We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Highly Recommend! Affordable quality hotel at great location!””
Review of Kiulap Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiulap Plaza Hotel
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at KIULAP Plaza Hotel for 3 nights when we visited Brunei last Feb 2012. We were a group of 9 people on a budget pleasure trip.
Reviews :
Staff - friendly, everyone spoke English well, and very flexible, very helpful
Rooms - rooms were big and clean, bathroom was clean, beds really comfortable, had a flat screen tv
Amenities - free coffee and tea, bottled water replaced daily, and cable tv in room
Food - free buffet breakfast had a wide selection of Western and Malaysia cuisine, and it tasted good (our group was actually looking forward to breakfasts), and dining area was big and clean too
Location - as it is in a commercial area, almost anything you need is within walking distance, near a kfc, HSBC, other banks, grocery, coffee shops, dessert shops, etc.
Lobby was very unassuming because it's inside a small mall, but you'll be surprised when you go to the rooms.
Negatives - no swimming pool (didn't matter to us), tv stations limited in spite of cable (but i think it's a brunei thing), and no wifi but they have cable Internet connection.
Some tips: booking package tours is a must in Brunei as that's the only way to enjoy everything hassle-free, also, visit Empire Hotel.
Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are only good for two; you may request for extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheeryislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at KIULAP Plaza Hotel for 3 nights when we visited Brunei last Feb 2012. We were a group of 9 people on a budget pleasure trip.
Reviews :
Staff - friendly, everyone spoke English well, and very flexible, very helpful
Rooms - rooms were big and clean, bathroom was clean, beds really comfortable, had a flat screen tv
Amenities - free coffee and tea, bottled water replaced daily, and cable tv in room
Food - free buffet breakfast had a wide selection of Western and Malaysia cuisine, and it tasted good (our group was actually looking forward to breakfasts), and dining area was big and clean too
Location - as it is in a commercial area, almost anything you need is within walking distance, near a kfc, HSBC, other banks, grocery, coffee shops, dessert shops, etc.
Lobby was very unassuming because it's inside a small mall, but you'll be surprised when you go to the rooms.
Negatives - no swimming pool (didn't matter to us), tv stations limited in spite of cable (but i think it's a brunei thing), and no wifi but they have cable Internet connection.
Some tips: booking package tours is a must in Brunei as that's the only way to enjoy everything hassle-free, also, visit Empire Hotel.
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheeryislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed in Jan 2012, They need more rooms for single passengers that require or want to have at least a DBL bed in the room. I am a bigger guy and have not slept in a single bed since i was a teenager. I asked for at least a DBL bed and was advised "NO".

Room Tip: dont ask for a double bed ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

near the mall.good food.clean rooms.very accomodating staff.spacious room

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

An excellent business hotel located some 10 minutes from the airport and in the vibrant Kuilap shopping and restaurant district. Large and well furnished rooms with excellent room service. The junior suites offer particularly good value to the business traveller intending to work from their room and although this hotel has no restaurant the surrounding area has literally dozen of some of the best eateries in the city within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tourismplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Staying at the Kiulap is a bit like eating chicken, it could be anything (or anywhere). The rooms are relatively clean, though I've just noticed a stain on the wall by the bed that could be coffee or something else... The minibar is empty and the courtesy tray contains one satchet of coffee and one satchet of creamer - this is, in all but name, a no-frills hotel. However, the biggest downer for me is the staff. I've stayed at the Kiulap three time now and each time the Reception staff (there's always three but only one ever seems to work - no matter how busy they are) are sullen and snappy. They give the impression that they are doing the guests a favour by allowing them to stay in the hotel.

Perhaps the second thing that I find disconcerting is that, on check-in, one is given the TV remote and a USB cable. Either the Kiulap has an incredibly high incidence of guests stealing remotes and/or cables or they simply don't trust their guests...

Finally, DON'T ask the hotel to organise pick-up at the airport. The van they use isn't fit for transporting animals, the three young men that are sent to greet the guests seem to spend more time picking their noses and sharing jokes about the guests (they didn't realise I spoke Bahasa Malayu) and they drive the van as if they were three joy-riders.

The Kiulap would get my vote over the "Grand City Hotel" in terms of cleanliness and internet access - but I wouldn't choose either if there was anything with a modicum of customer service available...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bob-Kajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

A 15 minute ride from the hotel lies the Kiulap Plaza Hotel. Upon arrival was met with very friendly receptionist. Checking-in was rather quick and brisk. Do not expect someone to help carry your large baggage as manpower is rather thin.

Room was large enough to occupy 3 single beds and still have place for lounging.
The beds, carpets and cabinets were very clean. There were no stains nor were there signs of disuse. The toilet likewise was also very clean. There were the basic complimentary soap but i wouldn't recommend using the shampoo as i do believe it comes from a very cheap in-house brand.

The hotel is located opposite one of the large shopping marts (similar to Carrefour). As taxis are not common, you would have to get the receptionist to contact them to fetch you. Do note that taxis are rather expensive as they charge per head. It would be more advisable to rent a car.
It is also a 7-minute walking distance from Brunei's largest mosque. There are a variety of eateries that serve good food at quite a cheap price immediately around the hotel. There are a variety of shops within the hotel and is well worth walking around. The main city center is also about 15 minutes drive away.

It would be better off to have breakfast outside the hotel however, most of the shops open only at 9am. The hotel serves breakfast which is VERY plain and serves almost the same dish everyday and starts at 7am. Early breakfast (6.30am can be arranged at the receptionist.)

Liked the fact that the room is very clean and is made up EVERYDAY and the food and buying necessities are very near. Dislike the very simple, plain and monotonous breakfast as well as the relatively slow room service. Took at least 30 minutes to give us the TV remote and ironing board. There is no view as the windows overlook some grassy knoll and drains.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xavax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#13 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiulap Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiulap Plaza Hotel

Address: Simpang 88 | Kiulap Commercial Area, Bandar Seri Begawan BE1518, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: £41 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiulap Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiulap Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing