We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for a get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Paradise Resort
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place for a get-away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The location of the hotel was quite far from the city, around 20 minutes drive. The scenery along the road is quite breathtaking, although winding most of the way - single carriageway. Early booking is recommended especially when you need more than 1 room and during peak periods. The rooms are average with with queen sized bed or two singles. Equipped with its own veranda, allowing a relaxing atmosphere overseeing the Brunei river. Fishing is allowed from the veranda, so bring your own fishing gear. You can also fish at the adjacent fishing ponds, nominal entrance fee per person, and you can rent a fishing rod.

The swimming pool is OK, small. One for the children and another for adults.

Overall stay was comfortable.

The Zyan Restaurant offer fresh fish, and authentic Bruneian dishes.

Room Tip: Book early and request for the room. The ones we've been are rooms 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Quite good for gateaway with your family. A simple resort but yet it accommodate with swimming pool and for those who love fishing should come and stay overnight. My favourite tomyam soup. MUST TRY!! there is a space for kids activity so that we can send off them to play as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erna_H308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

got a room with dusty bedsheets, broken lamp and leaky aircon! no one came to fix it! talked to the supervisor and we got moved to another room. All we got was an extended checkout time. I dont really think 2pm is an 'extended' check out time. Other hotels offer until 6pm! Oh and the food is cheap, but TERRIBLE! Probably thats why other hotels are better!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hairussaidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I've stayed here with some friends and I really liked it! But veryyy poor service cuz it they took like 3 house to bring extra pillows! I don't really recommend parents to bring small kids cuz there's lots of monkeys and they stole our food! Maybe they also can steal your kids! Cuz you know monkey loves kid (lol) about the swimming pool, the time I was there it was under reno so I can't review the swimming pool... I totally recommend to people who LOVES to relax and fish... It's a greatttt place to fish! For the cleanliness of the resort, I would say that it's ok.. Not as dirty as the other reviewers said.... AND GUESS WHAT? IM GOING WITH MY FRIENDS AGAIN NEXT MONTH!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GavinSone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Clean simple rooms with a wonderful river view! Don't forget to bring yr fishing rods while you're here cos there's plenty of fish to catch. For those who prefer eating then catching the in-house restaurant provides delicious meals at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a quaint set up designed to resemble water village houses and the design works well. This place is a budget or middling option and if you're getting prices comparable to luxury hotels then don't come here.

What recommends it is simple rooms (rather like being onboard a houseboat), a great restaurant attached and - of course - the view and experience of being on the river. It feels authentic and it's away from the centre of Bandar.

Stop off at the 5th Sultan's mausoleum on the way around.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

we stay in this hotel recently. nice place,great location but poor service and cleanliness.
rooms not clean-spiderwebs,dusty table,stained bedsheet,no towel,bathroom stained with soaps. we asked for towel since there is non in the room but it took us ages to get one towel ,merely after 5 hours and after few calls to receptionist. the receptionist told me its a full house last night, so they dont have towel in stock, have to wait for it to wash and will only deliver at 7:00pm..dear hotel manager..hope you read this...resort is in such a nice view but the cleanliness of the room is not well maintain at all..please maintain it..such a pity..its the only 15 rooms not 100....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MRSZZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
11.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.3 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Paradise Resort

Property: Mangrove Paradise Resort
Address: Simpang 912 | Kampong Sungai Belukut, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Paradise Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mangrove Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Paradise Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing