We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, price”

Golden Mekong Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Mekong Hotel
Ranked #173 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Great location if you are sightseeing. Good price if you are a couple. Close to National Museum and Palace. Many restaurants nearby but none at hotel. The Shop - a great bakery and coffee house is a couple of minutes walk away for breakfast. The hotel itself is very reasonable price- wise for PP but you get what you pay for. Its small and sandwiched between other buildings. No views but fairly quiet. Our first floor room had a window that looked out on a wall two feet away!! Other rooms have no windows but in this case it does not matter. The hotel is really a guesthouse since the family lives in an apartment on the first floor front. Guest rooms are in a separate section on the first floor rear and on the ground floor. Our partially handicapped companion was given a ground floor room that he said was fine. Free wifi was good in the common area on the first floor but not the room, and good in the lobby. Rooms were kept clean and laundry service was fine. The staff if not effusive was efficient and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RheaGray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Golden Mekong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2009

Booked this hotel as i was having trouble booking other hotels in PP as i was getting no response from them. Looking at their webiste it seemed ok but seemed strange that i couldnt find any reviews for the place anywhere on the internet (even though it is in the lonely planet - but not on their website).

The hotel although next to the palace is a little bit out of the way of where all the restaurants are so had a 5/10 walk to get food at night. The room i had was also very very small with no windows and a generally not that clean. In the end i moved hotels after the first night to the Paragon Hotel on the quayside (having looked at a few before deciding to move). Slightly more expensive but much much more enjoyable and much better location.

I would definitely recommend staying in one of the many budget hotels on the quayside and would definitely recommend the Paragon instead.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed here based on the strong recommendation of some fellow travellers who loved it, and the location was great: easy walking distance to the palace (hotel faces the rear wall) and the National Museum. Not that anyone walks in Phnom Penh! Also just around the corner is a strip of high-end expat-oriented cafes -- handy since there's no food at the hotel. The building is quite cute and traditional-looking from the outside but the rooms lack that character. All (8?) are on the ground floor, and several don't have windows. A fair amount of street/neighbourhood noise. Everything is new and clean however and bathroom had great water pressure. Our room was very small but OK price at US$17. There is a computer for guest use in the lobby. Staff were pleasant enough including the soldier who hung around and seemed to help with the housekeeping (family?). I don't seem to be articulating the "weird vibe" of the title very well -- I guess the soldier's gun freaked me out a bit and we also saw some "short-stay" guests. That said, very clean and decent and not in the main tourist cluster of hotels/tuk-tuks/touts along the river.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheapncheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maistasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Khmeroyal Hotel
Khmeroyal Hotel
#141 of 272 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#109 of 272 in Phnom Penh
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Hotel & Urban Resort - Phnom Penh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Mekong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Mekong Hotel

Address: 205A, Street 19 | Cheay Chum Neas, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing