We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The obvious choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The obvious choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Brunei Hotel is located in the heart of Bandar Seri Begawan (BSB) although it hardly looks like a city center cos BSB is very quiet. Only 5-10 mins walk from very beautiful Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque, almost a door step away to bus terminal and lively morning market where you can also catch a water taxi to Kampong Ayer, or water village.

Hotel is quite decent (much better than typical 3 star hotels) and I have no complaints at all. Buffet breakfast is 3 star quality and somewhat lacks variety. Having said that, the same restaurant offers more menus for dinner, which can be a good dinner option as there are not too many restaurants found in the city.

Already staying twice at Brunei Hotel, I will not look beyond it when re-visiting BSB. Closely located to Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque is all that matter to me as I love to photograph the beautiful mosque.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    180
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
49
98
66
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference here in Brunei. Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 18th to 22nd. This boutique themed hotel has all the amenities one might need in a hotel. The room is clean, nicely decorated, bathroom very well maintained, the coffee house provides good breakfast ( well, at least enough for me ). It is just a walking distance to lots of restaurants that serve indian and local food, major banks and Kampung Ayer jetty. There's a bistro that opens 24hrs just 100 meters away and they serve nice western food and not forgetting the famous 'tamu kianggeh' wet market next to the hotel. The hotel's located in the more quiet area of the city, walk for 3-4 hours and you'll cover most of this city. If I were to visit Brunei, this will be the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank raizmukhliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here 1 night on my way through as we had a long stop (20 hrs) between flights. The room was lovely, VERY clean and the bed was very comfortable and good quality sheets and bedding.
We got a late check out but our flight wasn't until the evening. The hotel held our bags for us after we checked out so we could go and do some quick sight seeing without carting our stuff everywhere.
Recommended to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Did not reserve a large bed for me despite making the request on agoda at least 4 weeks before and checking in early at 3 pm. So disappointing. Room was so so only and the hotel is so old fashion. Internet access requires a password for each device although they provide it for free. Breakfast was simple as what you would expect from a 2.5 to 3 star hotel. Would not recommend to stay unless you are looking for a hotel in the middle of town. The whole hotel including its corridors are air-conditioned from different split units. Hated that part when you request for another key card you have to sign on a piece of paper for it and when you check out, they checked for 2 key cards in front of you as if you are a thief and would want to steal their blank old key cards.

Room Tip: just stay way from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danieltankeemok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had to spend a night in Bandar Seri Begawan the capital of Brunei because of flight connections.
We stayed at the Brunei Hotel in the centre of town. Looked recently renovated. Lovely clean and spacious modern room. Great service. Can't understand why you'd stay elsewhere less convenient to the city.
We took a night tour organised via Royal Brunei Airlines (but as we discovered, the hotel could have arranged this) and can recommend this, as it included a boat trip around the water village area, the giant Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, etc.
We also visited the local night food-market and this was another highlight on this tour. If you are staying here and want to try local food of a high standard that is predominantly BBQ'd this is for you. Great place to meet the locals and sample their foods.
The tour ended with dinner at the Port View Seafood Restaurant overlooking the central port. Fabulous food. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: This hotel was spotless and modern. Situated centrally and competitively priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Many of the hotels in Brunei have seen better days, and so its revamp awhile back has done The Brunei Hotel some good. Rooms are more modern, bathrooms are new and clean, and free wi-fi all around. Walls are a little thin so you can hear the people in the corridor coming and going. Staff and service are great. Good location too, near most of the major banks in Brunei. I've stayed here 3 times and it's definitely my choice when I visit now. No pool though - please look at building one!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fannison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I always use this hotel for business.

(Possible Discomforts)
1) Dated facilities (but should be ok considering the hotel rate)
2) Away from government buildings and thus you need to hire a taxi when visiting your major clients.

(Comforts)
1) Walking distance to the big shopping mall + local restaurants. I liked the Italian restaurant in the mall.
2) Small Breakfast buffet has "french toast + maple syrup" which can be a life-saver after nights of local meals.
3) Walking distance to the ocean (or river?) which can be relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Property: The Brunei Hotel
Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing