We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, reasonable price in an expensive city”
Review of Jubilee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jubilee Hotel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, reasonable price in an expensive city”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel is convenient for walking around the city center and visiting a marketplace, floating villages, and some other interesting sights. It's reasonably priced for the city; other places I considered were farther away from the city center, including the bus stand for buses to Miri, Malaysia. The room price includes breakfast and a free 45-minute introductory city tour by van.
The room was clean and comfortable and I ended up staying more than a week, but the wi fi was erratic.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They can arrange taxis to the distant main shopping plaza (which is next to a good night food market), but taxis are costly, because there are so few of them. I used local buses as well, but they aren't as frequent or convenient, especially at night.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    90
    72
    13
    9
See reviews for
25
55
69
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bacoor, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Located in the city center of BSB, the museum, the mosque, and bus station are all within walking distance. Not a lot of people walk around though, as everyone seem to have their own cars.

Hotel has that old, charming feel to it. Staff at the reception and the restaurant were nice and friendly. Room was spacious, cable TV was limited - only one English channel. The free breakfast served at the restaurant barely had taste. Best feature has to be the free shuttle to the airport.

Considering the high prices of staying in a city like BSB, this hotel does the job.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel does not offer fancy stuff, the rooms are not very large and the view from the window is not great. But you don’t have to pay for that either.

What this hotel does offer instead:
-A very high level of service
-A supermarket attached, open till late
-Free pick-up from the airport
-Free drop-off to the airport
-Wifi
-Early check-in without extra cost
-A location on (a short) walking distance from the center the city
-Quite and clean rooms
-Good working air-conditioning

Because we left the early in the morning for a tour we did get our breakfast as a packet. This breakfast was better than the one we did get the next day, the only minus of this hotel.

The price for the room was B$85 (53euro) en-suite a night. We did make a reservation by mail without down payment . GPS: 4.891324 / 114.94534

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

If you're looking for good, impeccably clean, and reasonably priced accommodation in BSB, then look no further than Jubilee hotel.

Okay, the hotel rooms haven't been renovated for some years and the furnishings may have seen better days, but for the price ($85 Brunei) it's the best value in the city. The staff are amazingly friendly, they really cannot do enough to help, a good sized breakfast is included in the rate, as are free airport transfers and a welcome city tour which was brilliant. There is a small restaurant in the hotel along with a handy convenience shop.

Ignore the reviews that suggest the Jubilee is on an industrial estate outside of the centre. BSB is pocket sized and it's only a 5 minute stroll to the Brunei river and floating villages or the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin mosque.

We can highly recommend taking a boat out for an hour ($30), but ask to split the time between the floating villages and taking a trip down river to see the proboscis monkeys, truly amazing to see an endangered species in the wild. Good value food can be found at the eateries on the water front ( turn left out the hotel, after 100m at the main road turn left, carry on to the river), where you can watch the sun set over the river and fill your belly for just a few Brunei dollars.

Although the Jubilee isn't the most luxurious of hotels, the staff bend over backwards to make you feel special and that is worth much more than a lick of paint. A very worthwhile visit for a couple of nights whilst in Borneo.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

As others have said, this place is in need of an update. Furniture is beat up and comforter has cigarette holes. The location is great; you can walk to many sights easily (if you can handle the heat). Staff was incredibly helpful. There was a promotion during our stay for free airport transport, free city tour, and check out at 1pm. Free breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you're a backpacker on a budget and you can get a really good deal, go for it. Otherwise, stay away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieinAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This hotel is quite small and a little old. The room was very clean and the bathroom was also very clean, however, everything is quite old-looking. I think this is a good place for someone who really wants to experience a real south-east asian hotel, rather than stay in somewhere more western. Our room had a view of a field and a small forest. We could see local houses (with corrugated iron roofs and lots of coconut and banana trees). In the morning, we were woken up by the roosters calling in the morning - which is just beautiful. The service here is also great and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast was also quite delicious. This hotel has free shuttle bus service to the airport which was extremely useful. One thing here, though: you're not allowed to cook in their rooms, so there's not even a kettle in there to boil water. But there's a little convenient store in the hotel which sells bottled water, and the hotel staff are happy to boil some water for you if you need to make some instant noodles!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.2 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jubilee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jubilee Hotel

Property: Jubilee Hotel
Address: Jubilee Plaza | Jalan Kampung Kianggeh, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8111, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jubilee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jubilee Hotel is a budget commercial hotel located in the city centre and central business district. It is also walking distance away to some of the most exhilarating tourist attraction in Brunei. We are offering the cheapest rates in the heart of the city, Bandar Seri Begawan. All our room rates are inclusive of complimentary breakfast, airport-hotel-airport transfer, early check-in time at 6am and extended check-out time till 4pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jubilee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jubilee Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing