We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here before; still no service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Coast Hotel
Ranked #82 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stayed here before; still no service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a return visit, not by choice. Company uses this hotel so I had to endure the endlessly poor service. The room was quite good and comfortable. The maid service was excellent, the rest of the staff was abysamal. I used the room service because there was no restaurant open, just the bar which was always empty and the food took an age to come.The room service was reasonable and the food was OK and better than I remembered having before, so something has improved. Breakfast buffet was also better.

It is just the total indifference of the staff (apart from the cleaning staff), which really grates. I dread the thought of returning there. As a hotel it is potentially good, with a good location. I am amazed they make money with their staff, perhaps thats all they expect in Azerbaijan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for an event in the same hotel. The rooms are ok but the staff does not provide any service. Doorman watched me getting my luggage in, when I asked the reception to get me a taxi the lady told me that their driver was away and she did not know where I could get a taxi except "in the street" (cold heavy wind outside), there was nobody in the icy breakfast room both mornings and the breakfast looked not fresh. The restaurant was closed in the evening, the gentlemen at the bar proposed to eat there but it was too cold there.
After the event the staff told us to leave the room as they considered the event to be finished and had dressed a table with food. I had the impression that they wanted to get us out from there to eat the remainders of the dinner that was paid by our partner organisation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baku hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The rooms were better than expected. I went to the restaurant at 10pm a they said that it wa closed but the kitchen was open. I ordered the Lila and they told me it would be 25 minutes. It took over an hour. I watched the cook laughing it up behind the bar ( no where near the kitchen) for 30 min. And I'm expected to pay 12 manat for this?!? This wouldn't fly in the US.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alajuans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel location is good, close to the main road, view from room is too good specially during night, good view of flame tower and the Caspian sea. Hotel Staff is friendly too. But very limited food choice in restaurant. Overall a decent place to stay in.

Room Tip: Chose room ending with 5 onwards to get good internet speed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivekMahich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

They will not turn the AC on until June 1st. Baku get's hot and sweaty way before this. The decision to turn it on should be based on the weather not the date. Of course you always have the option of opening the window and letting the noise of the traffic sooth you to sleep. Could be a nice hotel but they need to throw of the old attitudes and put the paying guests first

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Despite bad evaluation of this hotel, I had good experience during my stay last weekend !
It may really not be 5 star hotel, but it is a good choice for the money! It has very nice location,
it is clean and well maintained and the staff is friendly.
Can' t judge the food, since I was dinning out, except breakfast, which is average.
Anyway, my stay was OK and would go back!

Room Tip: Seaview has excellent view on Baku and Caspian Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I found myself in "The Golden Coast Hotel 5*" for 35 days on a recent business trip. No Air-Con for 17 days, breakfast - inedible, bar prices increased days after arrival, electricity failed daily, lack of urgency when problems flagged....Not worthy of any more time on my behalf

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Baku
0.0 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#52 of 114 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Baku
Hyatt Regency Baku
#10 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
QafqaZ Baku City Hotel & Residences
0.0 mi away
Chirag Plaza Hotel
Chirag Plaza Hotel
#42 of 114 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intourist Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Hotel

Property: Golden Coast Hotel
Address: M Useynov Street 14, Baku AZ1003, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Coast Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Golden Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing