We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible dirty place!”
Review of Kambuja Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kambuja Inn
Ranked #97 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible dirty place!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautiful old building and a huge room with balcony. However, the room was covered in dust as if it had been closed up for years. I had to show the cleaning staff where to clean it - couldn't even put things down on the bed table, it was so dirty. USED plaster on the floor. Place is disgusting! A keyring full of keys was sitting on a bannister at the top of the landing for at least 2 hours. Our room key was probably on it.
Location on a quiet street. Staff nice enough but do not know how to carry out a good service. Breakfast was poor. Never saw more than 1 other couple at the hotel. No surprise why.
The courtyard has bats. I hated this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
28
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

French charm and large rooms at a very good price. Quiet area. Free breakfast too. Decent WIFI. Helpful staff. Good shower and tea and kettle in the rooms. Good retreat for couples from the less endearing bars in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This place was just jaw-dropping. The location was great, but the look and feel of this beautiful old villa was what made the stay here so amazing. Not only was the room the size of an apartment, but the authentic tiling and wooden French shutters opening onto a lovely balcony really made it feel like I'd stepped back into colonial times, but with all the modern conveniences you need such as aircon and wifi! Last but not least, the staff were some of the friendliest I'd met on my trip and would bend over backwards to ensure you have a great stay. Tip: on a hot afternoon grab an ice-cold beer and chill out in the courtyard!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Not really sure why someone would label kambuja inn as a boutique. It does not charge boutique prices so you get what you pay for and that is a very safe, comfortable place to stay in the heart of Phnom Penh . I discovered this place in 2004 and came back again for a few years until it was discovered and became hard to book in high season. It has a very warm and welcoming charm. The owner is friendly the staff I feel are trustworthy. There is a safe box in the room which you do not get for a 30 usd room anywhere. This included free breakfast which you can choose from porridge or oatmeal , pancakes or eggs and french roll. I was even expecting to pay around 5 usd for my washing but even most of that was complimentary and ended being charged 50 cents. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a room that is under 50usd.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10-06-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was a relief to return mid day to rest and in the evening to Kambuja Inn during my 5 day stay in Phnom Penh. The staff were extraordinarily kind and helpful, the location was ideal on a side street, the old French mansion turned into a charming hotel was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good The family owners encourage sustainable service (your choice if towels and bed sheets are changed daily), 0 tolerance on room use for prostitution and they support Friends restaurants, Friends and Romdeng, that train street kids in culinary arts and restaurant management. They are a hotel with a social conscience. Thanks to all the staff for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandhopper244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed at Kambuja Inn for just a couple of days after arriving in Phnom Penh while I was looking for a hotel closer to the water front for a 2 month stay.

Kambuja is a well run and very neat boutique hotel in a renovated double storey original Phnom Penh residence in a quiet street well away from any ‘tourist’ area. The hotel has a very pleasant garden and water feature environment but the rooms have the most basic of amenities (no fridge, desk reading light) and are very dark.

The complimentary breakfast was not very substantial which was a minor concern considering there were no other restaurants or food stalls nearby, but the family who run the place were very friendly and helpful with information about Phnom Penh city, travels and tours around Cambodia, but their children were running around all day making noise and there was a baby crying on and off all day which I found very annoying.

Their ‘insistence’ on cash payment up front each day was also a little irritating.

Room Tip: I was in a rear,ground floor courtyard room, excellent sleep quality and no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianP660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I moved here after cutting back my stay at the Silver River Hotel and was very very glad I did so. Kambuja Inn is less than 500 meters from the Silver River Inn but it feels like it is in a completely different area. The street outside is clean, not too many shops, less busy but mostly importantly the hotels is what it states it is. It is small and intimate and the staff make you feel at home right from the start. I think this hotel is a converted villa and therefore feels more homey. The room is large and so is the bathroom. While the room decor is not the latest, and I liked it that way because it didn't feel commercialized and cheap, it offered all the amenities. The TV was a little dated but I didn't care because it wasn't in the way and I never turn it on anyways. The staff was very attentive and helpful. They guided me well and even setup my bus trip to Saigon immediately. At night they shutter the front and it feels safe because there is a guard who is right there. This is unlike the other hotel where sleaze was walking in and out. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#112 of 267 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#160 of 267 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richly Boutique Hotel
Richly Boutique Hotel
#108 of 322 in Phnom Penh
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town View Hotel Khan Daun Penh
Town View Hotel Khan Daun Penh
#80 of 233 in Phnom Penh
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 233 in Phnom Penh
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambuja Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambuja Inn

Property: Kambuja Inn
Address: 8-10 Street 174 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kambuja Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kambuja Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambuja Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing