We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous dining”
Review of Romdeng

Romdeng
Ranked #46 of 1,748 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open Monday to Sunday from 11am to 11pm (kitchen closes 10pm) Romdeng is set in a beautiful colonial building whose wooden carvings, tables, chairs and unique lights were all hand made in Cambodia. The silk goods and cushions adorning Romdeng were made by our students in sewing training at Mith Samlanh and its walls are hung with beautiful paintings produced by young people from the art classes there. All of this plus a pool, free WIFI, a family area and a gift shop mean a visit to Romdeng is a must.
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This is one place we had to book a table for. Extremely popular for dinner. It was packed but service was still done efficiently by the trainee staff and their supervisors. A cold beer went down very nicely with the food which was all really delicious. We lost our nerve to have the spiders although the tables around us were tucking in with relish. We had duck gyoza which were very nice. I ordered the beef with stir fried red ants and loved it. Spicy and slightly citrusy in flavours. There was much chat between the tables as spiders and other delicacies were admired and shared.
We got to meet a poor old live spider before he was returned to the kitchen !
It was a fun meal and it put a smile on our faces. We bought some handicrafts in the little shop area. I would have gone again another night if we had had time.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 772 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2016

I was not sure about a "training restaurant for marginalized youth" but this presented itself as a proper restaurant and the food was good. Our guide recommended it and we were not disappointed. We had been on the road for 2 weeks and too tired for the ants eggs, and no sign of a tarantula - although clearly it is a local delicacy. The food was well put together and interesting choices - made a change from the usual set meal.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

A lovely evening spent dining in a garden setting at Romdeng. Crispy duck spring rolls and banana fritters superb! I didn't see a tarantula all night! Another excellent training venture.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

When you enter this oasis you get a good first impression. The service was the best we experienced in Phnom Penn. we tried several dishes and all of them were excellent. Yes, it is full of tourists with few, if any, locals but do not let this deter you. Perhaps you can try some street food another time.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Sranstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Related to Friends, this is also a training restaurant just more upmarket
the food was excellent as was the service

Tables are set in the walled garden of a colonial house and there is even a swimming pool.

It was a bit tricky to find walking so take a Tuk- Tuk if youre not good with maps or directions as you dont want to miss it. We went for lunch but I would make sure I book ahead if I was going for dinner

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romdeng also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Romdeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing