We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”
Review of Walkabout Hotel

Walkabout Hotel
Ranked #1,016 of 1,442 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian, International
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The food was terrible , a very dingy place , more of a girly bar , not much attention to service and food , more a watering hole to meet mates and girls

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank adda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    17
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dongara, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Working girls vs seedy men”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed just for one drink. It was humorous for a little while but then realised the severity and left. Beer was cold

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“What a crap place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I did not actually eat there - a quick look was enough to turn me off. Looks dirty and sleezy. Don't support such places if you can avoid them

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Australiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

In need of a freshen up, but has a been around forever charm
Quite a mix of girls iv spoken to and spent time with a few of them
and had an altercation or 2 with them I had to get hotel security to remove a Vietnamese girl from my room
The BGM [bar girl mafia ]of which there a number of clichés in the walkabout can give you the cold shoulder if you upset one of there group off it all blows over eventually tho
good place to find a freelancer but I think Golden sorya mall will take over soon as being the top place for freelancers but remember there no security checking IDs in golden sorya so take precautions about your poccessions if you take one back to ya room

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Not really that good experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I did not stay at the walkabout hotel, but did visit there bar/restaurant. I did have a small snack there which was ok, but I felt a bit ripped off when afterwards I ordered a whiskey cola. It seems that they dont serve mixed drinks so you have to buy a cola seperately, so that adds up. They also wanted me to pay after each order, maybe for the tips, so there was no possibilty to pay at the end just once .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sammypla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkabout Hotel also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Walkabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing