We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Icheri Sheher Hotel
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Baku
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As others have noted, this is a great location and although it is on the street, my room was quiet and pleasant even with the windows open. I liked the friendly, helpful staff. The wi fi was free and fast. The breakfast was ordinary for the location, but they added custom cooked eggs. The only coffee was instant. The room was plenty big, but a bit shabby with small holes in the sheets. For a small hotel in good location it was just the ticket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have stayed at the Icheri Sheher hotel 4 or 5 times and always enjoy it. The location is great, within the walls of the old city with its rabbit's warren of lanes and narrow streets. I have always found the service to be helpful. The rooms are large, a bit dark - but this is the former Soviet Union. Breakfast is fine - cooked just for you - and the small breakfast room is always filled with multiple nationalities.

Nothing special, but it grows on you. I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Very small hotel situated right in the old city. However the spot is close to all the interesting sites in Baku - Caspian sea boulevard and main pedestrian zone in the city. There are only 8 or 10 rooms in there. The rooms are not very spacious, but you get all all what you may need. Sleep comfort was rather good, as I got a room with a view on a small park. The service was very good - we had for example a towel change every day without asking for it. Wifi internet was provided with satisfactory speed. The disadvantages - no restaurant and breakfast was very limited. The hotel had four stars, but for european standarts it deserves like 2 or 2,5. The main advantage is the price in the expensive city of Baku.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Spent 4 nights in Baku in August and moved here after a disastrous 1st night at the Old Gates Hotel due to lack of a/c and no hope to get it fixed. Walked around the old city until we found an available and reasonably priced 3* alternative and found it here. It's nothing spectacular, but the location is perfect, it's clean, pretty new and the rooms are not luxurious but nevertheless quite nice. The EUR 90/night on BB even get you free WiFi in the rooms and free omelette for breakfast as long as you order it before 9:30am although breakfast is being served till 10. The very friendly receptionist didn't understand the logic (or rather the lack of it) behind the omelette charge after 9:30 herself but believe me, once you meet the grumpy old Olga with looks that kill who works in the kitchen you don't argue and either pay or stick to toast and jam. ;-) Omelette apart we were very pleased with our alternative accommodation and would return any time.
Btw, don't bother going to Qobustan, it takes a bit more than an hr to get there passing some of the ugliest scenery possible and it's an absolute waste of time. None of us could understand how in heaven's name this place got a Unesco World Heritage status, there's next to nothing there! You can see it all in 5 minutes and whatever you see is really not worth talking about. Nevertheless we enjoyed the trip in the rain in an old Lada with Igor the driver who couldn't speak a word of English, not because of Qobustan but rather the overall situation.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Globetrotter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The Icheri Shaher has no bells and whistles - it's a small hotel with a basic, friendly service, but it's reasonably priced by Baku standards and rooms are of a decent size (particularly if you can get a corner room with multiple windows), and it's superbly located right both on edge of the old city, so you can walk one way into old city, and other way to Fountain Square or a metro station right there (Baku Soviet).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

the hotel is very small with 8 rooms only and 1 small restaurant, but it is 5 minutes walk from the city centre. the room is very small with no amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank taurian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Натиг Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baku hotels
3.5 mi away
Opera Hotel
Opera Hotel
#64 of 123 in Baku
10 reviews
3.5 mi away
Teatro Boutique Hotel
Teatro Boutique Hotel
#31 of 123 in Baku
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#15 of 123 in Baku
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Divan Express Baku
Divan Express Baku
#18 of 123 in Baku
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Legend Panorama Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icheri Sheher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icheri Sheher Hotel

Address: Mammadyarov Str., 1/34, Baku 370004, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Baku
Price Range: £37 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icheri Sheher Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Icheri Sheher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing