We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not so friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #166 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but not so friendly!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here for one night as I'd mucked up a booking at my usual guesthouse. Rooms are nice, clean and there was a really cool terrace where you have great views of the streets below. The location is also spot on. The staff were not so helpful or friendly though. Acted as if I was putting them out when I asked a few questions even when they were not busy, just sat there. I was charged $15 per room per night which is about the usual for Phnom Penh guesthouses and decent rooms. Its a good deal. Tip of the day, avoid the restaurant below, it's not cheap for what you get, the coffee is awful and the service was even worse. Oops!

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
8
25
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Its been some time since I stayed at this hotel but when I came across it by chance on expedia I felt obliged to spill the beans on this establishment.
As many of you know there are many working girls in PP who come from very poor backgrounds and through no fault of their own have no other viable choice in how they make a living. Many of these girls are supporting their families in the country side and paying for their younger siblings education. The owner of this hotel basically mugs these girls when they leave her hotel after they have been with a customer. I kid you not. It is a known fact among the riverside bars. The fact that an affluent business woman can prey like this on the dispocessed I find disgusting. Her family have high level links with the police so she knows she is untouchable. PLEASE DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justin317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Old very basic hotel. Looked at 3 rooms, before choosing best of a very mediocre lot. Had reserved so felt committed.No elevator although staff was helpful.For $30, I think you could do a lot better. Would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have spent a total of 5 nights at the Dara Reang Sey. This is my fourth stay at this hotel. As always, a joy to return here.

Rooms are very spacious and good value. Very convenient location, a short walk to the Mekong river. Stay in the refurbished rooms in the old wing or the new rooms in the extension on the opposite side of the street.

Great restaurant on the ground floor and the family running this place and all the staff are as charming as ever.

The Dara Reang Sey is becoming a Phnom Penh legend and seems ever popular with ex pats and old Cambodia hands.

Will always be my choice when staying in Phnom Penh.

Has a new sister hotel in Siem Reap now also.

Keith

Room Tip: Some may find the rooms facing the street rather noisy, but is usually quiet between 10PM and 6AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights and though the room was adequate, it is very outdated with several flights of stairs and no elevator. It would have been fine for the price we paid ($29 per night through Agoda for a double twin), but asked and assumed we were in the "new" section. NOT! The newer section appears MUCH nicer - for the same price. Once we found that out, our little room with street noise didn't seem like much. Great location a few blocks from Riverfront however, and near lots of street markets/vendors. A good restaurant on site with breakfast included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section across the street are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCMamaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After looking at around 20 similar range hotels in Phnom Penh ($15-$25), I chose Dara Reang Sey for its location, amenity and value.

It’s located just 2 blocks back from the busy and touristy waterfront area so you are close to all the bars, restaurants, travel agencies etc. but just far enough away so that you can’t hear them at night and still be within walking distance of Central Markets and the Night Markets.

The hotel has a very good restaurant on the ground floor with very friendly staff and a wide selection of western and Asian dishes at much better prices than the waterfront establishments and you don’t get pestered by kids selling books and bangles every 5 minutes. My typical breakfast was 2 eggs with bacon, a warm roll with butter, a generous fruit salad and two cups of coffee with milk for $5US, very good value. The restaurant also serves beer, wine and cocktails.
My room was cleaned very well every day and the girl even took away the shower curtain once every 2 weeks for cleaning. The laundry is $1US per Kg and on the 3rd floor is a ‘garden’ terrace if you want to sit outside, away from street level. And there’s a Travel Agency right between the restaurant and reception.

I stayed in the original Dara Reang Sey on the South side of 118 Street and found everything in perfect working order: Hot water, TV, fridge, lights, A/C. Don’t be put off though by the construction right across the road on both sides of the newer Dara Reang Sey, I spent most of my time in the room working and even during the day it wasn’t that bad. They do tend to start early, about 7am, but from what I could see, most other guests who were only spending a couple of days in Phnom Penh were at breakfast by thattime anyway and away for most of the day. I found the sleep quality (on the 3rd floor at least) to be excellent.

I wouldn’t hesitate staying here again whether it’d be for 2 days or another 2 months, my A/C room with 2 beds was $20US per night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor streetside with a balcony was fine for both sleep and a view, and close to the 'garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianP660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and total bill was only 40 dollars.
Central location so convenient for river and sight seeing, tuk-tuks park outside.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the cafe and is charged extra at about 4 dollars.
The room was clean with air-con and oscillating fan, bed was clean and comfy, bathroom was also adequate. Wi-fi was patchy in the rooms but ok in the cafe.
Hotel was generally quiet but we stayed across the road in the annexe and noisy building work was going on on the construction site next door from 7.30 am.This may soon be finished and is not the hotels fault.
A fairly basic hotel but good value and its clean and safe.

Room Tip: get one with air-con!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Testarossa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phnom Penh
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#74 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#203 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#105 of 267 in Phnom Penh
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallops Riverside Hotel
Gallops Riverside Hotel
#140 of 267 in Phnom Penh
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
River-Star Hotel
River-Star Hotel
#185 of 267 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
VY CHHE Hotel
VY CHHE Hotel
#14 of 26 in Battambang
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: Corner St 13 & 118 Phsar Chas, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing