We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but hotel poor”
Review of Cozyna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cozyna Hotel
Ranked #132 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great location, but hotel poor”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great location overlooking the Riverside promenade. Arrived after long travel from Bangkok, & a hour in a taxi to travel 8km from the airport, to be told my top-floor room overlooking the river not have WIFI, even though they advertise WIFI in all areas. Not a great start.

Walked up to my room, overlooking the river, put bags down, closed door, put AC on, & then heard loud gushing noise of water from the bathroom. Opened the door, to find a male member of staff sitting on my toilet having a number 2 !!!!. Never experienced this in any hotel in the world before. He jumped up, clothes around his ankles & closed the door, before leaving my room a few minutes later, saying sorry, sorry. Just unbelievable.

The room was large, great balcony to sit on & watch whats going on, fridge was unplugged for some reason, & bathtub needed a shower curtain to stop the floor getting wet. Mattress on the bed was bad, woke up with back ache every morning. No safe in room, just a 2 drawer filing cabinet at reception that everything goes into. The staff at reception were pretty good & helpful

The road outside was not too noisy during the night actually, much better than I expected, so slept ok, bearing in mind the poor mattress. Had no noise from within the hotel really at all

The hotel is in a fabulous location, but needs money spending on it to fulfil its potential, & the staff given their own toilets to use, rather than using those in empty hotel rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    49
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
49
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We got a good deal on a well known hotel booking website & the room seemed good value ($22 a night) as it was right on the riverfront. We had all mod cons, a/c, tv, fridge. There was even a bath tub, just no plug so it wasn't really much use. However, the room didn't have a window & there was the occasional smell of drains omitting from the bathroom. We were told we could have the room for 2 nights but if we stayed longer we would need to move to a similar room on a higher floor (there's no lift) so we confirmed that the price was the same & said we'd decide after checking out the competition. We didn't get a chance as we were informed next morning by a different member of staff that the price of $22 was a "special price" & the real price was $25. We found a hotel 2 minutes away where we got a nicer room with the same facilities plus a window looking over the riverfront for $20. All it didn't have was the bad smell!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyGreenteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Velden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Good located hotel along the Sisowath Quay boulevard. I stayed here two nights in a double room. Room was quite small without windows and airco because this room was cheaper than with river view. Although the temperature was not to warm in the room. because thick walls.
The beds are ok but expect no luxuries in this hotel. Also no safe in the room is stayed in and no breakfast in the hotel.

The hotel has on every floor nice balconies with river/street view. Staff is friendly and helpful with arranging trips and speak good english. In the end a good and cheap hotel for short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms without river/street view are cheaper, but are little bit moisty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenNL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great hospitalty, very clean but basic rooms. $23 usd per double room private with ac add $10 for river view. Literally across the street from the river. Very great location, walk to aton of bars, restaurants and markets. Very near to government palace. I recommend hiring a tuktuk for the day in Phnom Phen apprx $20-30 usd depending on your bartering abilities. Go visit the Russian market, the killing fields, the museums, the palaces etc... all within a single days adventure. Some type of mask or bandana to keep dust out of eyes and mouth is highly recomended while in cambodia especially on tuktuks we took the boat ride from penom penh to siam reap total cool way better than abus get to see the floating villages and great vantages the whole way for a great meal in penom penh check out friends restaurant run by Ngo's with street kids in rehab... for a crazy adventure in cambodia and a way to get away from the tourist is by going on cambodia dirt bike tours .com go really see cambodia half day to 7 days excursions available

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kootdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

When we arrived in Phnom Penh we checked in Cozyna for one night but stayed there for three! Its an excellent place at the river front with lovely staff. Very friendly and very helpfull (trips and visa etc).

For 15 dollar we had a day trip around PP with MARO the tuk tuk driver. Very nice guy and a good and honest guide. You can find him in front of Cozyna.

Breakfast you can find everywhere but there is a place called Titanic 4 minutes to the left from the hotel were it only costs 2.95 dollar.

The only recommendation we would like to give the hotel is to buy a new matras for room 207 as you can feel
the springs through the matras. They worked it out right away with extra blankets though.

Nothing to worry for this price in PP with Cozyna!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroliene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed 3 nights here. had a room with no window so no view, but that meant no traffic noise either. a/c worked properly but shower had to be fixed a couple of times.

clean and quiet for 21usd in a wonderful location

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have been staying here for ten years. I arrived late on Tuesday night and was out early Wednesday. back on Thursday night and out Friday.
Same reliable clean and no frills service in a great location.
Thanks again -

Room Tip: Ask for one closer to the wifi device...rooms facing the river can be noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePeters64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#155 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#72 of 267 in Phnom Penh
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
River-Star Hotel
River-Star Hotel
#207 of 267 in Phnom Penh
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 267 in Phnom Penh
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#101 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozyna Hotel

Property: Cozyna Hotel
Address: No. 1A, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cozyna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozyna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozyna Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing