We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place in baku”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fawlty Towers Hotel
Ranked #19 of 92 Baku B&B and Inns
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
673 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“A great little place in baku”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great little place
Well located
Only six rooms
Great wifi with router in each room
This should be the standard
Pleasant staff
Good price 60 manats
Near to fountain square
Nice comfy room
Good ac and shower
No English tv channels though which is a negative
Good breakfast
Recommended highly
Baku is a very pretty city but the police are still a bit soviet
They caught me taking taking a picture of the presidents motorcade and made me delete it in a very ignorant manner
Good place to visit though
Getting a visa is a pain and getting out at the airport is like trying to leave the ussr

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at Fawlty Towers when visiting baku.
It's just two minutes to walk from the hotel and you are in the main pedestrian area, also quite close to the fountains square. To the old town it's about 15 to 20 minutes to walk.
The hotel is located in a small side street, but it feels perfectly save, even at night.
Staff is friendly and you will get plenty to eat for breakfast - if you like cheese and eggs :)
For Baku we found that the price is very low and it's good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbloechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Love love love this small but veeeeeery cozy mini hotel with ideal location close to Fountain Square!!!! Unusual interior design, cozy rooms, clean bathroom, free wifi, absolutely amazing receptionist.... real fast could be more diverse but for that price you can't ask more.... I'll definitely come back when I'm in Baku!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linchikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

After staying at the Landmark Hotel I was reluctant to stay anywhere else, however due to a limited budget we came across the Fawlty Towers hotel.

The location is little known but once your there it's east to get your bearings. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the main shopping area and about a 15-20 minute walk to the old walled part of the city.

The staff are very friendly, especially the female receptionist who speaks very good English.

Breakfast is cooked daily for the individual, so no buffet style set up. We weren't offered choices but if you ask they will be happy to accommodate. We were served sausage, bread, cucumber, tomato, cheese selection, plain omelette and tea/coffee. More than enough and included in the rate.

Rooms are clean and have A/C for cooling and heating. Limited selection of tv channels but wifi is fast, free and unlimited. Used it to watch youtube vids and had no issues.
Shower pressure is a quote low but plenty of hot water.

Theres a book and dvd collection as well that you can use for free.

I wasn't expecting a lot but for a three star hotel you can't go wrong. Left feeling very happy.

Taxi to airport shouldn't cost more than 15manat. Getting around the city won't cost more than 5manat. Try to use purple London taxi's which are clean and metered.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallumZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a nice well kept property in a great location although at night can look strange (unlit, unkept back street). The staff are exceedingly nice and breakfast, served in the basement, is very good (its service could be improved though). Overall very positive experience. On the negative side, the fact that, at the time of checking out, the credit card machine 'was temporarily out of service'...this is a frequent excuse in this part of the world and I find it really annoying. If the hotel does not want to take credit cards they should say so and remove the stickers on display.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A small B&B in the heart of Baku (6 rooms only). Situated in the quite non-touristic place (so be prepared to see dirt and Baku real life outside), but quite close to the main attractions. Great staff, always ready to help. You can find everything necessary in your room: air-con, bathrobe, slippers, towels, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, mini-bar and even anti-mosquito device. They serve breakfast from 8 AM till 10 AM: small omlette, some vegetables, two slices of cheese and one slice of sausage, yougurt, white bread, three olives :-) a glass of fruit juice and tea or coffee. Not too much, but tasty. What I really dislike is bathroom: everything is leaky, the water is everywhere, that was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

"Fawlty Towers Hotel", has a very distinctive character because of its decoration. What strikes you from the first moment is that every detail has been taken care of (for exemple - visible cables are wrapped with string, which is in accordance with the general decoration etc). The rooms are very spacious.
The location is a very big asset of this hotel, because you can walk to every important sightseeing spot in a few minutes.
The owners of the hotel provided very good services and information, making our visit to Baku an unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lion1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
Austin Hotel Baku
Austin Hotel Baku
#27 of 113 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Du Port Hotel
Du Port Hotel
#74 of 113 in Baku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baku City Center Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baku Yard Hostel
Baku Yard Hostel
#15 of 62 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baku Palace Hotel
Baku Palace Hotel
#1 of 62 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#15 of 92 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers Hotel

Property: Fawlty Towers Hotel
Address: Alovsat Guliyev Street 108, Baku 1100, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Baku
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Fawlty Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing