We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rizqun International Hotel
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice property with poor service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed in suite with 2 bed room, very spacious, however with poor service (cleanliness could be better), service in lounge could be improved as well. Internet was reasonable, food quality was good and advantage is hotel is on mall with plenty of options for eating.
location is excellent with all shopping around, good view of mosque and nearby areas like kiulap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    82
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
21
24
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After reading some poor reviews about the hotel we where worried about returning to this hotel. Our first stay was great and I have to say this year it was just as good. We stayed on the 7th floor which did give us a few extra treats, including free WiFi, afternoon high tea and free tea or coffee in the lounge.
Our room was first class, very clean and cleaned each day. We took breakfast in the lounge which was as expected very good indeed.
We can't really fault this hotel, the only down side is the lack of facilities around the pool. No drinks or snacks and we had to ask for a sun shade, but to be fair we where just a bout the only couple using the pool on the three days where where there.
A late check out was granted too and they even gave us drinks and food after we had checked out and where waiting for our airport pick up to come.
Well worth the money and we would book in again.

Room Tip: Book into the 7th floor rooms wel worth the extra ££'s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Let's start with the positive first: nice multi-ethnic breakfast buffet; clean, spacious rooms
Then...
1) At 100+ €/n for the room charging an extra 20€/24h for (bad quality) Internet is just a scam.
2) They advertise "late check out on request"; I had to fight nail and teeth to get a 3h extensions despite the hotel being 70% empty
3) The whole place is ridiculously cold. I'm fine with aircon, but here it is kept at unhealthy levels
4) Service is erratic

Overall I'm sure there's better to be found at similar price levels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qugulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here in Aug 2013 for 2 nights to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. It was at the end of Ramadhan. We were given vouchers for Sungkai qnd Sahur buffets. There was a good spread of food for the sungkai but for the sahur, you were given a list of menu to choose from and they delivered them to the room for sahur around 2 am. Location is good as it adjoins the Mall (pretty handy if you were watching land night movies) and parking is plenty in the basement. Room is quite clean but there's no view - just the view of shops outside. The WiFi in the room is deplorable and the internet service needed to be upgraded but I think it's the country's problem as the broadband service in Brunei is sooooo slow compared to the rest of the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my family at the premium level. Overall, everything's great except for the bathroom's uneven floor that makes sater accumulate and doesn't go down the drain. It's a big issue of hygiene. That was in room 727. Love the complimentary high tea. And coffee is by far the nicest coffee i've ever tasted in a hotel even j.w marriot's cofe couldn't beat it. And by the way, the staffs are not friendly and smiling enough except for the Phillipino waitress at Premium Lounge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divamieza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Came here for a conference, found the hotel to be lacking in quality and amenities. Swimming pool and gym were tiny, and you had to pay for slow internet. The room itself was old and very basic, with nothing much in the way of comfort. Next to The Mall, but that's nothing much either.

Service was good though. Polite and knowledgeable front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Brunei for 3 days only and this is my 5th stayed in this hotel arranged by company i work with.. We have corprate rate. Upon arrival theres hotel's driver picked me up, it took 20min from airport to hotel. As usual nice and friendly front desk welcome me. Felt like home. Now the hotel already have their own gym, which previously i used to use sister hotel's gym (centerpoint htl) walkin distance. No problem with the internet since i knew how to use them. They already upgraded their internet as what ive been told. Breakfast still need to improve. Next, my room. Nice room but housekeeping must check dusty level daily!! Need to learn english aswell!! So far i like this hotel, will stay here infuture.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
6.2 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,021 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Centrepoint Hotel
The Centrepoint Hotel
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rizqun International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rizqun International Hotel

Property: The Rizqun International Hotel
Address: Abdul Razak Complex | Gadong, Bandar Seri Begawan BE3519, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rizqun International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rizqun International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing