We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value semi-luxury hotel”
Review of Grand Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel
Ranked #66 of 81 Hotels in Dhaka City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value semi-luxury hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Couldn't find any cheap accommodation in Dhaka, so decided to go for a hotel. As it was off season got a discount on the single room, and as expected this had all the nice facilities you'd expect of a proper hotel.

The room was not especially nicely furnished or designed and was quite small, but was clean and had a fan, AC, fridge, and Western style bathroom. Pool and dodgy gym on roof, which look to be open 24 hours.

There's ethernet cables in the rooms (no wifi), and some PCs and wifi in the lobby.
Staff can convert dollars into Taka for you.

This hotel is in a good area of Dhaka, and I think they expect everyone to be quite well off. The staff looked with disgust when I only wanted to change $30, think I was a bit small time for them. Also the taxi they arranged for me for the next morning was about twice what it should have cost (I paid 1000 BDT).

There's a couple of overpriced chinese restaurants downstairs, and a bazaar, which is the UK equivalent of a well equipped service station but attracts the rich and famous of Dhaka.

Final thing to note - everyone else staying there will be a 20 year old European intern of Grameen Bank.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 9th floor or higher, although the lift goes up to 13 there's only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dh2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
1
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Dhaka is rich in many ways that separate it from other cities, including smiles,stares,invitations to make friends, horn honking, and places to eat and sleep which are unimaginable except to people unconcerned about their health or bank accounts. Grand Prince Hotel is a refuge from all that is unwanted here. Safe, inexpensive rooms are available for $30 and $40.The staff will make sure you are happy. Rooms have internet cable connection, uninterrupted electricity (even for a/c), satellite tv including Indian channels, BBC, CNN, HBO, Cartoon Network, National Geographic,ESPN), fully working American style bathrooms with non-stop hot and cold water and enclosed shower/bathtubs--not the "wet bathrooms" more common in affordable hotels here. The cooks prepare any meal you wish-they are not limited to the already wide variety in the menu. Their safe, delicious, fresh food makes it easy for this to become a favorite dinner spot for guests and their local friends. The rooftop is open for the views and breezes, especially welcome in Dhaka, and the space to lie down on the reclining chairs and just talk, read and enjoy the peace and quiet. There is a swimming pool, and exercise and sauna/steam rooms, though I have never used them. In walking distance are two clean, well stocked supermarkets, Agora and G Mart, a branch of Aarong, the souvenir chain, and the headquarters of Grameen Bank. Hotel guests often include Grameen interns from many countries, and the Bangladesh cricket team, the Tigers.Grand Prince is not Sonargaon, and at a third or fourth of the price it can't be. But the staff is equally professional, the food equally tasty, the beds equally ready to allow you a good sleep.

Room Tip: Noise pollution from traffic on Mirpur Road is very noticeable. If you are sensitive, ask for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DannyJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I brought a group of six students to Bangladesh to study the Grameen Bank and we stayed here. If you need a place that is close to the Grameen Bank HQ, then this is a decent option (five minutes by rickshaw). I mean for a developing country like Bangladesh, this place is fine. Things are not sparkly clean, but they are not filthy either. Service is decent and there is a marketplace that is good for groceries, etc....There's a bit of a roach problem, so definitely do not keep open food in your room. If you follow this rule, you will not see any roaches. The rooms have strong AC, but it goes out a lot due to power outages. However, the fans and the lights stay on, thanks to a noisy generator. Laundry service is OK, but I did have students who had some clothes burned and ruined. Don't give them anything nice to clean, but it's good for t-shirts and jeans. One of my student's room flooded and there was some damage to his belongings - we got really upset, and they gave us a very small discount. There's a computer lab and two good Chinese restaurants that serve the exact same food. Also, the lobby and rooftop pool/gym are great places to meet Grameen interns from all over the world. It's not great by any means, but it's not bad considering the economic circumstances of Bangladesh.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tierra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI, MAHARASHTRA, INDIA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

stayed in the hotel for a business trip for 2 days. This hotel is situated in the middle of a very busy and populated market. Can be good to reach to the best shops if you may want to get a feel of Dhaka. but its a strict no frill budget hotel. If ambiance and beauty is an issue, this may not be the best option.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Milina
Hotel Milina
#61 of 81 in Dhaka City
3 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#67 of 81 in Dhaka City
64 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 81 in Dhaka City
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Century Park Residence
Century Park Residence
#39 of 81 in Dhaka City
24 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Ornate
Hotel Ornate
#69 of 81 in Dhaka City
10 reviews
4.6 mi away
Contemporary Heights Hotel
Contemporary Heights Hotel
#43 of 81 in Dhaka City
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel

Property: Grand Prince Hotel
Address: Paradise Plaza | Commercial Plot No-06 & 11, Block-B, Mirpur-1, Dhaka City 1216, Bangladesh
Region: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, JovagoAsia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Prince Hotel Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing