We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only good thing about the place is the location”
Review of KHS Resthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KHS Resthouse
Reviewed 3 March 2014

good place to stay over night but not more , the cheapest budget in the city about 40$ for a room or 18$ for abed in dorms , relay central walking distance to every inserting areas. No Wifi but u can find in Cafes in the street. the rooms are clean the bathrooms&toilet are terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dotan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Probably the cheapest accommodation in Bandar Seri Begawan, it is also located in the very city center. Rooms are clean and neat, the place has hot water and wi fi, what more do you need? The stuff is helpful with information about transportation and so on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SvitlanaTuchynska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location and good price. There's a travel agency in the building and it's very helpful cause the owner is not. The rest of the staff is friendly. Not the cleaness place that I saw but it was ok. Good Wifi reception in the room. Breakfast not included.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Hfrigault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Great location and ok price make this hotel just about acceptable

Price has gone up but not shown on their web site now 50bnd for double room

Would have been nice to have had a toilet seat and light in the bathroom. Place basically clean

Highly recommend afternoon tea (we shared one) at the Empire hotel and country club. Ludicrous place but very impressive

Got there by bus 1bhd, came back by taxi 25 bhd

Take your swimming gear, we used their private beach

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony&marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

(german below)
to be honest, as we arrived at the hotel i thought its not the best place. but it was the far the cheapest place to stay, so we stayed. and finally it was good. its simple but clean. we stayed at a dorm room (gender seperated) with a fan and an ac. the staff was really friendly and helpful. well the bathrooms have squat toilets but they are clean and it has warm watter. so you dont have to expect alot but its for sure the best place to stay for the money.

als wir im hotel angekommen sind, dachten wir, naja nicht das beste. aber es blieb uns nichts anders übrig, denn es war mit abstand das günstigste hotel in ganz brunei. also blieben wir. und eigentlich war es ganz gut. klar es ist nicht grad extrem gemütlich, es ist sehr einfach aber es ist sauber. die geschlechter sind geteilt in 2 grosse schlafräume (man kann auch doppelzimmer haben). es hat Ventilator und Klimaanlage. Die betten sind ebenfalls bequem und werden alle paar tage neu bezogen. und das personal war sehr hilfsbereit und liebenswürdig. wir konnten von ihrem telefon gratis unsere visa arrangieren. die badezimmer bestehen aus plumpsklos, aber es hat warmes wasser und ist sauber. also man sollte nicht zu hohe ansprüche haben, aber es ist bestimmt das beste preisleistungs verhältnis in brunei.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nordlichtchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Paid 18B$ for an overnight stay on their dormitory. The chepeast around town. The beds are comfortable and no mosquitoes - which is great. The room for five has one single power outlet to charge up all our gadgets. Good thing we had power cord extensions and multiple outlet adapters to charge up all our gadgets. The frontdesk guy is very friendly and they will give you free one cold bottle of water upon paying the room. The dormitory is spacious and clean. This place has a funny aroma of minty and something else. And their comfort room - is not comfortable. It looks like one of those Korean Horror Movies and the above (maybe it is also a bathroom) leaks down to one of the Comfor Rooms and the highligh - they don't have toilet bowls, you have to squat which is difficult to concentrate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed one night in the dormitory room and the price is $18 per person. For this price in Brunei, of course I don't expect anything special. But if they can provide a free wifi, it would be better.

The sharing toilet is clean, water pressure is good, hot shower is working fine and the staff also quite friendly. So I don't have any complaint for this rest house.

Room Tip: $18 for dormitory, $35 for private room with sharing toilet, $40 for private room with attached bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serjchalkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.2 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
220 reviews
0 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#16 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#17 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KHS Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KHS Resthouse

Address: Kiau Lian Building | 140 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: £11 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
k.h. Soon Resthouse Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing