We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, bright and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #55 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived a little early for our check in and quite prepared to leave our bags and come back later . The receptionist gave us a voucher for a beer or soft drink and asked us to wait for twenty minutes, this we gladly did. The hotel has a nice reception area that is also used for the bar and restaurant, there are also tables outside.

We found our room to be large and airy with two large windows with east and southerly outlooks, although we booked a balcony we were happy that just outside our door was a balcony of very large proportions. Although communal, we at no stage saw another soul. We toyed with raising this with the hotel, but thought the trade up was probably the very large room we had, which was ideal.

The bar fridge was well stocked and very reasonably priced (about twice the supermarket price of 60c US), we had no complaints. The air conditioning was good and the WiFi more than fast enough for us.

Breakfast was served from 6 until 10 and was very good. There was a good choice with both western, Japanese and local food. There was even an egg station where they could be cooked to order.

Checkout was a breeze, the staff so very friendly and everything was close enough for us. The Royal Palace was about a 20 minute walk, the riverfront maybe 30 minutes. We were out every night and didn't find the need for transport and we are both in our early 60's. If a tuk tuk was needed, they were plentiful and all seemed to know where the Almond Hotel was. We on a few occasions booked one to pick us up at the hotel for a few trips out for the day.

We didn't eat at the hotel, this was not a bad mark on the place, we never do. The menu did look very nice and very reasonably priced, perhaps we should have tried it!

The only small complaint that could be squeezed out is the lift has to be the slowest we have ever experienced and often we would walk, but it spoiled nothing for us in what was a good comfortable stay in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: We think if you want a balcony the fifth is your only option, but obviously a lower one avoids the s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

After staying at several hotels in S E Asia where bathroom mold has been pervasive, it is so refreshing that my hotel room here is spotless. The staff has been extremely helpful and eager to please. Dinner in the hotel dining room and bar area for the past two evenings has been delicious and reasonable. While many hotels tote free wi-fi in all rooms, the Almond actually delivers on that amenity. All in all, this hotel rates as a gem compared to most of the others i have experienced on our tour and I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Judi3158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I was taken here for lunch by someone who have been here before with a Chinese friend. I wasn't expecting too much from the lobby restaurant but I was blown away. The food was absolutely delicious!! We shared a dozen of Dim Sum and it was all so fresh and tasty.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Eric2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leakhena P, Director of Sales at Almond Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to the Almond Hotel, and for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are great to read that you had a pleasant time with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again hopefully in the near future.

Thanks & Best Regard,
Phal Leakhena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Was there for an exhibition n was supposed to stay for 6 days but not sure it's the organizer fault or hotel that they didn't have my records. But the head of front desk was so helpful to check me in for the night (as it was a Sunday n I can't check wit my office)

Although the room is a bit old n no
Card access but all the staffs are all so helpful n friendly. The morning buffet is nice n fresh. Chinese n western restaurant available. High speed wifi on each floor. Location wise is strategic as there's plenty of massage parlor along the street.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank StevenYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leakhena P, Director of Sales at Almond Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review on TripAdvisor, and for sharing your experience in detail! It was our pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and we are delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope your travel plans will included Almond Hotel in Cambodia. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again on a future trip.

With best regards,

Phal Leakhena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was my second visit to the Almond Hotel. I found my room to be clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was above average and the dining staff were very good. The hotel staff was VERY friendly and professional and helped me in anyway possible. For the price this is a really good hotel. As noted I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013 and based on that experience decided to return. I will return again as I am sure they stay consistent with their service.

Room Tip: The rooms above the Japanese restaurant are new and seemed more roomy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocoa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leakhena P, Director of Sales at Almond Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent visit to Almond Hotel in PP...!

We are pleasured that your stay was a good experience and thank you for the positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and assure you of our continued best attention.

Thanks & Best Wishes
Ms. Phal Leakhena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed in almond hotel phnom penh for 4 nights.
The stay was quite pleasant if not for the lack of communication from the hotel prior to arrival.

Correspondance with the hotel was frustrating as emails regarding method of payment, arranging for private cars for airport pick up and tours were ignored. Eventually I had to call the hotel a day before my travel and then it was confirmed instantly via another email sent and returned!

Checking into hotel was quick and I was upgraded to a spacious room with a spacious balcony. Room was very clean and staff were generally helpful and friendly. My room which faces the main street was very noisy at night from the bustling traffic.

The restaurant / cafe on the ground floor serves reasonable meals. Breakfast is reasonable for the room rate. What it lacks is a better ventilated corner for guests to have a relaxed drink. While having a drink one has to endure the strong food smell almost all day.

The Chinese restaurant serves refine dim sum and delicious dishes. However the quality of tea is very average! In fact, the oolong tea and the pu er tea tasted exactly the same!

Wifi was free but slow and interrupted every time one leaveS the room to the cafe and so forth. It has to be reconnected manually all the time. As much as three or four times a day!

There is no swimming pool but there is a small gymn on the top floor which has a good view of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony which is more spacious. If you are a light sleeper you might want to...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limtfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leakhena P, Director of Sales at Almond Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warmest Greeting From Almond Hotel in PP...!

With regard to your commend on TripAdvisor, on be half of management team. I would like to say thank for your kind to share with us all the points.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in PP.

Thanks & Best Wishes,
Ms. Phal Leakhena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Small hotel but great location. Room small but very clean, friendly and helpful staff, hot water and aircon working well. 5 minutes walk to the river front, Royal Palace, National museum. It also very close to the business areas in Phnom Penh. food court area around the hotel just only 2 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leakhena P, Director of Sales at Almond Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warmest Greeting From Almond Hotel in PP...!

On be half of management team, I would like to say thanks for your supporting us and commend on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in future.

Thanks & Best Wishes,
Ms. Phal Leakhena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
Shaly Boutique Hotel
Shaly Boutique Hotel
#88 of 272 in Phnom Penh
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Almond Hotel Bassac River
Almond Hotel Bassac River
#68 of 272 in Phnom Penh
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residia at Silvertown
Residia at Silvertown
#116 of 272 in Phnom Penh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
#96 of 272 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#78 of 272 in Phnom Penh
64 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rain Rock Hotel
Rain Rock Hotel
#136 of 272 in Phnom Penh
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: N 128F Sothearos Blvd | corner of Russian Embassy, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £34 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almond Hotel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal hotel for your visit to Phnom Penh! The Almond Hotel is a walk away from landmarks such as Independence Monument and the Royal Palace, Embassy area, shopping area (Aeon Mall), Convention center ( Diamond Island). Visit the local tourist attractions including Wat Phnom, the national museums and the beautiful riverside along the Tonle Sap, Bassac River and Mekong Rivers. Arrange Phnom Penh city tour, guides, St21( Toul Sleng Museum), Killing field, Visa extension, air tickets, hotel in Siem Reap, Sihanoukville, 24-hours doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Almond Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing