We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best introduction to P.P.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #222 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed a night at the Quay and it proved to be the best hotel experience we have had for a long time. From the moment we arrived we were looked after well and were made to feel that we were important. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, the food good and the roof terrace and staff made it an exceptional experience. I would suggest that this is a better place to stay than the much hyped FCC, just down the road. We stayed at both but found the Quay to be the better by far. There are many hotels in Europe and the US that could learn a little about proper customer care from the staff here!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2009

Stayed here for one night in October 2009 - I knew I'd be tired after 3 flights in 24 hours to get to Cambodia, so picked a hotel that I thought I'd be comfortable in and could sleep off some jetlag. I made a GREAT choice....

Firstly, I had a look at a few sites before (based on advice here) booking directly through the hotel due to the food deal they offered. Most of the other sites had the 'standard' room (without window/view) as being booked out, but the hotel still let me book it directly. So for around $90 USD, I got a single room with a $20 meal voucher.....and when I arrived, because the room WAS booked out, they upgraded me to a suite. BARGAIN!! They made a point of telling me how lucky I was - I have no problem with them selling me on that.

The room was gorgeous - fourth floor (there's a lift), balcony, remote controlled everything (curtains too!), big bathtub, comfy bed. And of course, from the balcony, I could watch the world go by - either walking sisowath quay, or cruising down to where the tonle sap river meets the mekong.

My first stop was upstairs for a drink at the bar. Like most hotels, the price of the drinks are considerably higher than out in a restaurant, but still $4 for a mojito wasn't going to break the piggy bank (and I had free vouchers too). The pool is small, and on the rooftop, but if hot enough well worth a dip. Service at the bar - like everywhere - is careful and attentive.

I then ducked up the street to FCC for dinner (also included in the food voucher). Again, although costs were high for Cambodia, compared to home they're very inexpensive, and the food was good.

I must admit, I was a bit slow on the uptake to realise that the hotel restaurant is actually in front of the reception (like in a lobby area), but for breakfast the next morning (included in my room rate), with the sun streaming in it was really lovely.

I can't speak highly enough of the hotel, and their regard for guests. All staff smiled and said hello when passing by or sharing the lift, I ended up being sorry that I couldn't stay longer (although I may not have really explored any more if I did, as the room was too nice to want to leave!!). It's a hotel I'd stay in for not only the location (close to the royal palace, national museum, loads of great restaurants and shopping), but because the room was just amazing.

My big tip - don't take a chance like I did, book the river view suite, get room service to deliver some drinks and your balcony is the best place to just sit and watch the world from. Oh, and despite my comment about the $4 cocktail, with dinner at FCC, I could barely spend $15 of my $20 voucher!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Driftergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The Quay was in a near-perfect location - even though difficult to find by taxi (look for "Chow" restaurant, which comprises the ground floor). It was blocks away from the Royal Palace and National Museum. There were numerous restaurants and cafes all along the street and if you have a suite (we did) - there's a balcony with view of the river and street activity below. But the busy location wasn't so loud that we had any difficulty sleeping. I didn't see the inside rooms, but from what I understand there are NO windows - just glazed glass letting in some natural light.

The staff were friendly and very eager to help - if a bit inexperienced about a few service nuances. For example, I ordered a kahlua and coffee and it arrived in a brandy sifter with only a tiny splash of coffee. It wasn't a big deal - just a cultural difference that amused me.

The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and firm. Breakfasts were interesting interpretations of western classics. For example, I had an eggs benedict with asian style pulled pork and lime hollandaise. The sauce could have been more citrusy, but was tasty nonetheless. The pho (Vietnamese soup) was absolutely delicious and fragrant. We enjoyed sitting on the rooftop terrace for dinner and drinks. The view was lovely - particularly when we discovered it was Cambodian independence day and got an unexpected fireworks show over the river. :)

The only downsides - they didn't have a house computer for guest use. We had to rent a laptop by the hour in order to check email. Also, I thought the price ($140 per night) was a bit high for the level of accommodation and service, when compared to equivalent lodging in neighboring Thailand. I would have expected a price more like $110 or so. But all in all, I would still recommend The Quay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhawkx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Great location along river, small and personal, with good service. We had booked 3 rooms for 5 of us and initially they gave us the wrong rooms, but it was just a case of exchanging cards between us. Had panoramic room so we could have an extra bed to make a twin room - no problem in this huge room (with huge bathroom too). Balcony over the river front view was great place for taking photos, looking down to spot the greatest number of people on one motorbike - we spotted family of 7! Potentially noisy but good double glazing and aircon so it wasn't a problem. They had roof terrace with large jacuzzi, and bar stools with great view. Breakfast was to order - good choice and well cooked, their scrambled egg was best I have had. Lots of good restaurants to hand - eating in PP is so cheap. Would definitely stay there again. Only downside was the strange kind of plug in the sink - it sort of screwed up and down - not great for contact lens wearers, but we got a small bowl to use.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I booked this hotel online on 27 Sep and paid full via PayPal. (Reservation number GK4545, USD286) Due to changes in travel arrangements, I had to cancel my reservations on 03 Oct. This is definitely in line with the cancellation policy since my reservations are for 05 Nov, and I should get a full refund. My cancellation was acknowledged on the same day, but there was no response to my query on when would my payment be refunded. ONE MONTH, and FIVE reminder emails later, there is still no word about my refund. Not a single response from the hotel. So be warned! The photos look great, and they are quick to take your money, but they will not respond at all if you cancel and want to get your rightful refund.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

It's a shame that this lovely hotel is crammed between 2 buildings in one of the noisiest parts of the city. For those who like the sound of college fraternity parties, stay on the top (fourth) floor where you will hear every drunken laugh from the rooftop bar above. Designed in great taste, with nothing Cambodian about it, the acoustics are the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. The standard rooms are small and without windows, so you could be anywhere. The panoramic suites larger, with views of the river and the construction.

Staff could not be nicer and apologized for the noise, but even the $30 a day credit at their family of restaurants and free WiFi could not compensate for the paper-thin walls and poor acoustics. I regret that I didn't move to the third floor at the start of my stay. Better yet, I regret that I was unable to book the Pavilion Hotel sooner as they offer it all: peace, beauty, comfort, and a taste of Cambodia.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentFlyer013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

To be honest I did not have high expectations of the Quay, the reviews are generally favourable but not great. I was pleasantly surprised from the time I arrived at the airport until I left, The Quay exceeded all my expectations.

The rooms are nice, very stylish and modern. I stayed in the larger rooms with the view of the river/road. Some people complain of the noise from the road, but it was not a big issue for me and you have to be realistic......you are in Phnom Penh, quiet roads are few and far between.

The lobby restaurant serves great food, and breakfast can be served in your room at no extra cost (doesn't happen in many places!). The roof top bar is great for a chillout cocktail after a hectic day. The local area has many restaurants and bars and you are walking distance to the Palace and museum. The location is perfect!

This costs a little more than other places in PP, but alot less than other similar places around Asia. I wish there were more places like this. I often stay in large 5* hotels but both my girlfriend and I loved staying in this small hidden gem in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HKSmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#19 of 281 in Phnom Penh
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#36 of 281 in Phnom Penh
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#38 of 281 in Phnom Penh
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
316 reviews
0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#60 of 281 in Phnom Penh
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#35 of 281 in Phnom Penh
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#74 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £45 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing