We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Paradise Resort
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed there in 2 Nov 2009 when it was just open, we understand the situation, the management are learning from their faults. Rooms was ok and the kids are enjoying themselves. The room service need to be improve as it takes and hour to send our meals to the room. When the meals arrive, they forgot the tissue, sauce fork and spoon, it tooks time for them to travel to collect the utensil.

The reception is not that friendly, the face are always sour.

The dinning area food not bad, good for hungry stomach, service is slow.

Their selling point is only the location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

The location of the hotel was quite far from the city, around 20 minutes drive. The scenery along the road is quite breathtaking, although winding most of the way - single carriageway. Early booking is recommended especially when you need more than 1 room and during peak periods. The rooms are average with with queen sized bed or two singles. Equipped with its own veranda, allowing a relaxing atmosphere overseeing the Brunei river. Fishing is allowed from the veranda, so bring your own fishing gear. You can also fish at the adjacent fishing ponds, nominal entrance fee per person, and you can rent a fishing rod.

The swimming pool is OK, small. One for the children and another for adults.

Overall stay was comfortable.

The Zyan Restaurant offer fresh fish, and authentic Bruneian dishes.

Room Tip: Book early and request for the room. The ones we've been are rooms 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Quite good for gateaway with your family. A simple resort but yet it accommodate with swimming pool and for those who love fishing should come and stay overnight. My favourite tomyam soup. MUST TRY!! there is a space for kids activity so that we can send off them to play as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erna_H308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

got a room with dusty bedsheets, broken lamp and leaky aircon! no one came to fix it! talked to the supervisor and we got moved to another room. All we got was an extended checkout time. I dont really think 2pm is an 'extended' check out time. Other hotels offer until 6pm! Oh and the food is cheap, but TERRIBLE! Probably thats why other hotels are better!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hairussaidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I've stayed here with some friends and I really liked it! But veryyy poor service cuz it they took like 3 house to bring extra pillows! I don't really recommend parents to bring small kids cuz there's lots of monkeys and they stole our food! Maybe they also can steal your kids! Cuz you know monkey loves kid (lol) about the swimming pool, the time I was there it was under reno so I can't review the swimming pool... I totally recommend to people who LOVES to relax and fish... It's a greatttt place to fish! For the cleanliness of the resort, I would say that it's ok.. Not as dirty as the other reviewers said.... AND GUESS WHAT? IM GOING WITH MY FRIENDS AGAIN NEXT MONTH!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GavinSone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Clean simple rooms with a wonderful river view! Don't forget to bring yr fishing rods while you're here cos there's plenty of fish to catch. For those who prefer eating then catching the in-house restaurant provides delicious meals at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a quaint set up designed to resemble water village houses and the design works well. This place is a budget or middling option and if you're getting prices comparable to luxury hotels then don't come here.

What recommends it is simple rooms (rather like being onboard a houseboat), a great restaurant attached and - of course - the view and experience of being on the river. It feels authentic and it's away from the centre of Bandar.

Stop off at the 5th Sultan's mausoleum on the way around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
11.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,055 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
373 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
192 reviews
5.0 mi away
Times Hotel
Times Hotel
#13 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
80 reviews
6.3 mi away
Venice Lodge
Venice Lodge
#5 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Paradise Resort

Address: Simpang 912 | Kampong Sungai Belukut, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: £55 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Paradise Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mangrove Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Paradise Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing