We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise - a nice one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ranked #62 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A surprise - a nice one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a good lesson never to judge a book by its cover.

Upon arriving in this part of Phnom Penh, I wondered what this hotel would be like. The city is a rough and tough town and does not have the polish of many other Asian destinations. And the hotel fronts onto a noisy, busy street with the huge markets only metres away.

While I was shown to a nice street-facing room with a big balcony, I immediately insisted on a room at the back of the property, fearing the worst of a constant flow of noise with traffic throughout the night. The staff at the desk very politely promised the street was quiet by 10pm, but I could not be convinced. More fool me, as it turned out.

After dinner when returning to the hotel, the street was indeed quiet and this clean, friendly and well-appoinmted hotel was a welcome sight after some of the adventures I had on the streets of the city. No matter - the room at the back was great, just not as luxurious,

So, what is the hotel like? It is not fancy, but it is great and I would stay there again in a minute. It is clean, comfortable, safe and the staff are - for the most part - terrific. And there is a very nice pool too. This was an easy place to stay

Only two things the management might want to address.
In the breakfast room on the first morning, when I asked for an omelette (this was 8.30am), I was told the chef had finished. This is despite breakfast being until 10am, and the fact I had just watched another guest have an omelette made. Chef obviously just did not want to bother. Next morning was a different story so I am not sure what happened there.

The lock on my security box in my room was broken. I asked five times to get someone to fix it but it was not done. On the second day on my sixth request, I just stayed at the front desk until a maintenance staff member appeared and came to fix it.

One tip of advice - just go straight to the hotel website or any of the hotel booking sites to grab a room here. Why the travel agent charged me $55 per night more than the hotel or any of the travel sites for the exact same room remains a mystery.

Room Tip: Don't panic by the look of the street during the day. It does get very quiet at night. But the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasytravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    222
    123
    37
    5
See reviews for
67
168
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from the 15th July until the 17th July. The hotel came recommended and it certainly lived up to the recommendation. Our room overlooked the market which was pretty noisy from about 5am onwards but we still managed to get a good night sleep. Staff were pretty good and eager to help book tours etc. we ended up booking our tours at a travel agent on the riverside road as it was a bit cheaper. Breakfast upstairs on the roof was good. Decent selection of food and plenty of tables. Overall we had an enjoyable stay at the Ohana and would recommend this hotel to others considering a visit to Phnom Penh.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank floozytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel with a great and convenient location, rooms were nicely presented and the staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very average, overall I enjoyed staying at the ohana and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aust38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend and I stayed 2 nights here. We had pre-paid for our room and had no difficulty checking in. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The beds were large and despite being on the harder side, comfortable.

The location is right next to Kandal Market, but we couldn't hear any noise from it. In addition, the hotel is a short walk away from the Foreign Correspondents Club, day spas, coffee shops and silver shops.

The breakfast buffet was average to nice depending on the day.

The staff were friendly, helpful and kept the hotel clean.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Ohana for 3 nights and really enjoyed it we asked for a balcony pool view room which you can have one or the other so we choice the pool view whick was nice. The balcony rooms look ok but are looking straight over a small busy road which the markets start very early in the mornings. Our room was large and had everything you need and the staff are very helpful. Its central to everything and location is right on the riverside, heaps of restaurants and bars at your door step. The breakfast was good heaps to choice from would stay there again good hotel for the price you pay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkwood, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great hotel in an very central location. Not exactly as advertised but still well worth staying. A few steps from the riverfront, close to markets and the staff are friendly and helpful. The waterfront was abundant in restaurants and bars which all were inexpensive and clean. The breakfast at the hotel had a great choice of dishes that varied each day. Overall a very good value place to stay. Congratulations to the Staff.

Room Tip: Most of the balcony rooms are over the street which is ok but the smell from the markets could be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binangonan, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel in very good location right on the riverside boulevard in the center of Phnom Pen simoom. Not using the tuk-tuk you can walk to the palace complex, take a walk around the city center and the river. The hotel has all the facilities needed to operate without reservations, very nice and friendly service. Beautifully situated on the rooftop restaurant overlooking the city, the river and the bustling morning market. Recommend on multi-day tour of Phnom Pen and surrounding area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pillar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#52 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#93 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
20.1 mi away
Niron Boutique Hotel
Niron Boutique Hotel
#92 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel

Property: Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Address: #4-6 St 148 | Sangkat, Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Duan Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Hotel Castle)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel is a deluxe boutique hotel in Phnom Penh, situated a 1 minute walk from the delightful Tonle Sap and Mekong Rivers. The rooftop restaurant and SkyBar offer wonderful views across the city and rivers, as well as featuring a hot-tub and jacuzzi where you can relax and watch the sun set whilst sipping a cocktail. The hotel is on a quiet street, yet very close to a wide selection of bars and restaurants, and the major tourist attractions of the Royal Palace and National Museum and within easy walking distance. The Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel is ideally located for both leisure and business travelers with a dedicated team committed to an excellent standard of service. We really look forward to welcoming you to our hotel and ensuring you have a wonderful stay in Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing