We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined my time in Brunei” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of K.H. Soon Resthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
K.H. Soon Resthouse
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ruined my time in Brunei”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. It was appalling. I wanted to stay in Pusat Belia, but yeah, as mentioned on Trip Advisor, it is closed until Dec 2013. This place was the second cheapest place in Brunei, but jesus, if you're only here for a night or two, then GO ELSEWHERE!! It is SO OVERPRICED. Horrible. There is no common area, so it is hard to meet other people (that is if there is other people, there didn't seem to be that many staying when I was there).

And be careful of the Manager, Danny. He is a complete tool. Avoid him at all costs, he will rip you off to all hell. He is a terrible person, but he will come across lovely and friendly (as all con artists in Asia), whatever you do DO NOT go on his tours or let him take you to book any other tours.

Apart from that, the hostel staff were average, the rooms were extremely basic, the shower and bathrooms were average and there are no lockers to store any valuables. And although it says 24 hours, they shut the gate around 12 or so, which is fine, unless the staff member on duty is asleep and won't wake up to the (annoyingly loud) sound of the gates bell. The countryside in Brunei (Rainforest) is gorgeous and the country is gorgeous, but this hostel is appalling and it completely ruined my stay.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharklovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    28
    27
    15
See reviews for
1
28
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for one night which is all we would want to. We stayed in the dorm, which was the same size as the privates (all massive) but had 5 single beds in it. Cost was $18 Brunei Dollars each. We had A/C which worked well enough to cool us. One of the fans didn't have blades in it, lol. One shower has hot water, ALL toilets are squatters and are not the cleanest. Some bathrooms have mirrors, others don't. It is a bit creepy seeing some of the private rooms having the remnants of an iron gate to presumably lock people inside?
I would only stay here for 1 night if you are really needing to keep your costs low, otherwise, pay more and stay elsewhere.
On the plus side, it is a great location, 2 blocks to the bus station, across the street from the day market, 10 minute walk to the mosque and 15 to the Regalia museum.

Room Tip: Dorm room has 5 beds, private rooms have two beds in a huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrannosaurus_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

There is a lot of bad press about this place and to be honest I think it is unfounded. Yes it is very expensive for what you can get for the same money elsewhere in SE Asia ($18 BND for a dorm bed) but you're not elsewhere, you're in Brunei and it is an expensive place. Compared to the other places on offer it is very reasonably priced and for your money you get clean bathrooms comfortable beds and air conditioning. It's not great for a long term stay but for a couple of nights it definitely does the job and the staff are also nice and helpful. Genuinely no real complaints. This place is just fine!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I went to Brunei out of curiosity on my way to Kota Kinabalu and spent 2nights at KH Soon, 35 brunei dols a night for a room with 2 beds. At first i had a good impression and was welcome by probably the only nice guy out there, but here's what happened: i got bed bugs in the first bed i used, very itchy and numerous bites that finally woke me up...the day after i tell the staff and the boss who gave a very small discount and promised to put some anti bug spray. When i came back, there was indeed a strange smell in the room, but that's all! Instead of cleaning/changing the bed sheets, they just mixed the linen between the two beds, so i finally found well alive bed bugs in the second bed as well (which was bugless before)!! The staff did not care much anyway. At last they did not say a word about the 18$ bunk beds that are available and only offered the private and more expensive room i used. There's no breakfast nor wifi either with the price we pay. Only good thing is the central location, but all the hotels/hostels are actually centrally located.
I'm used to very basic accommodation after 6month in south east asia, but my advice is to pay a bit more and stay in a better place in Brunei. Most people dont stay long, so investing in a better hotel for only 1 or 2 nights wont kill ur budget but allow u to have a more enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriqk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

BND 35.00/night for a lousy room. You don't get your own bath room. I didn't have a choice because there wasn't much choice of budget accommodation in Bandar Seri Begawan. The good thing about this place is located in the center area of Bandar. You just can walk to every where nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumiqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanjung Balai, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

i stayed on 6 Sept 2013 for 1 night. the hostel with dormitory room, each room have 5 bed, the price is so expensive for backpacker. the bathroom was shared. minus they don't have WiFi. located in center of city, near bus terminal,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bepbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We knew this place would be bad after reading the reviews...but there really is`nt much choice in the way of budget accomodation in Bandar Seri Begawan. There is only one other hostel, and that is currently closed. This is the only one in the centre. The only good thing about this place is the location. Then for the bad....

- The people in the reception are quite unfriendly and really don`t talk to you(or even look at you) unless you make an effort to get their attention. They don`t say hello, or seem to want you there at all. The only welcome you will get at this place is a horrible electronic sensor that says ;"welcome" every time you enter. It is just annoying.

- The bathrooms arte nasty. All of them are just holes in the floor. The walls are covered with green goo. I did`nt even want to breathe in there, probably lots of fungal spores in the air.

- The atmosphere is horrendous. PRevious hospital, and will give you the proper hospital feeling. Some said it feels like a horror movie, that is also a good description. There does not seem to be any common room.

- There is no Wifi. At the extorsionate rates they charge wifi is not a lot to ask for. If it was 5$ no internet would be fine.

- There is a saying "no expences spared"...this places is "all expences spared".

- 40$ is the most I ever paid for such a bad room. It is really a hostel that should be around 5$. At 5 $ all the previous complaints would be acceptable.

I hope there will be some options for the budget travellers of Brunei soon...but for now, this is it..
-

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.6 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#12 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#16 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K.H. Soon Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K.H. Soon Resthouse

Property: K.H. Soon Resthouse
Address: Kiau Lian Building | 140 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
k.h. Soon Resthouse Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing