We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Phnom Penh for the money”
Review of Welcome Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welcome Inn
Ranked #97 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have stayed here 5 times now and find some of the other reviews humorous. I have not once smelled anything bad inside any of the rooms (out in the streets of Phnom Penh is another matter altogether!) never noticed anything wet or old about the sheets or towels, and have nothing but nice things to say about the owner or the staff. All very pleasant. Granted, if you are easily offended by the local night life, this may not be the place for you. Although on my recent trip there were two older women staying that i chatted with many times and didn't seem to mind it at all, in fact they found it interesting to watch the "goings on" on street 104. For men, great place, for couples it is fine also, only category person I would advise NOT staying here are those who ARE offended by the night action (although nobody is asking you to partake anyway). Otherwise, one of the best places in the world to stay for $20 - $40 per night :-)

Room Tip: there is no elevator, so if you don't like walking up stairs mcuh ,ask for a room on the 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Great Location, Clean Rooms, Fast Internet, Friendly Staff - Perfect

My girl friend and I were recommended by our friends and stayed at this friendly inn for 2 weeks December 2012. Our rooms was very clean and comfortable you could not have expected better for the cost. The chef makes great food and the staffs are very pleasant and could not do enough to make your stay pleasant.

It is a great place to stay. Close to the bus stations, boat to Siem Reap, night market, bars, everything. The staff were one of the friendliest we have seen while travelling. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

104 street has a name for girlie's bar and the establishment has taken some of those 'features' which can be a surprise for the casual guest. The rooms were kept clean and nice except the weird habit not replacing dirty towels but folding them again and put them back on the bed. Excellent cook, nice food and the noise is minimal in the room. The whole bar is a nice rest point for the other 'activities' ongoing. It has everything, Wifi, TV, aircon but again a point of critics is that the aircon controller did not work, neither did the remote control of the tv work good.
I can say had good time but and that is a management thing, its not the bar/inn it pretends to be. I am most sorry for the persons working there, that guests are not given the right idea.

Room Tip: Have different rooms with different price, just check and look
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here 3 nights the first days of November. The staff where very attentive ans welcoming, despite the fact that I arrived 4 hours too early for check inn. The double room was big, clean and had huge cabinets and a balcony against the street. I was concerned about the noise level from the nearby bars, but I had no problem at all to fall asleep at 11 PM. The owner and manager was also very helpful with arrange tickets for my bus trip to Sihanoukville and was in general very helpful with answering all my questions I may have about Phnom Penh. The meals I had there was also very good and not too pricy either.
I know I will stay at this guesthouse when I return to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Svein Arne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Despite the name, the staff on check-in were very uninterested and it seemed to be an inconvenience for them that we had arrived.

The room was clean and basic, but did not have a window. There are better alternatives in the vicinity for the same amount we had paid.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolajane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The owner was friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The rooms smell like sewer, which they place a cut up lime over the drain in the shower but it still reeked and never went away.

Do your research before you book here. It is not even one block from the Red Light District in Phnom Penh. The basic rooms are an ok price, but they are very small. The guests of the restaurant and guesthouse seemed to be creepy old men due to the location, as well as the many seedy bars in the area made me feel uncomfortable walking around at night.

We were put on a high floor and the internet went out often.

If you do stay here I would spend a few more dollars to stay in their larger rooms with balconies.

Room Tip: Spend more money to stay in their larger rooms with a balcony, you can air out the sewer smell when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Good rooms, friendly staff, clean and well looked after hotel, only problem was the ant infestation and the unreliable Internet connection.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 276 in Phnom Penh
893 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 276 in Phnom Penh
2,584 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 276 in Phnom Penh
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 276 in Phnom Penh
1,672 reviews
2.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 276 in Phnom Penh
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn

Address: No. 23, Seng Thoung #104, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Velkommen Inn)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velkommen Inn is an established and popular 5 rooms Guesthouse with an English and Norwegian speaking management team. You will feel at home while enjoying great service and food.Our perfect location near the riverside in the touristic area makes it easy to unwind and discover Phnom Penh’s many attractions and lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Velkommen Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing