We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and cheap place”
Review of KHS Resthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KHS Resthouse
Reviewed 10 January 2014

(german below)
to be honest, as we arrived at the hotel i thought its not the best place. but it was the far the cheapest place to stay, so we stayed. and finally it was good. its simple but clean. we stayed at a dorm room (gender seperated) with a fan and an ac. the staff was really friendly and helpful. well the bathrooms have squat toilets but they are clean and it has warm watter. so you dont have to expect alot but its for sure the best place to stay for the money.

als wir im hotel angekommen sind, dachten wir, naja nicht das beste. aber es blieb uns nichts anders übrig, denn es war mit abstand das günstigste hotel in ganz brunei. also blieben wir. und eigentlich war es ganz gut. klar es ist nicht grad extrem gemütlich, es ist sehr einfach aber es ist sauber. die geschlechter sind geteilt in 2 grosse schlafräume (man kann auch doppelzimmer haben). es hat Ventilator und Klimaanlage. Die betten sind ebenfalls bequem und werden alle paar tage neu bezogen. und das personal war sehr hilfsbereit und liebenswürdig. wir konnten von ihrem telefon gratis unsere visa arrangieren. die badezimmer bestehen aus plumpsklos, aber es hat warmes wasser und ist sauber. also man sollte nicht zu hohe ansprüche haben, aber es ist bestimmt das beste preisleistungs verhältnis in brunei.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nordlichtchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Paid 18B$ for an overnight stay on their dormitory. The chepeast around town. The beds are comfortable and no mosquitoes - which is great. The room for five has one single power outlet to charge up all our gadgets. Good thing we had power cord extensions and multiple outlet adapters to charge up all our gadgets. The frontdesk guy is very friendly and they will give you free one cold bottle of water upon paying the room. The dormitory is spacious and clean. This place has a funny aroma of minty and something else. And their comfort room - is not comfortable. It looks like one of those Korean Horror Movies and the above (maybe it is also a bathroom) leaks down to one of the Comfor Rooms and the highligh - they don't have toilet bowls, you have to squat which is difficult to concentrate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed one night in the dormitory room and the price is $18 per person. For this price in Brunei, of course I don't expect anything special. But if they can provide a free wifi, it would be better.

The sharing toilet is clean, water pressure is good, hot shower is working fine and the staff also quite friendly. So I don't have any complaint for this rest house.

Room Tip: $18 for dormitory, $35 for private room with sharing toilet, $40 for private room with attached bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serjchalkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Good location, very strategic, near to everywhere at brunei. nothing compares price than other resthouse except yputh hostel which closed until 2014. a good choice for travel by water park from kianggeh, just 1 blok for travel by 1 brunei dollar bus. near yayasan mal, mamak deliciuous food, just 1 blok from masjid omar.

Room Tip: front of toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachmadF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We only had one night in BSB and would not stay another night if given the chance. Positives are - very cheap $40 double room w/o bathroom, close to bus station and attractions, large rooms. Negatives - dirty sheets, dirty toilets, staff hardly speak English, no wifi (but can get from coffee shop across the road), didn't cater for European toilet style, only cash on arrival, no response to emails before arrival, up flights of stairs, very basic rooms with dirty walls and floors, no common area, very thin foam pillows

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We planed to stay at Pusat Belia, but found it closed to travelers till the end of 2013. So we checked other choices including Terrace Hotel and K.H. Soon and decided K.H Soon because it's relatively cheap(twin room $45/night with bathroom&AC) as well as closed to the city bus terminal. Everything worked well except a mild leakage from the bathroom(a step higher than the room's floor), which made the room floor all wet.
It's 2 minute's walk to the bus terminal, which is quite convenient for individual backpacker. Meanwhile Saifuddien Mosque,water village pier, Brunei Museum, Yayasan Complex are all within walking distance.
This resthouse is on the 3rd floor of a building beside Brunei Hotel. It's not easy to find for first time comers. Just take a $1/pax private car taxi ride to reach it if you are around.

Room Tip: Air conditioner can be a source of noise, check whether it's within your tolerance before decidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qing0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. It was appalling. I wanted to stay in Pusat Belia, but yeah, as mentioned on Trip Advisor, it is closed until Dec 2013. This place was the second cheapest place in Brunei, but jesus, if you're only here for a night or two, then GO ELSEWHERE!! It is SO OVERPRICED. Horrible. There is no common area, so it is hard to meet other people (that is if there is other people, there didn't seem to be that many staying when I was there).

And be careful of the Manager, Danny. He is a complete tool. Avoid him at all costs, he will rip you off to all hell. He is a terrible person, but he will come across lovely and friendly (as all con artists in Asia), whatever you do DO NOT go on his tours or let him take you to book any other tours.

Apart from that, the hostel staff were average, the rooms were extremely basic, the shower and bathrooms were average and there are no lockers to store any valuables. And although it says 24 hours, they shut the gate around 12 or so, which is fine, unless the staff member on duty is asleep and won't wake up to the (annoyingly loud) sound of the gates bell. The countryside in Brunei (Rainforest) is gorgeous and the country is gorgeous, but this hostel is appalling and it completely ruined my stay.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharklovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.2 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
288 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#17 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
373 reviews
3.1 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#10 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KHS Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KHS Resthouse

Address: Kiau Lian Building | 140 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: £11 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
k.h. Soon Resthouse Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing