We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable stay”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Sep'13 (superior triple room). Hotel established in 1957 but recently refurbished. Room size was just adequate. Modern decor but very basic (akin to Tune Hotel). Clean. Breakfast spread was just OK (could have been better). Staff service was generally good. The best reason to stay here is its location; within the old business district of BSB, across a local market, near to waterfront where boats were readily available to go to Kampung Ayer, close to Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, Royal Regalia Museum and Yayasan Mall. Hotel provides free shuttle service to The Mall (biggest mall in BSB, about 9km away). The bus station is just at the back of the hotel (take a ride to anywhere for only B$1.00). Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasmil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    183
    42
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
99
68
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this boutique hotel! The location is great, just across from the colorful local market and the waterfront where you can get a water taxi to go to the water village or even farther away to see the proboscis monkeys, a few minutes walk to one of the beautiful mosques, and you can also walk to a shopping center and the museum (if you like walking). The hotel also provides a free shuttle twice a day to the main shopping area. The rooms are newly renovated and very well maintained, very clean! I enjoyed the simple breakfast buffet, where you can order an omelette or sunny side up to go with the other offerings for the day. The staff was excellent, very warm, helpful and friendly. I would stay here again if ever I visit Brunei again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river and I enjoyed the view of the colorful local market and the water tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggyapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Brunei has only a few hotels. So be prepared to walk far from main attractions if you do not book early. This hotel is close to kampong air and royal museum. The water tour to see the probiscus monkey was simply fab! Just walk to water front ( 5 minutes walk) and wait for someone to ask you if you want to take the boat. We paid 50 BD for 2 hours trip which was definitely worth it. I do think this hotel is really overprice for the service given..breakfast is almost nonedible. There is morning market in front of the hotel where we manage to grab some delicious local delicacies. The hotel room décor is nice but very small for deluxe room. But then Brunei is an expensive place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisha6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Kudos to Andy, the GM, who has largely motivated his whole team to discharge an absolutely 5-class service for a 60-room boutique hotel in the heart of Bandar Seri Begawan. I stayed a week and my time there was worth to boast to anyone, tourist or businessman, who loves excellently warm hotel hospitality. Of course, Brunei Hotel could improve on their breakfast fare; bring it a rung higher but charge a bit higher to be fair to all! That's it in a nut shell, well done, and as people used to say, our working team is as good or as bad as its leader, but in this case, The Brunei Hotel team has ticked and it really rocks! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Spent there 5 nights whilst on trip to Borneo.
Overall very positive experience - no hesitation to recommend this hotel.

Pros:
- perfect location very near to the river bank an local market
- smaller but VERY clean rooms
- nice bathroom with shower box and all basic amenities
- silent and efficient air-condition in the room (little freeze in the corridors)
- free minibar (Pepsi, Sprite, some sweets and crackers)
- newspaper
- free WiFi
- excellent staff

Cons:
- limited spread of continental breakfast
- not well soundproofed windows

Definitely would come back if again in Brunei.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnjoyAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a 24hour stop over en route to London. MOST WORTHWHILE. Hotel was supurbly located opposite the outdoor markets and very close to the water. WE had a triple room and allowed day use. Hotel arranged a water tour down the estuary to see the colourful probiscus monkeys and to be guided through the extensive water village. It was a friday in Ramadan so no food or services were available from 12 - 2 pm. We took this opportunity to shower, rest and repack. Same guide returned at 2pm for a drive around the city sights - mosque, Sultans palace, Sultans Polo Ponies and a beautiful luxury hotel whose name I have forgotten before delivering us to the airport for our continued flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
484 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Huge emphasis on customer service, staff went to any length to make sure we were happy. They actually overcharged us for one night accommodation, I hadn't noticed, however the clerk chased me down the road to inform me that they needed me to come back to give a refund.

The hotel is modern and well located. When comparing this hotel to the alternatives, I highly reccommend you stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Property: The Brunei Hotel
Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing