beautiful, the bar was fully equipped..., breakfast was healthy, Location was perfect, near to Vernisaj market, very near to Republic Square, IP TV, and much more...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Armen A,
Thank for your review.
It is our pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay.

We truly value your opinion and hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Tufenkian based on its superb reviews. But it turns out the rave reviews were slightly overexaggerated. Yes, it is a decent hotel with EXCELLENT breakfast. However, I was traveling alone, which meant I spent more time at the hotel and expected more. Here are the drawbacks:

1. No mini bar.
2. The staff disappointed me. Whenever I asked them to help me arrange a tour, they looked at me like I was slightly insane. I asked them to help me arrange a tour to Lake Sevan, which I assumed meant I would join a group of tourists on a tour bus, led by a professional tour guide. Instead, I was stuffed into an unmarked car with a lone driver who didn't speak a word of English and only broken Russian. He wasn't a tour guide by any stretch of the imagination. I think he was one of the hotel staff's cousin who just needed an extra $100. It was so awkward (I am a young, female solo traveler, and the driver was a young local, so I didn't feel entirely safe). I cut the tour off halfway through and asked him to take me back to the hotel. Major fail.
3. The WiFi wasn't reliable.

That said, the hotel bar was open 24/7 and always offered good Armenian coffee. I had a nice, spacious bathroom (although the faucets were squeaky) and air conditioning. Plus, the hotel is right in the center of town, just a stone's throw from Republic Square and across the street from a colorful outdoor market with lots of souvenirs.

All in all, though, the Tufenkian just didnt "wow" me like I expected it to. The Marriot is leaps and bounds nicer, but that's at the price of $300 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TufenkianHotels, Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ebagot,

Thank you very much for your review. We value guest comments and your opinion is vital for us. The issue you mentioned came to us as a surprise, since our Front Desk employees, are very well aware of whom to contact in case of tour request, since we do not provide tour services, but we work with qualified partners. We would like to inform you that we made an investigation, and would like to apologize for inconvenience. It was a misunderstanding, and we want to assure you that it will never happen again. Comfort and safety of our guests is of highest priority for us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and hope to host you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.4 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
0.4 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#5 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Yerevan
Hyatt Place Yerevan
#7 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Congress Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel

Property: Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
Address: Anrapyetutsyan str. 48, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel is a boutique hotel in the heart of Yerevan city. It has a perfect location, near the Republic Square and Vernissaj, close to the main attractions of the city.Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel offers 82 exquisite rooms with hand crafted decor and finest amenities; bar and lounge areas, conference center, outdoor swimming pool, as well as features a traditional Kharpert Restaurant, which offers age-old Western and eastern Armenian cuisine. The warm and inviting atmosphere of Kharpert restaurant will make your evening special after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing