We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your average cheap hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Mekong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Grand Mekong
Ranked #103 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Your average cheap hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Got a room to get a shower before departing late night. Has a decent bed and TV. shower is in line heater but at least no shock. Bathroom poor because style is shower/toilet combo. Ok for a fresh shower but not a place to stay more than a day unless you really don't care about the room. Did not see upscale rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    91
    56
    19
    20
See reviews for
18
80
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

from the start to the end i really enjoyed my stay at Mekong Palace Hotel . the room was big, clean and had fantastic views over the mekong river . The hotel manager , MR Narin Rem, Thank you to you and your helpful and pleasant staff . You really went out of your way to help me solve my problem during my depature and secured a fantastic and safe trip to SR . The location was perfect. Eating places (Halal) within short walking distance. This wil be the only hotel i wil stay in next time i come back to PP. Perfect for the fusy South African travelers .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river with a private balcony are the right hand side facing the building . Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun2634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you don't have a problem with rats you might be like this place, if you have a problem with rats go elsewhere. My 2 sisters and I spent the about 4 hours (I kid you not) looking for accommodation in Phnom Penh. We like to arrive somewhere, see accommodation with our own eyes before we book. PP was a nightmare for this we were on a budget of $30 a night for a triple room which in other city's got us some fab' places to stay. Not so much luck in PP. After looking at 21 places (yes we kept count) that were either way over priced or utterly disgusting, one place had mattress on the floor! When we finally came across the Mekong Palace it looked perfect, rooms were basic but clean it had 3 beds and was only a small bit over budget but right on the river.
We checked in and went up to the room happy, but after 10 mins in the room we heard "them"! Running across the ceiling, and there was no denying what the sound was. What was worse just down the hall from us there ceiling was pulled down it looked as if they were doing harmless maintenance but then we put two and two together!
We went to reception to say we are checking out as there are rats and they clearly knew there was a problem as there response was " We move you to lower floor, you won't hear them" needless to say we legged it and ended up saying around the corner in a fancy hotel and blew the budget :/

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie_D53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a total of 8 nights @ $18 US Per Night. Room was cleaned every day, tooth paste, water bottles, etc restocked every day. Staff at front desk were very helpful and pleasant. You can also have your laundry done. Great for those of you looking for cheap, no frills accomodation. Found it to be very central to all of the attractions in Phnom Penh. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRIFESTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I was a little wary after some of the reviews on here but I was very pleasantly surprised. Ok, it may be a little tired but the aircon was good, the internet was fast, the bed was comfy, it had a desk, hanging space, lockable drawers, lift, TV, hot water. What else do you expect for a $20 room right on the riverside?

On the negative side, the bedding and towels had seen better days; they were clean and changed daily but they were a bit grey. It's a minor quibble but it's the only thing I could think of. Never heard any early morning aerobics either.

I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaleBlueSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tierra del Fuego, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

They tried holding me hostage there. I broke a hundred to pay rent in the morning, came back a couple of hours later and they claimed it was a fake hundred dollar bill. My first though was that they were scamming me. I said that is your problem for taking it. Women at desk freaked out on me and said I had to replace it with another. First thought someone stuck them with a fake and they wanted to get rid of it.
All my hundreds came from a U.S. bank and all real.
I said... you treating me this way I am leaving. Packed and 15 minutes later was leaving to change hotels. I had to fight, and I mean fight three staff to get out of the hotel, and they damaged my luggage. If you feel like getting attacked and being held hostage for money stay there. Otherwise.... keep away. Danger place.

Room Tip: No good place at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyOneTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Big room with balcony overlooking the river. Aircon worked great. Friendly staff. You get exactly what you pay for - good budget room for good budget price. Recommended for couples on a budget or backpackers looking to splurge a bit. Really good in room WIFI. Only downside - aerobics class starts nearby at 445 am with LOUD music - The crazy frog song at that hour of the morning is enough to ruin anyone's day, but it only goes for an hour so you can survive it if you can afford a sleep in. Compared to another guesthouse we stayed at in PP for similar price, this was luxury.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binga33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#134 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#68 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niron Boutique Hotel
Niron Boutique Hotel
#93 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#95 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Mekong

Property: Le Grand Mekong
Address: No. 253-255, Sisowath Quay S/K | Phsar Kandal1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia (Formerly Mekong Palace Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Mekong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a lush tropical setting right in the heart of Phnom Penh City Center, Le Grand Mekong Hotel is just 20 minutes away from the Phnom Penh International Airport and 5 minutes walk to the Museum, Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and 10 Toul Sleng. All our rooms in this hotel are unique and beautifully – furnished with all the modern amenities and in traditional Cambodian style with river view. Amenities offered are in-room safe, hair dryer, bathrobe, cable TV, coffee and tea maker and a mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Le Grand Mekong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing