We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great manager and staff BUT extremely NOISY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Icheri Sheher Hotel
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Baku
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great manager and staff BUT extremely NOISY”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Baku is an astonishing city encircled by the Caucasus, the Caspian sea, and you feel somewhere between Europe, the Middle East and the Central Asia, which is why is not only a magnificent country with great people and country to visit, but also a country worthwhile to experience, which is why I have chosen for my 2 night stay in Baku Icheri Sheher Hotel.

Usually I rarely tend to complain because I have been in 4 to 5 star hotels were I have been given the standard exceptional service you expect, but also I have been in 2 and 3 star types of hotels were the effort and care from the staff have made me enjoy more the experience than I would on a 4 to 5 star hotel; however, unfortunately, this was not the case.

Icheri Sheher's main advantage is that is localized in a top center location in old town Baku, which was the prime motivator to stay in this so-called " 4 star " hotel--about 3 star to be fair. Another prime motivation is that everything, by obviously being in the center, is from a walkable distance--an element which any tourist/visitor can enjoy ( especially the great restaurants located in the old town).

Unfortunately, I found this hotel being extremely noisy because they usually have a live music bar at the top of the small hotel which echoes all of the noise to the lower floors, which in my case was the 3rd floor: right above the live bar--yes, people dancing, singing, banging chairs, on top of my room.

The noise began from 1800 until 0200 on a saturday night and on a sunday night from 1700 to 0030. In a hotel you are looking to relax and sleep--take note business travellers--and though it is completely understanding that one must have fun and one must enjoy an evening, usually is the main reasons bars are localized on the hotel lobbies, but being such a small size, I understand is impossible to have this comfortness. Therefore my humble suggestion to management would be to limit live music during weekdays or reduce music until 11:30 PM rather than an all-nighter.


The greatest element is the manager, who apologized for the noise and definitely made my stay worth it. So I would give the manager a 5.


Thank you for reading,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drs88bbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As others have noted, this is a great location and although it is on the street, my room was quiet and pleasant even with the windows open. I liked the friendly, helpful staff. The wi fi was free and fast. The breakfast was ordinary for the location, but they added custom cooked eggs. The only coffee was instant. The room was plenty big, but a bit shabby with small holes in the sheets. For a small hotel in good location it was just the ticket.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have stayed at the Icheri Sheher hotel 4 or 5 times and always enjoy it. The location is great, within the walls of the old city with its rabbit's warren of lanes and narrow streets. I have always found the service to be helpful. The rooms are large, a bit dark - but this is the former Soviet Union. Breakfast is fine - cooked just for you - and the small breakfast room is always filled with multiple nationalities.

Nothing special, but it grows on you. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Very small hotel situated right in the old city. However the spot is close to all the interesting sites in Baku - Caspian sea boulevard and main pedestrian zone in the city. There are only 8 or 10 rooms in there. The rooms are not very spacious, but you get all all what you may need. Sleep comfort was rather good, as I got a room with a view on a small park. The service was very good - we had for example a towel change every day without asking for it. Wifi internet was provided with satisfactory speed. The disadvantages - no restaurant and breakfast was very limited. The hotel had four stars, but for european standarts it deserves like 2 or 2,5. The main advantage is the price in the expensive city of Baku.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Spent 4 nights in Baku in August and moved here after a disastrous 1st night at the Old Gates Hotel due to lack of a/c and no hope to get it fixed. Walked around the old city until we found an available and reasonably priced 3* alternative and found it here. It's nothing spectacular, but the location is perfect, it's clean, pretty new and the rooms are not luxurious but nevertheless quite nice. The EUR 90/night on BB even get you free WiFi in the rooms and free omelette for breakfast as long as you order it before 9:30am although breakfast is being served till 10. The very friendly receptionist didn't understand the logic (or rather the lack of it) behind the omelette charge after 9:30 herself but believe me, once you meet the grumpy old Olga with looks that kill who works in the kitchen you don't argue and either pay or stick to toast and jam. ;-) Omelette apart we were very pleased with our alternative accommodation and would return any time.
Btw, don't bother going to Qobustan, it takes a bit more than an hr to get there passing some of the ugliest scenery possible and it's an absolute waste of time. None of us could understand how in heaven's name this place got a Unesco World Heritage status, there's next to nothing there! You can see it all in 5 minutes and whatever you see is really not worth talking about. Nevertheless we enjoyed the trip in the rain in an old Lada with Igor the driver who couldn't speak a word of English, not because of Qobustan but rather the overall situation.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OSNT-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The Icheri Shaher has no bells and whistles - it's a small hotel with a basic, friendly service, but it's reasonably priced by Baku standards and rooms are of a decent size (particularly if you can get a corner room with multiple windows), and it's superbly located right both on edge of the old city, so you can walk one way into old city, and other way to Fountain Square or a metro station right there (Baku Soviet).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2008

the hotel is very small with 8 rooms only and 1 small restaurant, but it is 5 minutes walk from the city centre. the room is very small with no amenities.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank taurian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hale Kai
Hotel Hale Kai
#30 of 112 in Baku
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Du Port Hotel
Du Port Hotel
#80 of 112 in Baku
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#14 of 112 in Baku
110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Baku
Palace Hotel Baku
#35 of 112 in Baku
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Old Gates
Premier Old Gates
#3 of 104 in Baku
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icheri Sheher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icheri Sheher Hotel

Property: Icheri Sheher Hotel
Address: Mammadyarov Str., 1/34, Baku 370004, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Icheri Sheher Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Icheri Sheher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing