We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer service”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Huge emphasis on customer service, staff went to any length to make sure we were happy. They actually overcharged us for one night accommodation, I hadn't noticed, however the clerk chased me down the road to inform me that they needed me to come back to give a refund.

The hotel is modern and well located. When comparing this hotel to the alternatives, I highly reccommend you stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

I booked it because it was already No 1 on TripAdvisor and was agreeably surprised. The hotel is small(ish), but elegantly decorated, and is located within a walk of the mosques and museums in Bandar Seri B, and the waterfront. Breakfast was copious (local and western options) and very tasty. Being Ramadan, the Choices restaurant was closed until after sunset, and breakfast was served in a function room. Service was extremely friendly and welcoming (on the second morning, arriving at 10.25 (for 10.30!) a waiter happily went away and got me a full breakfast). The reception staff were smiling and helpful, printing boarding passes, advising on places to visit and in organising transportation. My only gripe (a very minor one, which will affect few people) is that being a non-smoking hotel, the only smoking area is a rather barren courtyard. I don't mind being exiled there, but a few plants and a little parasol would make it feel more inviting and less like purgatory :)

The rooms are spacious (though, given that even on holiday I spend a couple of hours a day translating, I found the desk area a little cramped); the beds are comfortable and the bathroom (walk-in shower, but no bath) modern and stylish. Being Brunei, the mini-bar has only soft drinks - but they're free!

A good place from which to explore

Room Tip: Rooms from the upper floor (3) have nice views over the canal and the local market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terribleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just finishing our 3 day stay in Brunei, sitting in the air-conditioned lobby of this smart hotel. We booked this place for location and price and are not disappointed. I think you could get no better for location as it is right next to the river, water village etc.
The rooms are not big but well appointed, modern and featuring an industrial strength air con. The only issue would be the bed which is as hard as wood, I think sleeping on the floor would make no difference.
Reception and all other staff are very nice and helpful. Free wifi that actually works.
Breakfast is not fantastic but good enough to pass at 3 stars. Coffee is great and that is a massive plus.
If you want to eat somewhere try Kaizen Sushi Restaurant on the seafront 5 min away. Best sushi at excellent prices.
We paid $20 for a boat ride to see the proboscis and water village but I am sure you can try and get a better deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very comfortable and the service is excellent..
Hopefully, to give good discount for retuned guess..
The staff here are very friendly..
House keeping aunty very good.. Provide us what ever items we need..
When we enter the hotel, the friendly staff will help us to open the door and smile and greet us very friendly and make us feel very welcome..

Room Tip: Prefer a bigger room,without aircon facing the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Just a stellar place to stay. Right in the heart of BSB with the waterfront just steps away. Great breakfast, nice rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to friends and family.

A touch pricey, but great value!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Location is superb! It is just right in the center, walking distance to almost all attractions in the city.
The breakfast is good. The room is great with comfy bed. We stayed at room 210, with the window facing the other building, just have to close the window all the time (especially when I saw a man, staring into our room).

In Brunei, it seems that electricity is cheap... the hallways and the toilet in the lobby have max Air Conditioning, which is not necessary. I would love to have some of Brunei's Arts and Crafts at least in their lobby, reception area...

Room Tip: Choose the room with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecheflan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hotel location is excellent - walking distance of all main attractions. Rooms are modern and clean. Staff extremely courteous and helpful. Cafe/ restaurant offers a good selection of dishes both In the evening and at breakfast. Hotel also offers free transfer to shopping mall. Represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LitzlbergLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
301 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing