We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“claustrophobic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #211 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We got room with no windows. The shower drain was clogged. There was construction and jack hammer kept us awake in the afternoon.
The staff very polite

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaukat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

Pleasant staff, very trendy looking rooms. However we were quite disappointed having read all the previous rave reviews!
Considering this is a newish hotel, the carpet in the lift and landing areas was badly stained as was the room carpet.
We opted for a room service breakfast and ticked the 'Pastries' option - this turned out to be just one croissant!
The night we stayed, DJ Sylva and her Rhythm sounds were playing in the bar on the ground floor. Due to the design of the place, this meant that we were subjected to very loud music in our room until well after midnight- it was so loud that even with the TV volume turned up high, we still couldn't hear the TV. The biggest problem for us that night was that we had to leave at 6 the next morning so didn't really appreciate not being able to get to sleep. When we phoned down to reception (as we understood that it was supposed to finish at 11.00) they didn't seem very concerned.
Definitely overpriced and over rated! For that money, I expect better service - and we found other much nicer places to stay in Phnom Penh at a fraction of the price!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We had the happy chance of being moved to The Quay as our room at the FCC (their sister hotel) had a leak. What total luck. Beautiful spacious rooms, huge bathrooms with powerful showers, rooftop jacuzzi and great staff. The location is also fantastic - just 8 minute walk to the National Museum and Grand Palace and right on the riverfront. Delicious breakfast and great bar snacks. Basically, you do get what you pay for at The Quay. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tssmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Here is everything in a nutshell:
the goods: breakfast is great, location is great, service is good, people are friendly, the rooftop bar is nice
the bads: really only one thing: the rooms to the backside and since they miss a real window it's a bit claustrophobic.
It's a good hotel to stay one or two nights. Phnom Penh isn't ready for tourism yet but it does have potential ... and so does "The Quay".

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IjonTichy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Went to this hotel after being very dissapointed with the FCC - what a gem! - superb modern boutique hotel which was fautless with the service and quality. Very unusual to find a hotel in this part of the world meeting global standards but this one does with ease. Minor points to look for is the noise from the rooftop bar that can be heard in the top floor rooms, but stops at 11pm. Front rooms have good views of the river, rear rooms have no direct sunlight but are beautifully finished and perfectly fine (and less money). Staff all outstanding, these guys really have learnt how to deliver the boutique hotel experience. Not a cheap option but clearly well worth the money, head and shoulders above the rest, so refreshing to fnd a hotel doing it right. cannot recommend enough, simply brilliant. Rooftop bar / jacuzzi is cool - you could be in Milan! - don't even think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuailOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

During a recient family trip through SE Asia we were blessed to stay in this hotel one night. In looking back, we should have cancelled some of our other stops and stayed here more. From the email booking to the arrival to the assistance in purchesing bus tickets to Siem Reap (with NO mark up!!) and the wonderful room and great breakfast, it is definatly worth another trip to PP just to stay in this hotel! Room was large and bright and the bathroom was amazing. Though a bit expensive, worth it in the long run.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangdeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I stayed here for only one night as I was chased out of the previous hotel due to their mistake for overbooking. The contrast in service, amenities, menu, room comfort level was drastic!

THE QUAY has the best menu in beverages as well as food. This hotel caters to your 5 senses. The rooms are such a sight to behold. The bathrooms are exquisite. The tub is big enough for a couple. Though the hot water supply is a challenge in the morning. The soap is a locally made. Internet is free. The aircon is powerful. Flat screen TV with cables of 60 over channels. A reasonable size safe. Imported sliding door to deflect the noise from the traffic. The bed is firm with crisp white sheets. The pillows do not stink... most hotels in Cambodia have smelly pillows. They have a roof top bar and Patio overlooking the setting sun. A soak in the roof top Jacuzzi with their Martinis was what I did.

I will absolutely recommend that you pay a bit more for this accommodation. Yes it is expensive but it is worth every penny. I wake up late and spend my time getting ready for the day's activities. I will return to my room for a snooze in the hot afternoon. This hotel is filled with metro sexual Europeans and feasting on their fashion attire is such an eye candy. :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#48 of 274 in Phnom Penh
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#67 of 274 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#31 of 274 in Phnom Penh
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#93 of 274 in Phnom Penh
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#37 of 274 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#106 of 274 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#68 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £46 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing