We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Restaurant

Mama's Restaurant
Ranked #863 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Yet again LP gets in wrong and was well wide of the mark with this one. It is cheap, but really not that inspiring food or setting.

Is it me or does every place recommended in the LP go downhill after it gets a good review.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank welsh_matt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great for delivery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

There's only one Mama's New York Deli in Phnom Penh - it's just that it doesn't look like a deli, and New York is where Mama used to live, hence the staff t-shirts and framed prints on the walls. It is not the best bet for visitors because it is difficult to find and doesn't have a lot of atmosphere, but it does have great-tasting homemade-style food. It's on the busy Street 63 -- one street over from Gasolina restaurant. I'd recommend getting the free delivery (on orders over $5.00); that's what a lot of expats get. She's open every day from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and I believe all her food is good but I especially like her generous-sized, tasty, spaghetti with meatballs or penne pasta dishes for only $3.75. Shakes are good and she made me a custom-ordered side dish of fresh carrots, tomatoes, and celery with ranch dressing. Alternatively, since it's along the way to the Russian Market, you could stop for lunch since Russian Market only has KFC. Her restaurants' been written up in the local papers and magazines.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mongoose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This simply is New York deli! Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I am a very regular customer of Mama's Deli in Phnom Penh. I eat there at least a few times per month and love to catch up with Mama herself on her stories. One true good-hearted Cambodian lady!

But mostly I order for delivery (too bad she closes after 8pm) and she's giving me a hard time to choose between the beef burger with bacon, cheese and pickles, that smooth chicken burger or the meat ball sandwich. Add the fries to it and you have yourself a splendid belly filling meal.

Total recommendation for any body in Phnom Penh, this is the only real Deli in town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RamonInTheTropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Food is fine,cheap but not the cheapest,nothing special,portions vary-depending on the day or the amount of ingredients perhaps?
We asked if we could get a plain omelet without bread and Mama was ready to sell us an omelet made out of 2eggs for 1$, come on it's Cambodia,we get omelets for 35-50cent here.We said it's expensive for 2eggs and she laughed and started shouting to family members and totally ignored us afterwards.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matylda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“homey but a bit out of the way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Mama is a Cambodian woman who spent 20+ years in New York and came back to Phnom Penh a couple of years ago to open her restaurant. basic, tasty pastas, nice bread, salads and other home cooked fare in a very casual cafe. Apparently great bagels, though we didn't have them.
Mama herself is more NY than PPH, a great character with a oyal following.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckyfishsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Mama's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing