We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a crap place”
Review of Walkabout Hotel

Walkabout Hotel
Ranked #1,014 of 1,442 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian, International
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“What a crap place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I did not actually eat there - a quick look was enough to turn me off. Looks dirty and sleezy. Don't support such places if you can avoid them

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Australiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    17
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

In need of a freshen up, but has a been around forever charm
Quite a mix of girls iv spoken to and spent time with a few of them
and had an altercation or 2 with them I had to get hotel security to remove a Vietnamese girl from my room
The BGM [bar girl mafia ]of which there a number of clichés in the walkabout can give you the cold shoulder if you upset one of there group off it all blows over eventually tho
good place to find a freelancer but I think Golden sorya mall will take over soon as being the top place for freelancers but remember there no security checking IDs in golden sorya so take precautions about your poccessions if you take one back to ya room

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Not really that good experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I did not stay at the walkabout hotel, but did visit there bar/restaurant. I did have a small snack there which was ok, but I felt a bit ripped off when afterwards I ordered a whiskey cola. It seems that they dont serve mixed drinks so you have to buy a cola seperately, so that adds up. They also wanted me to pay after each order, maybe for the tips, so there was no possibilty to pay at the end just once .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sammypla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dont bring your wife”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Food is very good at this local dive. The concrete tables and sleezy attitude makes the bar somewhere you wouldn't want to bring your mother or wife. Believe me some guys do.

The place is packed on Friday for the joker drawing and quickly clears out. Some of the barflies look as if they have been at this place since the Vietnam war. One girl told me she was 22, I dont think she's seen 22 sine 1822.

If you are single and looking for a good meal on a Friday night then this is an ok place to go to. Otherwise find another place to go to. It will help you in the long run.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Forget it....”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The only good thing are the mixed fruit shakes. Full of prostit.... and nasty men. Seems to be an institution, for a certain kind of travelers. Surprised it is even listed on TA.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkabout Hotel also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Walkabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing