We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy CBD Hotel”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #61 of 112 Hotels in Baku
greymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Handy CBD Hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A comfortable mid range hotel in a convenient down town location close to the harbour.
The property is a converted apartment block with rooms on two floors and a small restaurant on the ground floor. Staff were obliging and the buffet breakfast was great.
Rooms are comfortable, if a little on the small side, and ensuite bathrooms are clean and well maintained. In May 2012 when I visited the air-conditioning wasnt turned on. It would have made the stay a lot more comfortable but the windows could be opened wide and the evening breeze was refreshing enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silkroad_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    18
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
11
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights in April. The staff was very kind and helpfull as well as the waiters in the restaurant/bar. The rooms was quite big as well as the bathroom, but really dirty. I have never seen such a dirty carpet, 2 hangers for cloth. The hotell looked like a hotel in 1965 It is centrally located and offers transfer to airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikingOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
422 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The hotel is old and really need a great deal of renovation. The whole building smells musty and the front and cellar doors do not close tíghtly so there is a constant draft. The carpets are worn out and no amount of cleaning helps. The cleaning ladies are doing their best though as well as the receptionists and other members of the staff, who are very helpful. There is no elevator, so during the first two nights, I chose the first floor, but there is so much traffic and noise in the corridor at night, so I hardly got any sleep. I was moved to the third floor, and carrying my luggage up the stairs was no problem due to the help of the hotel staff. However, the mini-bar refrigerator made a knocking noise almost every hour, so my sleep was interrupted all the time. If you want to pay with credit card, Vat will be added to your hotel bill, which is around 18% more. If you want to save on the VAT remember to have enough cash with you or withdraw money from the bank. However, the location of this hotel is near the waterfront and the Boulevard Park as well as the offices, where I had meetings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exelcis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baku hotels

Cambridge
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Good central location, easy to walk to and from all the major parts of the city. I shared a twin room on the ground floor which was spacious with good quality bed and linen. The bathroom was clean and stocked up regularly with good quality bits and pieces. cleaning good. Staff generally helpful. However the T shirt I was sleeping disappeared though hard to believe that the chambermaid or anyone else would want to take it. However, when making 'enquiries' regarding it's disappearance I met with a lack of interest. Breakfast not bad. Good service to the airport, waiting when I came out of my room early in the morning. Free computer internet service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Good hotel in a good location, near the Bulvar. The rooms was big enough and clean, with a nice shower room. Inside there is a full mini bar, satellite TV and air conditioning.
The buffet breakfast is fine and the staff is very helpful and friendly.
I suggest this hotel to any tourist or businessman for its quality/price ratio

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Good location in Baku, only 10 minutes walk to Caspian Seafront, new Hilton (not open yet 05/11) & new Bulevard Shopping centre so can't be a bad area.A pleasant and leisurely 30 minute stroll to the Old Town (can stop for a coffee/cold beer along the promenade and take in the view). Meals are adequate, rooms are bigger than other hotels of this class, have a/c, mini bar (which you can use without fear of needing a loan to repay) and kept clean and tidy by attentive staff. Nothing is too much bother, when checking in told if don't like the room they will gladly offer you another one. Stayed one night on return at Hotel near Heathrow, London, paid more for a box room with cracked sink, no a/c and poor breakfast. Only one downside - traffic noise at night can be erratic but possibly due to when stayed Azerbaijan won Eurovision!

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor - helps with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairncastle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I stayed in several top-rated Baku hotels before, but this is second time I decided to stay in the Empire Hotel. With Baku prices it is pretty inexpensive hotel. Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. You can easily change your room to better floor, or from inner yard view to a street view. It is very close to Baku boulevard and Nizami street, which is a very popular place in Baku. And again- staff is who make this hotel feel like a home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george_asatiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Caspian Guest House
#97 of 112 in Baku
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rigs Hotel
Rigs Hotel
#45 of 112 in Baku
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guest House Inn & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Du Port Hotel
Du Port Hotel
#75 of 112 in Baku
55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Expo Hotel
Premier Expo Hotel
#54 of 112 in Baku
20 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caspian Palace
Caspian Palace
#41 of 112 in Baku
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: Khaqani St., 49, Baku 1010, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 112 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empire Hotel has all advantages of a city-center location and is a perfect stay for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is surrounded by embassies, government and business offices, and has a good position for the popular entertainment center of Baku city. 25 km from Baku International Airport. We offer airport pick-up and taxi services, 24 hour room service, restaurant and bar open round the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing