We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG, FANTASTIC!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Residence Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Capital Residence Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“OMG, FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just don't bother with any of the other holes in BSB, go straight here!!! We have travelled around Asia for the past 7 months, and have also travelled a fair bit over the years, and I can confidentially say that I have never been looked after so well by the staff.
We had booked into a standard room for B$70.00/nt, due to a $10.00 discount they currently have. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite with a lounge, dining, fully functional kitchen, hot shower with lots of pressure. As this is Brunei, the bedroom have 2 king singles instead of a queen bed, which we sorted for ourselves. This is also the first hotel where we got 2 large plush white towels each. The room is serviced daily, and all clean linen provided. The sheets are good quality thick, white ,crisp, with fat pillows- heaven.
Everytime we go to the foyer, we are asked where we are off to, and offered to be driven there. They drove us to a restaurant which specialises in traditional Bruneian food, and were ready to pick us up again after lunch!! They organised a day jungle trek and canopy walk with a local company, which was also amazing(I'll try to review that separately). They even drove us to the Malaysian Technology Museum(well worth a visit) and picked us up again 90min. later.
All of this for less than $100.00/ nt, which is my benchmark on this trip.
The hotel is located exactly behind the Pusat Belia Youth Hostel, and is 10 min. walk away from the waterfront, and about 2 min. walk from the night food market. It is in easy walking distance to the Royal Regalia Museum, the mosque, and the water village.

Room Tip: Junior suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Laj S,


Firstly, thank you for leaving such kind words about your recent stay with us at The Capital Residence Suites. It was a privilege to have you as our guests and our staff have enjoyed having you here. Your words will certainly motivated our staff to work hard in order to satisfy any needs the guests might have for their visit to Brunei.

We are sorry for the unfortunate setting of our Junior Suites. With the feedback you have given us, we are able to adjust the settings of our rooms to the needs of our guests. We are also glad that you have enjoyed our scheduled shuttle service. We do hope that you have enjoyed the experience of staying with us at the Capital Residence Suites as much as we have been enjoying your company throughout your stay with us.

On behalf of the General Manager as well as all the teams here at The Capital Residence Suites, we thank you for your choosing The Capital Residence Suites and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.



Best Regards,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    67
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
79
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff were all great! We were picked up at the airport at 2 am by their driver and dropped back at the airport on departure. Every request was met with a yes we can do. The hotel is located away from the main city centre so is quiet but close enough to walk into the city centre. The rooms are clean and the apartment is massive. I recommend booking through the hotel directly on their web page as it's cheaper and ask for airport transfers, there are virtually no taxis in this city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Damos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Damos66

Firstly, Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Capital Residence Suites. we are glad to hear that your recent experience staying with us has been pleasant on your part. We were also happy to fulfill any requests to the best of our abilities and I hoped that the staff has reflected that while you are here.

On behalf of our General Manager and the team at The Capital Residence Suites, We thank you for being our guests and we hope to welcome you again in the future.


Best Regards,


Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked the Junior Suite for 3 of us for 2 nights. Our flight arrived at mid-night, hotel arranged staff to pick us up from airport and followed with a warm welcoming. We were travelling right after the peak season, hotel offered a free upgrade for us to the Executive Suite. It was a great surprise after the tiring flight... so we don't have to queue up for bath. The room is more like an apartment style, and it is big and clean. Staffs are all very nice and helpful. We encountered a little problem with our door lock, staffs tried their best to fix it as efficiently as possible. Although it was not success, we have no issue leaving and accessing the room with the help of the staffs. Location is good, breakfast is good. Is it overally a present stay that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momochu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear momochu,

Firstly, Thank you the generous review of The Capital Residence Suites. We appreciate you taking your time to leave a review of your recent stay. Once again, we would like to apologize for the unfortunate incident and we are glad that our staff was there to help you with your access to the rooms.

On behalf of the General Manager and the team at The Capital Residence Suites, we would like to thank you and we hoped that we made your stay in Brunei a pleasant experience.we do hope that you enjoyed staying at The Capital Residence Suites as much as we have truly enjoyed having you as a Guest at our establishment.

In the meantime, we hope to welcome you again to The Capital Residence Suites in the future.


Best Regards,


Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

All the staff I met here I think must be the most helpful, friendly and professional staff I have experienced while staying in any hotel, guest house, hostel, apartment etc, and I have stayed in a lot of places to compare. The hotel is really central and has good Wifi, clean rooms and communal areas. its OK price for Brunei.Nothing was too much trouble and I did experience a few problems (nothing to do with the hotel). i really can not commend my experience enough here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatty_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Tatty_Rascal

Firstly, i would like to convey our thanks for choosing The Capital Residence Suites during your recent visit to Brunei. Our small team is always determined to give the best quality standard that Brunei has to offer. We are sorry you had to come across some problems during your trip but we do hope that you enjoyed staying at The Capital Residence Suites as much as we have truly enjoyed having you as a Guest at our establishment.

Once again,on Behalf of the General Manager and the team, thank you for staying at The Capital Residence Suites and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Many Thanks,


Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My friend and I wanted to visit Brunei, but were worried about the lack of taxis. The general manager of the hotel picked us up at the ferry station 30 minutes from Bandar Seri Begawan and offered a driver to take us to change money, see a mosque and the palace gates. The driver then dropped us off at the waterfront for dinner, where we took an evening boat cruise. The hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the waterfront.

The hotel itself is nice, new and clean. There is great wifi. We loved it so much we decided to stay a second night and they upgraded us to a junior suite for free! There is the lack of hotels in BSB and this one seems to be the best in terms of price and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kkaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Kkaffer,

Firstly, thank you for taking your time to write about your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you here at The Capital Residence Suites. we do hope that we have done enough to make your first trip to Brunei memorable. I am sure that The General Manager as well as the staff will be much more motivated to welcome more guests knowing that they accomplished their goal of attending to all your needs during your stay with us.

The Management is happy to hear that our services and our location has added to the pleasure of your trip to Brunei.On behalf of the General Manager, Thank you once again for your kind words and we are happy to welcome you back to The Capital Residence Suites anytime.

Best Regards,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel looks new and fresh, the room was clean and has a comfortable bed. The free wifi is fast. We enjoyed the tasty local breakfast with nasi lemak and cakes. The hotel is close to the sultan's museum and walk a little further for the great mosk and water village.
Staff was very attentive and courtious. The free airport shuttle was convenient. There were just a few other guests during our stay, it was very quiet.

However I do have one complaint: a female staff member opened our room door without knocking. We were shocked, and though she apoligized it still shouldn't have happened. So I reccomend the management to put inside locks on the door. It feels safer.

Besides this strange incident this is a very nice and good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Samhollznd,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with The Capital Residence Suites.We truly hope that your stay with us added to your enjoyment in visiting Brunei. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed the local breakfast choices that we had offered. The Capital Residence Suites try to introduce our guests to local customs and culture and one of our initiatives is to let our guests start the day the way locals usually do.

We are sorry to hear about our staff's intrusion.We have trained our staff the proper procedure of inspecting rooms but it seems that it was not implemented in this case.the Management would like to apologize once again for not meeting your expectations in this aspect. The Management would also like to thank you for your suggestion and we will try to implement it as soon as possible.

Lastly, on behalf of the General Manager and all the staff here at The Capital Residence Suites, thank you for staying at The Capital Residence Suites and we hope to welcome you to Brunei again in the future.

Best Regards,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at CRS for about one month. The staff is really helpful and accommodating. This is a perfect place to stay for short or long stays in Brunei. It's within walking distance to downtown and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the hotel or other places around town. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Radu84,

Thank you for your kind words and we are happy to welcome you again anytime to The Capital Residence Suites.Our staff value your appraisal on their hard work and it will motivate them to strive harder to bring quality service that the Capital Residence Suites strives for.

Once again,on Behalf of the General Manager as well as all the staff here at The Capital Residence Suites, thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Residence Suites

Property: The Capital Residence Suites
Address: Simpang 2,LOT 20127 | Kg. Berangan, 8211, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam (Formerly Capital Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Capital Residence Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital Residence Suites is situated on the edge of central Bandar Seri Begawan. This secluded property is convenient venue for private visitors, families and business travelers who are looking for space and convenience. We are located about 8km or 10 to 15 minute drive from Brunei International Airport and are walking distance from many others features around town. Some of these include the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, night market and Tamu (Dry Market), Temburong water taxi jetty, Royal Regalia Building, Yayasan Shopping Complex and Kampong Ayer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Capital Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing