We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location!!”
Review of Cozyna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cozyna Hotel
Ranked #128 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Love the location!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We've stayed here twice... a year apart!
We had a front balcony room.... well worth the extra few dollars, as the hotel is on a wonderful part of the riverfront.
Just a few minutes of walking brings you to countless cafes, bars and restaurants.
The reception staff speak limited English, but are very helpful.
The wifi is good...there is also a computer downstairs for public use.
There's always a tuktuk or six outside the front door. They will hassle you.... but there are far more tuktuks than customers....and the guys have to feed their families.
If you find a driver you like, you can have him at your disposal, and the other drivers will usually leave you alone!
The hotel is within a few minutes of the Central market...a longish walk or $2 tuktuk ride.
The river is a great place for a walk.
The tuktuk drivers will offer to take you to the killing fields and genocide museum. IMHO it's a bit of a long and uncomfortable ride.... there are numerous travel agents that can offer you the same trip in an airconditioned minibus for the same price.
If you're into people-watching a balcony room is perfect. The locals exercise opposite the hotel on the riverfront....they've even built some workout equipment...like an adult playground!
There are also exercise classes every evening, that tourists can join in with too, for a very small fee!
There's traffic noise most of the day......but it's not unbearable...and I'm a fairly light sleeper!
The hotel has a huge heavy wooden staircase...very traditional. No elevators, but the staff will willingly carry your bags up for you.
The beds are comfy, and the AC works well.
All in all,it's a reasonably-priced hotel, with decent facilities. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like people-watching... choose a balcony room. If you like silence...choose an inside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamasue111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
49
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in Cozyna twice during my stay in Phnom Penh. During our first stay, we just got a regular room. Bathroom is a bit small, one space for shower and toiled, but it's relatively clean. Sheets are clean. On our second stay we asked to get a room with a balcony, wonderful choice, it has a nice view of the river (not bad for 30/40 dollars), it's a shame though that we checked in late and checked out early.

Warning: No elevators in here.
Great: I think this is the best price you can get for this location.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars get the room with a balcony if available. Get rooms on lower floors because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippinorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a 3rd floor room at the Cozyna hotel for U$33 per night. As others have said, this is an old hotel and it has no lift. The room was lovely and large, with a balcony facing the Mekong. The room has a TV, a/c and tea and coffee making facilities. The Cozyna is sandwiched between two more expensive hotels, so really represents good value for money – you all share the same view! There is some road noise, but we did not find this a problem and actually slept very well there.


The bathroom was nice, though the wiring on the shower was a bit dangerous. We did find that the shower head sprayed the whole bathroom, so solved this by holding it in one hand whilst showering.

The hotel operates a safe in reception, where they will store your valuables in a sealed envelope. Generally we also felt very safe in the hotel We noted they have CCTV on each floor. The room was cleaned every day.

There are many restaurants within walking distance, including the well known Foreign Correspondents Club. There are tuk tuk drivers outside, but they did not cause any problems.

We found staff to be friendly and helpful. Cold drinks are available to purchase in reception (water, coke, beer), which was handy for a cold beer on the balcony in the evening whilst watching people on the exercise machines over the road (still in use at 10pm!).
So, a good choice in Pnomh Penh and we’d stay there again.

Room Tip: The view from the balcony is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pier21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just spent 3 very good nights at the Cozyna Hotel along the Tonle Sap River in Phnom Penh. Excellent location with very good restaurants next door and most tourist sights within walking distance. We booked an interior room at only $20/night (after negotiating down from $23/night) for 2 people.
The bed was excellent, the air con a real pleasure after tramping around the city all day, cable t.v. with more channels than we could possibly watch, and the interior room was very quiet for a good night's sleep. Bathroom was a bit dangerous since the shower was over the tub but no curtain or door to keep the water from going all over the floor. Had to exercise extra caution stepping down/out of the tub onto the very slippery floor.
Tuk tuk touts always present outside the door but if you just ignore them they aren't really a problem (just trying to make a living after all). Minimal service available at the hotel/from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, cooler and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Shower head is fitted outside of the shower making showering a pain, sink in bathroom kept blocking, light on balcony didn't work, balcony railings very low so insist on lower floor if traveling with young children, I was on top floor and no lift, stairs are a pain especially if you have had a few drinks, constantly pestered by tuk tuk drivers at main doors, but location is good and overlooking the river, traffic can be noisy at night, I know the above sounds like I'm only picking the negatives but I'm being honest, this hotel is ok for someone who's not too fussy, in hindsight I think I could have gotten better

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Could be anywhere
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Well, if you are livin' on the cheap, I reckon it's alright. I've stayed there a few nights, but not enjoyed any of them really. Cell-like rooms, rooms near the street are filled with street noise all night. I requested a first floor (above ground floor) room a month in advance, when I arrived, I was put on the third floor anyway. I had a lot of heavy luggage with me and had requested the first floor intentionally. Staff always seems lazy, and unwilling to do anything to improve your stay. For $20 I guess you can't complain...I'll just go somewhere else and happily spend more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is a beautiful Khmer hotel with lots of dark rich wood. The rooms were nice and as usual we wanted a balcony and got it. One night the traffic on the street below was virtually nonstop all night and we thought we would get no sleep but the next night it wasn't bad. In all we stayed three nights. There is a smell coming from the sewage treatment just up the street and if the wind is blowing your way you cannot get away from. We were at another hotel previously a few blocks away and the smell was there also. Once again we loved the location. There was lots to do and see day and night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#62 of 269 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#209 of 269 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
River-Star Hotel
River-Star Hotel
#203 of 269 in Phnom Penh
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 269 in Phnom Penh
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#105 of 269 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#163 of 269 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozyna Hotel

Property: Cozyna Hotel
Address: No. 1A, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cozyna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozyna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozyna Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing