We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Nordic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nordic House
Ranked #96 of 321 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in Nordic House. We were in one of the rather small rooms facing onto the back alley. We did find the room very small but the bed was big and very comfortable. Everything was very clean though especially the sheets. We found the location brilliant for exploring PP and was great value, they even did our laundry for free.
No rooster related noise problems as commented on in some other reviews, there was some construction noise during the day time but this always fell silent in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    21
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
14
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was staying there 5 days in july after moving a couple of times from other hotels close by. Reason was the kind Norvegian manager and the Scandinavian food, I am Norwegian and have been staying a lot in Thailand. To eat the Norwegian meat balls, potato ang gravy was like heaven to me, same with the lamb dinner. I must admit I eat there 4 nights........ When I first checked in I got room number 12 (3 floor)where the manager told me it is not finished yet, because it has a BIG balcony area where he is planning to make it like a working area with table, hammock ,flowers, greenery etc. And it will have a kitchen corner inside, where you can make your own food etc. So later it will suit people who stay longer, working, writing etc. But for me I had some problems with sleeping when the ladyboys outside made it to the street about 3am.... So next day I canged room to the back, very quiet apart from the crazy rooster at 5am every day. The room was quite small, but everything clean, and the shower, aircon was working well. The staff very helpful and nice. Maybee for room 12, changing the window from asian to scandinavian type will solve all noisy problems, or wear earplugs (I not like)

arild

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arild k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia, S.A.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I had taken a card to this place the last time I was in Phnom Penh and decided to try something new. The restaurant downstairs was always full and did serve good food, but that's where the good to this place ends. I checked into one room where the noise was obscene, from the back alley neighbors yelling and boozing it up all night to the pair of talking roosters (yes, in the middle of the city) sounding off at 4 in the morning - every morning.
I was moved to a different room, where the Air Con was broken. As I sat in my room I was soaking wet from sweat. I told the manager, where he moved me again to a different room, back to the side where the roosters were going nuts at 4 am again, as well as the drunks all night.
I was moved again to a decent room, finally, but after the manager began insulting me after I simply asked him if there was a cinema in town ("if you want American movie, go to america, this is cambodia", among other mouthing off about me needing to be moved so many times)I moved out of that hotel, something I should have done after the first move.
Bottom line, there are WAY better options than this place - don't waste your time here-simply not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Disclaimer first: I did not stay in this hotel but couldn't find a way to only review the restaurant.

During my 4 nights in Phnom Penh, this was my regular breakfast, lunch and dinner place. Absolutely great Scandinavian food for very reasonable prices (slightly pricier than the local food, mainly due to imported special food). Had the large breakfast one morning, was absolutely massive even for me. Owner really nice as well as the new manager. Not sure about the rooms, but if you're looking for a place to eat nice and relax in a central location, this is it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I had a very enjoyable stay at Nordic House. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was big and comfortable. It's right in the heart of the action, by the riverside and amongst the bars and restuarants in Phnom Penh - you couldn't ask for a better location.
The food there is good too, though sadly not included in the price.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Stayed for 3 nights during Janauary 2010 in this nice guesthouse. The room was small with a wetroom / toilet but decently priced at $15. Bed was comfy and there was a TV although zero view. Laundry services was provided for free which was a nice surprise. The owner and staff are all very helpful. Resturant food was ok. Location is great on the riverside and the royal palace is within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risiffrutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

There are some excellent cheaply priced rooms in this hotel (not quite backpacker cheap), and some khmer style weird ones which are even cheaper. The best thing about the Nordic is the woman who runs the place. She is extremely sweet and will try and accommodate your every whim. It's basically on Riverside, so close to everything you need to be near. Restaurants, cafes, markets and all the major tourists attractions. All the staff are friendly, and the larger rooms you could live in. Occasionally it's a little bit noisy due to it's location. Great for a couple, or a bachelor.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natachaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#148 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#202 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse
Velkommen Guesthouse
#14 of 321 in Phnom Penh
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Local - Riverside
The Local - Riverside
#124 of 321 in Phnom Penh
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Point Boutique Hotel
Point Boutique Hotel
#77 of 267 in Phnom Penh
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic House

Property: Nordic House
Address: No. 22 Street 136 | Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nordic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing