We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap”

Phnom Penh City Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phnom Penh City Hotel
Ranked #162 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The price was very cheap,and the location was very good.There is a lucky surpmarket nearby.The room was not very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank long z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Phnom Penh City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Room and bathroom could have been a lot cleaner. There was an ant infestation in my room - and they made their way into my bags. Having said that, my bed was the most comfortable of all the hotels (some much more expensive) I satyed in during my time in Cambodia. The room was pretty quiet. The area was nothing special - but only a short ride away from better areas. There are quiet a few restaurants and cafes nearby. The staff were pretty helpful, they let me sit in the office and print out a few things - and changed my room because the tv was not 100%. All in all it is an ok cheap hotel for a night or two. Could do better - but could do a let worse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Helped organize bus tickets and transfers. Looked after our luggage while we were travelling around Cambodia. They have a shop on the bottom floor. We stayed in a tripple room with a big window towards the street. The room quality varies so ask for a room with a big window towards the street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saskia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Dirty, smelly rooms, much too expensive.
The bedsheets were very dirty and full of spots, unclean bathroom.
A lot of noise from outside.

Note: if you book with booking.com, they have a wrong address of the hotel, the right address i street 63, number 157 (instead of number 57).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We found finding a hotel in PP quite difficult due to the plethora of mixed reviews. This was the cheapest option that wasn't completely bagged. At $16 a night it's cheap (although they tried to charge $17 for an extra night). No breakfast or restaurant. The room/bathroom was tidy but not clean at all. A/C worked well which was essential. Over 4 floors but there is no lift. Internet not always working. Most staff don't speak English. Manager was helpful. Safety was not an issue and the neighbourhood seemed safe enough. I wouldn't stay again but couldn't tell you where is better...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_watson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

1. On 4th of April 2011, we booked our first night(for 5th April 2011) at the Phnom Penh City Hotel through booking.com with the rate of USD 17, using a debit card. we received a confirmation email stating that our booking is then confirmed and guaranteed using our credit card (debit card). by the email, we assumed that the payment for the first night has been made, but upon arriving at the hotel, the guy checking us in told us that the payment for that night hasn't been charged and he demanded us paying him cash. so we did, bearing in mind to check our bank balance at the nearest ATM after freshing up. And, yes, the balance was untouched, they were there in our bank account at that moment. The guy at the counter also showed us our booking at Booking.com during the check in. On the third day, upon checking out on 7th April 2011 (we spent two nights at the hotel, paying each night by CASH. we still have the receipt), and after 6 hours in the Phnom Penh-Saigon bus, arrving in Saigon, we wanted to draw money using the same debit card that we used to book Phnom Penh City Hotel, and the balance that was present in the account has now decreased by the total of USD 17 (the SAME amount for the booking we made at the hotel) though we never used the card for other expenses. We realised, THEY CHARGED US AFTER WE CHECKED OUT. AFTER THEY ARE SURE THEY'VE GOT RID OF US, THAT WE WON'T RETURN TO PHNOM PENH ASKING FOR OUR MONEY BACK. what's more interesting is, that we received an email from Booking.com yesterday (11th of April 2011) informing us that the hotel notified Booking.com that we didn't show up on 5th of April, and hence cancellation fee of USD 17 is charged on our card.

2. The workers in the hotel speak very little English. They don't even know what "FEE" means. But they sneer at you as if your English's bad, not theirs (i don't knw if this is Normal for Cambodians?).

3. NEVER NEVER NEVER take tuk-tuks around/near the hotel. Especially the one with the plate number 1K8818. the driver doesn't speak English much, and pretended we've misunderstood the deal made, and charged us USD 3 for a one way trip to Genocide Museum from the hotel. and another USD 5 for one way trip to Royal Palace from the museum (0.9 km). He won't budge until you pay him what he wanted. He even threatened us of waiting for us at the hotel for the money if we decided not to pay.

Room Tip: walk-in, ask to see the room. decide.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctor_traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Very hard to find! 2 tuk tuk drivers couldn't find it and gave up on us. It is not at the building number specified so I would recommend researching and writing down its location on a map before you go there. We needed it just for a nights sleep before travelling home so go the cheapest we could. It was £10 a night and you get what you pay for. It was basic but had all amenities such as fridge , cable tv and aircon. The shower was good but the bathroom was dirty and needs redoing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suprisedfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#77 of 333 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#75 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phnom Penh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phnom Penh City Hotel

Address: #157 Stree 63 Tra Sork Phar Em, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £11 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phnom Penh City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phnom Penh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing