We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #216 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 7 October 2009

To be honest I did not have high expectations of the Quay, the reviews are generally favourable but not great. I was pleasantly surprised from the time I arrived at the airport until I left, The Quay exceeded all my expectations.

The rooms are nice, very stylish and modern. I stayed in the larger rooms with the view of the river/road. Some people complain of the noise from the road, but it was not a big issue for me and you have to be realistic......you are in Phnom Penh, quiet roads are few and far between.

The lobby restaurant serves great food, and breakfast can be served in your room at no extra cost (doesn't happen in many places!). The roof top bar is great for a chillout cocktail after a hectic day. The local area has many restaurants and bars and you are walking distance to the Palace and museum. The location is perfect!

This costs a little more than other places in PP, but alot less than other similar places around Asia. I wish there were more places like this. I often stay in large 5* hotels but both my girlfriend and I loved staying in this small hidden gem in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HKSmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

Location is great to be able to walk to the palace and museum. Hotel is right on the river bank, however rooms facing to the front of the building are really noisy at night. Design of the hotel is nice, but upkeeping is not as good. The room that we had seems to be tired already. Restaurant was quiet when we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samandjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed at the Quay twice during our trip around Cambodia and enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The hotel is situated on the quayside and is in a great location for plenty of bars and restuarants. As it was during the low season, we were able to take advantage of the internet offer and get one of the standard rooms for USD80 per night with USD20 to spend in the hotel or at the FCC down the road. We found this was very good value and recommend people look out for the offers on its website.
As I said we stayed in one of the standard rooms at the back of the hotel and despite not having a window to the outside world, the room is cleverly lit and spacious. The fitting were high quality and it had a great bed and bathroom. There was also a very nice plate of fresh fruit and welcome drink on arrival.
One of the strong points of the hotel is its roof terrace which looks out onto Tonle Sap and the Mekong and a great place to take advantage of the hotel's happy hour drinks whilst the sun sets. It also has a rooftop jacuzzi for residents which is extremely pleasant after a hot day of sightseeing. In addition the food is good quality if a little expensive for PP but no worst than the other big hotels in the city.
All in all our stay was very pleasant and good value. Definitely worth a visit for drinks at happy hour alone if you don't stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank welshwaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This place is a gem and we really enjoyed our two night stay at The Quay.

The location of the hotel is great, the rooms are spotless clean, the design is nice and the food is delicious.

If you stay at the hotel, they give you a $20/day credit to spend at their sister establishments in PP including the FCC.

Look no further if you are looking for a place to stay in PP.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atreides75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is simply an excellent hotel in which to stay when travelling with the $ in this chaotic city. The location is as good as it gets, the service and food very good. The design and comfort of the rooms make it a place to stay with your partner. Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flagstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at The Quay for two nights after getting the bus down from Siem Reap. The hotel is in a great location and is just a short walk from the Mekong Express drop-off point. Although we counted up the numbers when walking, we still could not see the hotel as it is poorly signposted and is 'hidden' behind the Chow Restaurant. On arrival, the staff were friendly but there was a problem with the keycard system and we had to be taken up individually and we had to wait 15 minutes for the people who arrived after us to be shown to their rooms first. After a 6hr bus journey this was the last thing we wanted!

We had a standard suite, and on first glances we were very impressed with it. Although there are no windows in the standard suites, there is plenty of light and the rooms do not feel claustrophobic. However, after being in the room for a while we noticed that there was virtually no hanging space or storage space, and although very-well designed, it was not being maintained to a good enough standard for the price. The floor of the shower appeared mouldy, the blinds did not fit the 'windows' properly and the doors to the one cupboard did not close properly, meaning the internal light was on all night. I would not want to spend more than a couple of nights in a standard suite because it is small and the lack of storage space became an issue with two of us. The walls also seemed to be made of paper and we were disturbed by the noise from the next room.

The public areas are showing similar signs of wear and tear, with the carpet being frayed in areas and marks on the walls. However, the rooftop bar is an absolute gem with fantastic views over the river and probably could not be beaten for views. We had cocktails here both evenings and they bought some free nibbles over for us. Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, the food looked very nice. The pool is a plunge pool, but if you are not afraid of a few cocktail-toting guests seeing you in your swimsuit then it would be a lovely place to sit after a hot day in the city.

All in all, the hotel is a wonderful modern design and they have made good use of the space and injected some much-needed style into the hotel scene, but it is not being maintained properly. With a thorough clean and fixing some niggles it would be an outstanding hotel. I'm not sure it is worth the money in its current state.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picketty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We only stayed here one night as we were traveling from Siem Reap to Kep. For our purposes it was excellent, very modern and clean, with good wifi, and a lovely breakfast, and a great location right on the river and close to the palace. We paid $140 for a river view which seems a bit expensive for Cambodia, but i don't think prices have declined as much as the lack of tourists would suggest. Our taxi driver from the airport had a little difficulty finding the hotel because it is not marked very clearly so make sure you take the exact address with you. The rooms are very nice, although quite small, with a lot of modern equipment. The rooftop was very nice with a small but very refreshing plunge pool. We eat at the FCC which we found a bit of a dump (very different to the FCC in Siem Reap) and wished we had eaten somewhere else. The breakfast in the hotel was lovely and we also had a small lunch which was very nice. We thought Phnom Penh was a bit of a dump and very sketchy at night so were quite happy we didn't stay more than one night. If you are looking at more of a colonial style experience the raffles is most likely a better bet but then it is also a lot more expensive. If you could get this hotel for around the$100 mark I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#37 of 277 in Phnom Penh
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#33 of 277 in Phnom Penh
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#18 of 277 in Phnom Penh
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#96 of 277 in Phnom Penh
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,271 reviews
0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#91 of 277 in Phnom Penh
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#70 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing