We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel that I have ever stayed in - got robbed by the housekeeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #72 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel that I have ever stayed in – got robbed by the housekeeper”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I got robbed in this hotel, which is something that has never happened to me before, I would avoid this hotel at all costs and never would recommend for anyone to stay there, total disaster.
When I first arrived there I noticed the small room that had no natural daylight and the really old bed sheets and pillows, the type of things you would expect to find in a hostel not in a hotel where you pay £50/ night, which for Cambodian standards is lot. I was comteplating about complaining about the room conditions but in the end was just a bit lazy and decided to not say anything as I was staying there for only 2 days.
But the worst thing that happened was the next day when we got robbed. Someone had removed £50 from my wallet which was lying in the room. It was awful to think that someone had opened my purse and gone through all the money and then taken what they wanted. When we discovered this we were shocked and I told the front desk at the reception but their attitude was beyond awful which made the incident worse. They did not care about the fact someone had stolen from the room and after me complaining, they finally decided to go through the video camera tape (video camera was located outside the door) to see if anyone had gone in. A job that would usually take 5/10min (as you just look through the tape and fast forward to see anyone coming in) took them 2h and we had to constantly check on the progress and they just did not seem interested at all. In the end the hotel staff concluded that it was our fault as we had not put valuables in a safety deposit box, but I don’t know many people that lock all their money there as generally you would expect to be treated with dignity in one of the supposedly best hotels in town. In the end they said only the cleaning lady had gone into our room and she says she had not taken anything, and the staff were unwilling to cooperate and help any further, they just did not care.
This was my last day in Phnom Penh and on my 2 week holiday amd this experience was awful and a sad end to my amazing trip. I would not wish for my worst enemy to stay at this hotel, it is so bad, they take your money and then don’t care about you and charge way too much for which is an awful room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    131
    51
    38
    17
See reviews for
47
191
52
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Given that I had one week to relax in a city where I was unfamiliar with everything; the friendliness and professionalism of the hotel staff meant that I was able to spend the whole week enjoying myself without the hassle of trying to figure out where the best spots were. Although the hotel is in the heart of everything, it still has a nice peaceful feel about it for when you're wanting a break from the many pestering Tuk Tuk drivers, heat/humidity and packed out markets. Nothing was ever too much trouble and although I was a solo traveller, the friendly staff make you feel that you're amongst friends whilst trying out their extensive drinks range in the rooftop bar.

The only issue that occurred during my stay was one evening...well 4am...when an over-excited hotel resident was very load and shouting about his night out with some friends for quite some time. This was amplified as the communal areas tend to echo quite a bit and can therefore be a slightly noisy. However, this was easily resolved by calling reception and asking them to have a word with this particular person. As well as this, the lobby music can sometimes be a bit too load given the "echo factor" meaning that I could hear it from my room on the third floor. Although given that the music selection is very mellow, I found this quite bearable. So in summary, the hotel was a top spot where everything is on your doorstep and yet when stepping back inside, all of the Phnom Penh hustle and bustle seems to disappear. :)

Room Tip: Although it's a small hotel, I would probably ask for a room on the top floor given that the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location is fantastic, rooms are super, staff very friendly, good breakfast and don't forget to have a drink at the roof bar, we can highly recommend the hotel, although for Cambodian understandings not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I am in and out of Phnom Penh a lot and have just lately taken to staying at this hotel but really like the level of service. The location is nice as well right on the river front. I particularly like that the owners personally follow up with you after the stay for recommendations and feedback.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotthuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I tried the Lunch specials here, for $7.50 it includes a glass of wine, a beer or a soft drink.

Great value as the Beef burger and chips i had were superb.

Nice air con comfort, good wi-fi and relaxing music helped to make it a great.

Room Tip: worth having lunch there for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

After searching for ages through the many hotels in Phnom Penh, I settled on this one. Price, location and the idea of an environmentally friendly hotel appealed.

This hotel is modern and small and great for a couple of nights. The rooms are stylish and the bathrooms super great. Yes, the standard doubles have no real natural light, but this is noted in the site and you are going to be out most of the time. The overall affect is modern and a nice change from the usual.

The greatest thing at The Quay is the breakfast menu, then again most of the food. As breakfast is included, I was amazed at the quality and standard. The build up of excitement just to choose from the breakfast menu had me bounding downstairs. The eggs benedict is fabulous, but the standard scrambled eggs, sour dough and bacon was just as great.. Oh and don't get me started on the passionfruit caipirinha!!!!

A hotel I would go back to and recommend wholeheartedly... a great location and price, but please read their website so you don't end up complaining about rooms with no windows!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great place with fantastic suites. Te staff were very friendly and arranged our tours in the City and also to the Coast. The restaurant served international foods as well as many Asian classics. Don't miss the roof top bar where they make the best cocktails. Quite busy at happy hour with a trendy young crowd.

Tis was our second stay and we would definitely go back

Room Tip: Try to book the suites and don't miss the breakfasts which are totally yummy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 267 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#91 of 267 in Phnom Penh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#101 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 267 in Phnom Penh
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Property: The Quay Boutique Hotel
Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#41 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing