We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in heart of PP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #73 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in heart of PP”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My wife and I spent one night in one of the front rooms with a balcony (so we cannot comment on the rooms in the back without any windows) and think the hotel is fantastic. The location could hardly be better, about a five-minute walk from the palace. The modern design is interesting and unusual, and we thought the room was very cleverly done, cool yet cozy. We had no problems with noise, either from outside or other rooms, but the hotel does face onto a very busy street in a busy town. Also no problem with hot water. The staff were fantastically attentive and nice. I asked for a cell phone charger, and when it turned out that they did not have one, they went out and bought one at the market. Took a little longer than ideal, but they came through in the end. We also overstayed our check-out time by about five hours, and the staff were very kind and understanding and even downright pleasant about it. We forgot to order breakfast to the room the night before, so we called down in the morning, and within 15 minutes we had a breakfast served to the room that was one of the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had (and we often stay in five-star hotels). One big bonus was that the hotel, while being a cool, stylish boutique hotel, is still very business-friendly, which was important for us as we were both partially working. In addition to taking care of my cell phone problem, the hotel also rented us a very good laptop (five bucks an hour) and had a phenomenally fast internet connection.

The only nits we had to pick were that it's a bit tough to watch TV from the bed due to the design of the room and that the drinks at the lobby bar promised more than they delivered: the drinks menu is among the best I've ever seen, but the drinks themselves then weren't quite as good as we had hoped. But during the happy hour, they were a great value (by Western standards).

Some of the staff at the hotel are from the school PSE ("Pour un Sourire d'Enfant"), which has got to be one of the most incredible charitable organizations in the world, so it's nice to know that the hotel supports this kind of local initiative. The hotel also bills itself as "carbon-friendly," though we really couldn't quite figure out where that part came in.

Overall, we had a great experience at the Quay. It may not be the best value in a place like PP (the front rooms run USD120, I believe), but it's hard to believe that it would not be near the top of the list of all hotels in PP.

  • Liked — Staff, service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepino11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    131
    51
    38
    17
See reviews for
47
191
52
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We booked via hotel website. It just opened for 3 months We stayed in Standard room . I agree with the previous that room with the window is better my room number is 15 so better ask hotel firstly before booking .For the price of 80 dollars a night .On that street you will find many restaurant and look at the view of the main river .Please help for the poor kids on the street buy them some milk or snack. The standard room is very big with TV and desk . I loved the decor of room it is the most chic hotel I stayed in this trip

  • Liked — Chic decor
  • Disliked — poor kids on street
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pimmy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My wife and I just enjoyed a weekend in PP, taking advantage of their "summer weekend special". Overall, we were impressed with The Quay. It is very slick, modern and has a very polished feel about it.

We stayed in a very nice Panoramic room. We saw one of the other windowless rooms at the back of the hotel and I agree with the previous reviewer - do not even think about staying in one of those. The bed was firm but comfortable, the pillows decent, the shower pressure was good and there was lots of light and room. Each panoramic room has its own balcony, outside seating, 42" plasma TV with a DVD/CD player. They also offer free DSL internet access.

In terms of the overall hotel, it has an excellent location. Right on the riverfront close to a multitude of bars & restaurants and is an easy walk to the Royal Palace Grounds and National Museum. We paid US$2 for a tuk-tuk to get to the Genocide Museum & Russian Market.

The lobby area doubles as a bar/restaurant which served fantastic breakfasts (although stay away from the hotcakes - stodgy) and the dinners were great. The roof top bar is also a very nice place to enjoy a sundowner or two. Interestingly though they dont mention their little pool/jucuzzi at all in their website. It is a non-heated pool around 4m x 2m on the roof. I am not surprised it was never used though as its in quite an odd spot - right in front of the working bar and staircase, so you would be "on display" while in the pool. Definitely not a spot for anyone who is even remotely body concious!

Now, there are some gripes I have about the place which is why I gave only four stars. Firstly, its really quite noisy. Not too much the hotel can do about this given its right on the main road overlooking the river. However, there is a constant stream of honking horns, motorbikes and trucks throughout the night. Secondly, the walls between the rooms are not completely sound proof. I had the unfortunate experience of being woken at 4.15am by a guy watching a movie next door and the thumping base jarring me awake. Sadly, the traffic noise then prevented me getting back to sleep! In addition, the water is just not hot. Ok, ok, its a tropical country but I still enjoy a HOT shower, not a luke warm one. Also, they have this lovely big bath but who wants a luke warm bath?

The front desk staff also need some additional training in customer support. I had earlier wandered over to the post office, bought some stamps and written out my postcards. I attempted to hand them to the front desk to post when they go and post the hotels own correspondence - like every other hotel in the world. Ahhh, negative. Huh? Sorry, we will need you to PAY 50c per postcard (more than the postage) for someone to walk the 5 blocks to drop it off. I thought maybe it was a language barrier thing so went back later and asked a different staff member - this time they point blank refused to accept them. Its always the little things that can spoil the whole ambience you know?

Finally, a gripe about the cocktails at the bar. I understand the prices are always going to be at a premium when you are drinking at such a swanky bar but the tide REALLY goes out when the drink is delivered. If I am going to pay US$8.50 for a martini I'd like it to last a bit more than a couple of mouthfuls. So, my advice it is to enjoy the happy hour (4pm-8pm) then move on.

So, knowing what I know now, would I go back and recommend it to my mates? Definitely. I'd just suggest they pack some ear plugs and dont order cocktails after 8pm!

  • Liked — Slick, modern room
  • Disliked — Noise and small cocktails
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank edleycabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We had booked a room through the hotel's own website before it had even opened so we turned up not having read any reviews at all.

The location is excellent. Staff are delightful. The hotel is small (16 rooms) which gives it a nice feeling. The design is appealing though somewhat oddly out of place in Phnom Penh (a bit like sitting in a Wallpaper* magazine foldout on danish design whilst Phnom Penh street life rools by outside).

We had one major problem with the hotel though! There are 8 rooms at the front with a view to the quay (so-called panoramic rooms). These are very large and quite beautiful. However the other 8 rooms, at the back (the so called standard rooms) have NO WINDOWS!!! The rooms are smaller though perfectly acceptable in size and the design is quite nice but there is no window and no view to the outside world!! Very strange.

In place of what one would imagine is where the window was has been walled over to make space for a large flatscreen tv. True there are to tiny glass white-glazed panels on the sides of the wall but these are only 20cm wide and you could easily mistake them for articial lighting. We were a little upset at this as the website gives no indication that the rooms are windowless and htey did feel a little like a prisoncell as a result.

I insist though, the staff is lovely and the location is great but if you stay book a panoramic room only (they are, truly, lovely).

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BelgianIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

The Quay is a brand new hotel affiliated with FCC, also at the waterfront. The hotel is in one word superb. The design of the rooms is brilliant with a lot of attention to detail. The hotel has a bar/restaurant downstairs where the best breakfast we ever had was served. One of the best features of the hotel is the rooftop with bar and, jaccuzi. Both places have a happy hour from 4 to 8 with very nice cocktails. Other than that, staff is extremely friendly, though check-in was a little slow, but guess that is a matter of experience. All in all, it is was a more than five star experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — Rooftop
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Justus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 267 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#90 of 267 in Phnom Penh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 267 in Phnom Penh
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Property: The Quay Boutique Hotel
Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#42 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing