We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel in Bandar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rizqun International Hotel
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top hotel in Bandar”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have just had a three night stay at this hotel and I have to say we were quiet impressed.
I will start by saying that it is not a 5* hotel, we would say a 4*plus by aisa standards.
We stayed on the seventh four which entitled us to a few extra’s including the full use of the premier lounge which turned out to be a real bonus. Breakfast was in this room, plenty of choice, eggs cooked to your taste, all very nice. Free tea and coffee all day but best was the afternoon tea’s from 5 till 7, wonderfully little cakes, big prawns in a fish sauce, a bit of rice, noodles a great way to round of a day before the evening begins.
Onto the rooms, we stayed in 714, very clean, plenty of room although the bathroom was not quite as big as expected. Big flat sceen TV with lots of programmes, fruit bowl and sweets on arrival. Internet access was free on this floor which we did use regularly(not wifi though) and a free newspaper each day.
Service from the staff throughout the hotel was first class
Carpets could do with a good clean though, room service and cleaning each day very good.
The only real fault we could pick with the hotel was the swimming pool, there were no towels to use for the whole of our stay despite several requests, no sun shades of any type which you really do need as the sun was fierce through the day and pool cleaning took place at mid day. Also no food or drink available around the pool. May be minor faults to some but as we wanted three days to relax after a fun packed three weeks in Aus we did feel disappointed.
The hotel was in the Gadong section of Bandar, plenty of shopping and lots of food outlets, but a little out of the main town centre, and easy taxi ride away though.
Brunei is going to be a major Asian attraction if they ever get their act together and I think the same could be said of this hotel, without doubt the best in Bandar right now but will need to step up a gear to attract the big spenders.

Room Tip: Book the 7th floor, with all the extra's well worth the money if its within your price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    83
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
21
24
11
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. Its the only hotel I have stayed in during my visits to Brunei. Reason why? Its attached to the only shopping mall in Brunei.

Excellent location.

The breakfast has improved since my last stay with more choices. The bedrooms are very spacious and clean. However, no wifi in the hotel, instead must get a small blue internet cable that must be plugged into the desk and to your laptop which does not allow you to lie on the huge bed with your laptop.

Staff are friendly enough and the aircon is very cold.

Room Tip: Always ask for a big bed......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel is located in the Shopping Mall itself. It is located in the commercial area of Brunei.

Cinema, shops and the good thing the night food market is just a few minutes walk from the Hotel. You can save a lot of money on food as well. You can get delicious food cheaply. Buses are available for your travel to the city center where you can have a day exploring the Water Village and the Grand Mosque. If you like to take pictures pls do explore the unique city center which is a mix of modern and old Brunei.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdleyBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Went to Brunei on business and the Rizqun was the recommended hotel by our local contacts. I was impressed by the room size and overall service at the hotel. Check-in and out was a little slow, though very personalized.

The location adjacent to the shopping mall and outdoor market was convenient, but traffic can be a concern at times. Flexible approaches to timings are required. There are plenty of dining options within walking distance, but the hotel is quite a distance from downtown. That said, a taxi only costs approx Brunei$10 each way.

Contrary to some other reviews, I found the breakfast buffet to be perfectly adequate. The hotel has to cater to many cultural needs, so bear that in mind if you go.

Brunei is a small place without too many choices for good hotels. The Rizqun is a good quality option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Impressive. i got the Deluxe room and it was huge! I was greeted with complimentary beverage and a platter when I checked in. There's so much room space and very good facilities. The bed was comfortable to sleep and the tubs are long and wide, good for a nice warm soak. Fast internet speed available for those who are on a business trip like me.

Service was good, but the breakfast buffet has limited variety.

Room Tip: Not for those on a budget trip as it could be quite pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for an overnight trip. Although furnishing is slightly old, the rooms are clean. Hotel is connected to a shopping center and there's an open-air night market right opposite the hotel. Not perfect but very convenient hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErWei001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The Hotel is nice with good location in Gadong and right next to the shopping district of Brunei. Very near to good restaurant like Thiam Hock Chinese restaurant and Grazie Mauri.
It is next to some provision shop that sell good Prawn Cracker, a Brunei speciality.

My experience in the Hotel is mixed. I have a room at the 7th Floor Premier floor initially and next to my room is a bunch of kids who make so much noise I have to go over next door to request them to keep the noise level down. And who knows, at the Premier floor look, I met their parent and they came and confront me like a gangster and say I am rude!!! Wow..it is rude to tell people to keep noise down in a hotel in Brunei! That is really truly Amazing Brunei. And THEY TELL ME TO CHANGE ROOM since they are noisy. Wow only in Brunei you have to change room because the other party is noisy. What a bunch of arrogant people.

The Hotel guys moved me a quiet room on the 8th floor but I found a dead lizard on the bathroom floor. The Internet is also very slow and not worth the $40 per day. There is NO gym in the hotel. I have to walk next door to Centrepoint Hotel as it is a shared facility.

End of the day, the only thing I like the hotel is the location and their staff. Staff is friendly and nice. But with good hotel like Empire, I don't think I be staying there back again.

After some arguement with

Room Tip: Please ask them to put in quiet room. So many children are running and shouting that it is hard to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,125 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Centrepoint Hotel
The Centrepoint Hotel
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rizqun International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rizqun International Hotel

Property: The Rizqun International Hotel
Address: Abdul Razak Complex | Gadong, Bandar Seri Begawan BE3519, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rizqun International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rizqun International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing