We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old restaurant on a new place”
Review of Mount Everest

Mount Everest
Ranked #160 of 1,414 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pakistani, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The mount everest Indian restaurant is located next to the independent monument. Its offers fine authentic Indian cuisine , typical dishes , greatly appreciated by the customers. You will be delighted with the generous portions and attentive service. No need to be a connoisseur of Indian cuisine to enjoy the delights of the Mount Everest Indian restaurant !
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
231 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“The old restaurant on a new place”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

First time I was in the Mount Everest Restaurant in 2000 and every visit in PP I have been in that restaurant.

In 2011 they moved to the 294th street between 51st and 63rd street.

The staff is - as always - very friendly and there is a good atmosphere in the restaurant. The food is simply great and was the best we got in Phnom Penh.

We ordered butter chicken, Chicken Mount Everest, yellow rice, garlic nan and a coke for $ 18.
If they had wine per glass we would have ordered it but they offered it only per bottle and that was too much for lunch.
Water you get free here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant so far in Phnom penh”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I love this restaurant. The restaurant is well managed and the staff are so trained that they care of u like a home. you will feel a home like environment at this restaurant and your desire will be to come back again and agian to this restaurant. I really like their mango lassi and Mix fruit lassi are superb. Jehan zeb is the restaurant owner and manager and he is always happy to welcome u.

I am sharing their menu I get from the website Door2Door. Not full menu


01 Delhi Ka / Chicken / Mutton Samosa (4 pcs) $3.00 / $3.50 / $4.50

02 Chicken Tikkaskewered chicken (boneless) $5.50

03 Chicken Sheekh Kebabfine $6.00

04 Fish Ka Tikkacubes of fresh fish nurtured in yoghurt based marinade delicately grilled in the tandoor $4.50

05 Kadahi Paneerdices of cottage cheese cooked with capsicum and fresh tomatoes accented with coriander seeds and kadhi and black pepper $6.00

06 Khile Phool / Aloo Gobitiny florets of cauliflower, stir fried on a griddle with tomatoes and fresh coriander $5.00

07 Baingan Masalaeggplant / brinjal cubes cooked with Indian spices $4.00

08 Malai Koftadeep fried minced vegetable balls mixed with cottage cheese cooked in cream sauce $5.00

09 Aloo Muttergreen peas, potatoes cooked in a rich gravy $4.50

10 Aloo Stuffed Masalapotato barrels encasing a blend of cottage cheese and spices slow cooked in a gravy $4.00

11 Dall Khazanathe black lentil delicacy, incorporating garlic and tomato puree cooked overnight on the tandoor, finished with cream served with home churned butter $4.50

12 Chicken Makhni (Butter Chicken)deboned pieces of charcoal grilled chicken cooked in rich tomato gravy finished with cream and home churned butter $7.00

13 Chicken Currytraditional chicken curry spiced to order $4.00

14 Chicken Saagwaalaboneless chicken pieces cooked spinach sauce $4.50

15 Chicken Dopyaazaboneless chicken pieces cooked with slices of onion, tomatoes, capsicum in rich gravy $5.00

16 Mutton Kadahiboneless mutton pieces cooked with onion, tomatoes, capsicum in rich gravy $7.00

17 Mutton Khaas Qormaboneless pieces of mutton breast in tradition turmeric free qorma gravy $6.50

18 Fish Tikka Masalaboneless fish chunks charcoal grilled cooked in rich tomato gravy $5.00

19 Prawn Currytraditional prawn curry, spiced to order $5.00

20 Tandoori Rotian unleavened wheat bread baked in the clay oven $0.90

21 Mutton / Chicken / Subzi Saffron Biryanithe pluperfect rice delicacy of choices of cuts of mutton/chicken/vegetables slowly cooked with finest rice $6.00 / 5.00 / 4.00

22 Vegetable Thali(2 curries, nan, rice papad, raitha) mix vegetable, daal spinach and potato $6.50

23 Non Vegetable Thali(2 curries, chicken, mutton, nan, rice, papad, raitha) mutton / chicken, mix vegetable and daal

This is not the full menu. Their are many things not included in it. So try this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Fazl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Jehan Jahan Khana Wahan”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Jehan Manages this restaurant very well, His staff are trained right from the way they welcome you till they see you off at the door, awesome experience, gives you a kind of home feeling. The Mango Lassi, Mutton Biriyani, Tandoor Chicken were the best here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank MohanRamBIGFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“kitsch... but very good!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I love this restaurant... The setting is really kitsch, the menu sticky and dirty... but the two owners are always happy to welcome you, the service is *****, and the food is very good. Tried the goat biryani and loved it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank jinggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Where do i start?

Unlimited popadums from the moment you walk in the door.

Fantastic service.

Comprehensive menu and delicious food everytime.

Great value.

We have gone here weekly for months and still don't tire of this restaurant. It has become our regular and the food tastes as great as it did the first day we went.

As they say "Serving Phnom Penh from 15 years"!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ByronDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Everest also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Mount Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing