We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms,Average Food.”
Review of Washington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Washington Hotel
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Dhaka City
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After two years again I stayed here. Big rooms actually. Staff are changed and they helpful now. Food Quality is average, but not bad. Best part is the Location in Gulshan. Value for Money.
There is some construction work is going on in first floor this causes so much on day time. Not a bad stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgudiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean. The lighting may be poor but most of the rooms get adequate sun light if the curtains are shifted. The quality of water in the bathrooms is very good which is not exactly the case in many hotels in Bangladesh. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The roads around are relatively safe so that we can have long morning walks without trouble. The location of money changers are nearby too at the Gulshan circle. It is difficult to get good non Bengali food especially Indian but the quality of the food is above average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel is very good when compared to other hotels in Dhaka for price, location. This hotel is in Gulshan area which is one of the safest places in Dhaka. Gulshan is not affected by any unrest or political turmoil. Feel very secured in this hotel 5 stars for that.

Food is average. It is average all over Dhaka. Staffs are friendly. Room service can be improved. Bf is just fine. But too oily. Juices are of too much sugar.

Room has good sound proofing from outside noise. But some rooms have connecting door to the next room and can hear TV very clearly through that. Laundry service is cheap and good.

The room lighting is pathetic during night. There is no big white light in the room. All are collection of small yellow light around the 4 corners of the room. Feels like some night club. For reading need to use bed lamp. Lighting needs to be improved.

Hotel provides free wifi/ and LAN cable. Internet over LAN cable is much better than wifi. Some rooms does not have LAN port.

In Dhaka we have to compromise many things. Hotel is one of that. Keep expectations low and enjoy your stay. :-)

Room Tip: Keep windows closed in evening to avoid mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The room was clean for Bangladesh standard. Ac perfectly working, hot water, only one blackout in five days stay. Breakfast wasn't very rich but ok. Big con: Very noisy even at fifth floor, windows made with glass thin as parchment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I was trying to stay here for 5 nights for a business trip but had to leave as the hotel didn't have a functional AC, the service was close to non-existent and a hotel boy started to stalk me. The price what you pay for this hotel is ridiculous for what it's actually worth. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Naturefreek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Hi. Presently I am staying at Hotel Washington. all the services are great...rooms are good..view is good...room service is good..house keeping is prompt..food is good...Internet is complimentary but then all Hotels in Bangladesh offer complimentary WIFI.,.. person at the concierge service who will receive you at airport are very polite and decent... the only drawback which I felt today was when my colleague was checking out..they had not informed earlier that while pick up is complimentary the drop is chargeable...funny...never heard of this thing before...they charged 1021BDT incl service tax (USD equivalent 12USD)... felt this was not correct..when they sent a mail for room confirmation they should be mentioning all additional charges....atleast the hygiene factors like airport pick up and drop...be sure to check the airport drop charges at the time of booking.Location wise: Thumbs Up since its located bang on Gulshan Main road closest to all business areas.
No swimming pool available though.. good place to have small conference for 30-40 people.. hotel lobby is pretty small though its comfortable.

Room Tip: choose higher floor rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STalapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Dhaka being a very busy and chaotic city, it is important that your place of stay is as close as possible to your place of work. This was the main reason I chose Washington. The hotel was bang opposite my clients office and I selected the hotel for that reason right away.

The staff is nice and friendly at the hotel. They were always up to my requests and tried to help whenever required.

The Rooms as bit dated and look old. I can speak about the 4th floor as I was in 414. This room was the last in the corridor and was suppose to be the quietest, however this was no where near to being quiet. As the hotel is on a very busy street, you can continuously listen to HONKING Cars, passing by trucks and howling people... So do not forget to take your ear plugs.

The last room is the corridor has a service door next to it which I believe connects to the Kitchen Chimney.. Guess what, you could have a smelly room at all times.. The internet in the room was as slow as a dial up connection. So it was SAD...

The breakfast buffet was very very very limited, with mostly the same good given everyday... Overall, I would try not to book this again, unless I have the issue of travelling..

Burger World is good... some nice food there... The restaurant menu is very limited though.

Room Tip: All the best is my tip..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel & Apartments
Lakeshore Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 83 in Dhaka City
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Progati Inn
Hotel Progati Inn
#30 of 83 in Dhaka City
1 reviews
0 mi away
Rigs Inn
Rigs Inn
#36 of 83 in Dhaka City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Century Park Residence
Century Park Residence
#42 of 83 in Dhaka City
26 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ornate
Hotel Ornate
#71 of 83 in Dhaka City
11 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#12 of 83 in Dhaka City
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hotel

Address: 56 Gulshan Avenue, Mir Shawkat Road | Road No-132, Gulshan-1, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Region: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Dhaka City
Price Range: £45 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Dhaka City
Washington Hotel Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing