We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Times Hotel
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel during South East Asian Fencing Federation (SEAFF) Jr & Cadet competition. We had a terrible experience. The adjoining room to my son & his team mate's was having a party and smoked in the room. The cigarette smoke came into my son's room through the adjoining door. Dispite repeated complains, the hotel did not take effective action. As a result, my son had to smoke in second hand smoke for the entire night, (the party apparently lasted to 4 am). When I confronted the hotel stuff the next day, there was no management response and the front desk personnel was clueless to handle the situation.

Also, the housekeeping of the hotel is very slow, the breakfast was terrible. Internet speed is unacceptable.

My conclusion, this hotel should be avoided at all cost.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasTKLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

Lots of noise, the rooms have no window to the outside (except for a few on one side of the hotel), because it is in a shopping centre there is always traffic outside and it takes a long time to get into the hotel. The lifts are shared with the shopping centre and the movie theatre on the fourth floor so they are always full. The breakfast is terrible with coloured water instead of juice, the coffee is impossible to drink. The noise from maintainace work and construction work is annoying. The swimming pool is impossible to use on weekends as they have special rates for locals. These are taken up by families with many kids that hog the pool. Also the pool area is a de facto smoking area for the hotel; they even have seats and ashtrays. Lastly......there is no Wi-Fi...........no matter what you try and do, there isn't any most of the time.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room with a window to the outside world. Not one facing the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

The service rendered was good. The staff were able to meet our expectations. The chicken rice and sphagetti were tasty - better than SG. Would take this hotel again for my next visit. But must get a room with a wifi router outside yr room, else weak or no wifi signal.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasontancheeleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhaj2012, G.R at Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

1. Went for business trip only ...
2. Free WIFI ( make sure your wifi router outside your room ) everywhere.
3. Rather convenience and various food court under the hotel and surrounding ( you can go
directly using lift ) - such as The Coffee Bean , Sugar Bun , Nasi Lemak Antabangsa Brunei
version also have , Escapade Sushi , Food Court (
budget ) , Mamak Stall and plenty more...the taste just OK ..
4. Room spacious , bed a bit hard, lining average clean ,
5. Cable TV few channel only ( not important to me ) -
6. Poor view from window - facing stadium and aircond inlet..nevermind
7. Rate - i don't care because my company paid for it ..haha

Overall good for business tripper

Room Tip: My room is 301 and wifi router just infront of my door - that's the best part - Quite fast thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank el_brei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel has several "attractions": it is near to the airport; it has a shopping mall and full service supermarket located on the ground and first floors; and it provides a free shuttle service to the airport.
However, when I stayed there recently, I experienced the following: very poor wi-fi service; no in-room telephone service; the majority of the channels on the TV had "no signal"; and there was noisy construction work being undertaken from 6.30am each day, including Sunday. The staff were not well-trained, but otherwise they were agreeable. Free breakfast was basic. Rooms were not spacious, and the outlook was gloomy to say the least.
Not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the outside, rather than the inner courtyard would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldfairdealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hotel is quite new and staff friendly. Rooms are spacious. Facilities are quite decent including a 10 metres swimming pool. A shopping mall is downstairs with a supermarket and restaurants etc. Wifi is free and generally good although some rooms cannot get good access so you better check that first. Breakfast is decent although limited. The egg station is good.

Room Tip: Make sure the wifi router is near your room for good internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank realfatfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

this is the perfect hotel.nearby airport. the staff was so great..me and my wife love to eat their breakfast. talk about breakfast there is 1 waiter who serve me like the best waiter i have ever seen. me and my wife was so happy live there. the price quite nice and have shopping complex. affordable price n good service. very thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsapdjejehejejejdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
3.5 mi away
Venice Lodge
Venice Lodge
#5 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
15 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
375 reviews
3.5 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,182 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
292 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hotel

Address: 2nd Floor, Times Square Shopping Centre | Simpang 13-29, Jalan Berakas, Kampong Jaya Setia Mukim Berakas 'A', Bandar Seri Begawan BS 2713, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: £39 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing