We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice near the airport in Brunei”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Times Hotel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good choice near the airport in Brunei”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were forced to have a stopover in Brunei due to flight connections and Royal Brunei Airlines included the night in the fare. This hotel was everything we wanted. Nice and clean and brand new - actually I don't even think anyone had even slept in the room we had! Meals were average but we didn't complain as this was free after all!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shazzbrizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
9
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Hotel is good.the food ok.
Free Transport from hotel to airport.free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariokams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

First xperience n xpectation FAILED. Mgmnt doesnt even know how to respect their customers.no point of made a booking earlier just a waste of time where they dont acknowledge u well. very bad service even the supervisor doesnt know how to overcome the situation. jz bcoz this hotel closest to my course office otherwise i dont bother f i knw this kind of treatment. not recommended at all.shud replaced the unethical mgmnt for better future or do some intensive training for these poorly skill staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Spent 1 night at Times Hotel Brunei. The airport transfer pick up did not turn up as arranged even though the hotel is just 5 mins away! Luckily our local friend spoke to the management and we got a refund for the taxi fare.
Used the swimming pool and was told we had to use the towel from the room and when we asked for fresh & clean towels afterwards, we were told by housekeeping that we would be charged for it but front of desk staff sorted it out.
The manager was supposedly in a meeting when we checked out, so we didn't get to chat with him.
They seriously need to get their act together. My next stay in Brunei WON'T be Times Hotel. I can guarantee that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wong-Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Times is brand new (opened in June I think) so all the rooms and facilities are in excellent condition. We stayed here overnight between our RBA flight from Singapore and our flight back to Melbourne. Its about a 5minute drive from the airport and the room rate included complimentary transfers to and from the airport.
We were lucky enough to take advantage of their opening specials and paid about $80 including breakfast – great value in Brunei! Not sure Id want to pay full price though. We slept well - the bed was very comfortable and there's nothing around the hotel to even make noise. We didnt have enough time for a swim but we did check out the pool. Looked good enough for a dip but there's no shade so I wouldnt recommend swimming in the hottest part of the day.The location is perfect for a transit stop - so close to the airport and co-located with a new shopping centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here for two nights because it located just next to the building where our business partner's office was. Also I wanted to try it out as this hotel is quite new. I was put at a room on level three. The room is spacious with a queen size bed. Pillows are hard though. But the worst is the faulty circuit breaker box in the closet. It kept tripping although I switched off all the lights in the room. First night I didn't know it was the circuit breaker problem, I thought it was the air-con and the water heater in the bath room that caused it. So I turned them off as well, but it didn't solve the problem. The breaker box just kept tripping with the noises every 15~20 minutes. However I was quite tired the first night so I just ignored the noise caused by these trippings. It happened in the second night again. I was woken up by the noises at about 3+ in the early morning. But this time I managed to switch off all the switches on the breaker box after a few trials and errors. Eventually the tripping stopped. The whole experience of staying here was not pleasant at all!!! I did inform the clerk at the counter when I checked out. Hope that they would get it fixed and will not cause other future guests to be suffered. One good thing was that the internet speed is quite ok. Perhaps it is due to the wi-fi access point just outside my room. My colleague said his wireless internet speed was terribly slow. One last thing, the ceiling-hanging shower did not work! But luckily the normal mixer shower is working fine. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel for business stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chioi1922_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunei
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

on staycation with family, hotel on soft opening with promotional rates. located within Times Shopping Centre, with Giant supermarket as anchor tenant, and a foodcourt offering a wide choice of menu. also other restaurants and fastfood outlets.

neighbouring properties under various stages of development, will be a fully-fledged commercial centre.

walking distance from airport, hotel has free shuttle service. airport taxi should charge only $2 if they want the business! ideal for those on stopovers and do not want to be stuck at the airport.

what is needed is a shuttle bus or light-rail service to airport, RBA Golf Club & Sports Complex, serusop, bandar and gadong.

hotel concierge should ideally be located at main entrance to Times Sq Shopping Centre to give a better first impression to guests upon arrival vs a parking lot main frontage!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zainin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
3.1 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Garden Hotel
Orchid Garden Hotel
#5 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
3.4 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hotel

Property: Times Hotel
Address: 2nd Floor, Times Square Shopping Centre | Simpang 13-29, Jalan Berakas, Kampong Jaya Setia Mukim Berakas 'A', Bandar Seri Begawan BS 2713, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing